We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very veggie friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolserau Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Walsall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very veggie friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

We have just returned from another stay at Dolserau Hall Hotel. As usual hospitality, quality and choice of food was excellent. Thank you Dolserau Hall for the improved vegetarian meal options. We stayed for three nights and each evening there was a choice of three different vegetarian starters, two different main courses and loads of delicious puddings and cheeses. There is an excellent choice for veggies at breakfast time .... there's even a cooked full veggie breakfast option.
Up to usual high standard and getting better every time. Looking forward to our stay for the New Year....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolserauaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    21
    12
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
85
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

On a wet ,dark November afternoon we arrived at the hotel to enquire if they had any vacancies as another establishment,(despite confirming our reservation )had decided to close for a holiday leaving us without a bed for the night.
Susan the owner was welcoming and helpful showing us to a superior room which was very spacious, recently renovated and immaculate.
From the afternoon tea, the evening meal in the elegant dining room, freshly prepared breakfast and extensive packed lunch for the following day we had wonderful food in this peaceful,restful haven.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and professional and we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Whenever I visit a hotel or restaurant, I expect the worst, and always look at the one star revue first. That way I can generally ensure that my experience is better that expected. With Dolserau Hall Hotel, I need not have worried. The location was great. The staff were very polite and helpful. The owners were equally friendly, and certainly did not shout at the guests when I was there. The food was generally excellent, especially the breakfast. The latter included a range of exotic fruits and some rather nice dried apricots prepared with vanilla pods and cinnamon sticks. The cooked breakfast offered everything from the 'Full Welsh' to Manx Kippers, Llandudno Kippers or Arbroath Smokies, which was great if you like fish as I do. The room was spacious and well equipped - not just the usual coffee and whitener in the room but fresh milk whenever you wanted it, and a complimentary (small) decanter of sherry - nice touch. The public areas were pleasantly decorated, spacious and comfortable. Though not the hotel's responsibility, the weather in Snowdonia in late October was incredible, and we had a fantastic walk up to the top of Cadair Idris. Barmouth and Harlech were pleasant enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Don’t be put off with the afternoon teas this is a hotel for young and old alike who enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the Welsh countryside with a good standard of food and great service.
Tim and Susan are very hospitable hosts that will tend to all your needs and ensure your stay is a memorable one. The location is fantastic set amongst farm land with only the wildlife to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Bridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

What more do you want with such a beautiful Victorian house set in a lush green valley in the Snowdonia National Park. A wonderful stay which went beyond our expectations, the service was out of this world - a true family atmosphere, outstanding food with twists in the menu that we wouldn't have dreamed of - deep fried ice cream with toffee sauce, out of this world, fireworks on a plate. Then the following evening - the weather bit chilly, a true traditional dish of 'Lobscows' - Kevin the Chef wrote down the recipe for us and even wrote us a autographed message on that evenings menu - a great asset to the Hall. A wonderful weekend made up of wonderful weather, food, funishings, service and staff, thank you all dearly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnnyCdwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

wonderful, relaxing break for our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Stayed here for second time in two years. Often repeat visits disapoint .So, I was nervous about whether a return visit would be as good especially when taking our son and daughter for whom hotels with the parents are not exactly first choice for their weekends. However, from the afternoon tea and cakes to the truly wonderful food at dinner coupled with a warm welcome from the hotel's owner and staff we could not have felt better.

I would certainly come back again and being near the idyllic Mawddach valley was a real plus for an easy cycle ride on the Saturday down to Barmouth on the old railway line.
Yes the paint may need some work on the outside but the inside was spotless and well laid out. The superior bedroom was enormous and great for a 50th birthday treat- the singles were fine if a little small.

So,all in all, I would heartily recommend this hotel to others who appreciate the civilised approach where quality and service really do seem to matter.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BozzaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
2.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
21.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolserau Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolserau Hall Hotel

Property: Dolserau Hall Hotel
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolserau Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolserau Hall is a Victorian Country House, set in the heart of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. The location is stunning, with panoramic views from every room looking over the surrounding pastures to the hills on either side of the valley, with the mountain of Cadair Idris in the background. Dolserau Hall offers spacious bedrooms, fabulous food, spacious lounges to relax in and 5 acres of gardens to explore. This really is the perfect place to explore the Welsh coast and countryside with all the little luxuries that make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your Dolserau Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolserau Hall Dolgellau
Hotel Dolserau Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing