We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, worth the walk across the glacier”
Review of Mochnsjochhutte

Mochnsjochhutte
Cuisines: Swiss
Description: Gebirgshütte
Restaurant details
Description: Gebirgshütte
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited the Monchsjochhutte for breakfast on the morning we travelled up the Jungfraujoch.

The Monchsjochhutte is a mountain hut, which has a restaurant and provides overnight accommodation for people who wish to climb the Jungfrau or Monch.

TO reach it you have to walk from the Jungfraujoch- about an hour across snow at altitude of 3500M- so it is a bit of a trek - but we really enjoyed the walk and it is downhill on the way back .

the food on offer is basic enough, we had Goulash soup and Sausage with bread but when you consider that all food is delivered and waste removed by helicopter it is incredible that there is anything on offer at all and the prices were comparable to everywhere else in the region - i.e. moderately expensive.

And view and the feeling that you have managed to escape the main crowd is worth it ...

Date of visit: August 2014
Thank JjE25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Satisfying swiss meal after a tough short climb to the hut. Worth every effort to make it here! i tried the local "monchsjoch" kaffee that tasted great. Overall, i will recommend visitors to enjoy a meal here.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Mochnsjochhutte at the top of the Jungfrau in Switzerland provided a great culinary experience with a once in a lifetime view. The restaurant overlooks the Jungfrau glacier, and on a clear day you can see for miles around. The restaurant concentrates on traditional Swiss cuisine, but it also executes well. I had a veal cutlet in a sauce (shocking, right?) that was tender and well presented. The prices were reasonable considering the view and the cost of running a restaurant at the top of a mountain in the Alps. If you're taking a trip to the Jungfraujoch, it's worth the stop at this nice respite.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnEGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mochnsjochhutte also viewed

Jungfraujoch, Canton of Valais
Jungfraujoch, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Mochnsjochhutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing