We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special Anniversary.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A special Anniversary.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the in-laws 60th Wedding Anniversary we decided to take them away for a long weekend. We booked into Dolserau Hall and what a weekend we had. The food and accomadation was fantastic and because we'd explained we wanted it to be special for Pauls mum and dad they really treated them like royalty. The chef even made them a special anniversary cake and brought it to the table.

If you really wantpeace quiet tranquility in the beautiful welsh countryside where you can do as little or as much as you want this is the place to go. The walking is excellent and there is loads to see and visit nearby should you wish to do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    22
    13
    11
    2
See reviews for
21
87
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was a pity that H.F.(admin) and some of the staff at Dolserau Hall didn`t match Lou (the manageress`s) powerhouse approach. My general advice to group organisers and for visitors with even the most basic off menu dietary preferences would be to expect frustrations and to check, check and check again.
The food was very imaginative but if you are expecting a hearty nosh after a day in the hills you may be disappointed.
On a positive note the hotel was in a great spot –though you need a car to fully appreciate the area -it’s quite a way from town if you fancy an evening stroll.
There was a lot that was right about Dolserau but for me, it was not a seamless experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Urbane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Dolserau and it was as lovely as ever. We stay in the Camomile Lawn (room no 6)which has a lovely view and plenty of room. The bed is fantastic and 2 comfy chairs with footstools make it a place you want to stay in rather than go out! Dressing gowns and slippers, complimentary sherry,Molton Brown products all add to the comfort of your stay. The lounge in the hotel is large, cosy and welcoming. The breakfasts are superb and really set you up for the day. We paid for dinner on booking and with that comes tea and cakes in the aftenoon. A delicious sample of home made cakes but don't have too many as the delicious dinners are to follow. All the staff are brilliant and cannot do enough for you. Thanks to Lou especially - she is perfect. Even made me a drink of warm pure orange juice with honey as I was suffering very badly with a cold and sore throat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz_H_13186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed there on business. I got upgraded to a really big room as there were only a few guests staying. The room was lovely, nice touches from the staff all round (sherry in the room, Molton Brown goodies to use is you want to etc...) Food was good and breakfast was lovely. The staff tried their best to help and it was a really relaxing evening. The location is also grand!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 83Frenchy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton Morrell
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our son had his wedding reception here & we were absolutely delighted with every aspect of our experience at this hotel. The location is amazing. There are beautiful views on all sides. The rooms are very comfortable & the hotel is homely whilst accommodating all of our guests. We enjoyed a delicious meal with family & friends the night before the wedding. The reception went without a hitch & again the food was good. We felt that the help we received from 'Lou' their wedding planner was over & above what she needed to do & we were & are extremely grateful to her. We feel that the smooth running of the whole occasion was due to her.

We would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel for a wedding, an important occasion or just a holiday. The staff are very friendly & make the experience a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llwygwril
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Been here two years running for Christmas lunch, It was as good, or better than last year. Thank you to all the staff who provided a lovely Christmas Day and delicious 5 course lunch followed by coffee & petits fours.

Room Tip: We didn't stay, so the sleep question doesn't apply to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieLlwygwril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We chose this hotel from the reviews already written on tripadvisor as a late booking and took pets. We got a great deal and stayed in the coach house. The room was very spacious, clean, warm, tidy and had a super view. We thoroughly enjoyed the welcome, the food was excellent, home cooked and there was plenty of it. Our dog really enjoyed the walks too. Would recommend to any couple to spend some romantic time together.

Room Tip: those with pets go in the coach house. Others stay in the hotel. We didn't see the hotel rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t2cps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
2.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
24.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
4.2 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
24.6 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
19.3 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolserau Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolserau Hall Hotel

Property: Dolserau Hall Hotel
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolserau Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolserau Hall is a Victorian Country House, set in the heart of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. The location is stunning, with panoramic views from every room looking over the surrounding pastures to the hills on either side of the valley, with the mountain of Cadair Idris in the background. Dolserau Hall offers spacious bedrooms, fabulous food, spacious lounges to relax in and 5 acres of gardens to explore. This really is the perfect place to explore the Welsh coast and countryside with all the little luxuries that make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolserau Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolserau Hall Dolgellau
Hotel Dolserau Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing