We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolserau Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had only booked one night here but were so pleased that we stayed on for a second. We had a ground floor room in the coachhouse, it was very spacious and clean; lovely touches like the Moulton Brown toiletries and decanter of sherry just added to our pleasure. The breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere and dinner was great too; a good, reasonably priced wine list.
Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful and did all they could to help; I do hope we manage to get back here again for a really relaxing and comfortable stay in this stunning location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greywidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 159 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Booked in last minute for one nights stay last week. Arrived, and was greeted by the really friendly manager Lou, showed us around and then took us to our room, which was large , light and airy, ok, the decor is a little dated, but the room was spotless, bed massive and pillow, and duvet really comfortable. As we had booked for Dinner, B&B, we got a complimentary afternoon tea. There was quite a variety, but a lot of them were commercially made not homemade, but were nice anyway. Dinner in the evening was lovely, and the Venison with blueberry sauce was fantastic. You could have as many vegetables as you wanted and there was a good wine list. We both enjoyed a good nights sleep and then a lovely breakfast the next morning.. One full Welsh breakfast and one Eggs benedict, no complaints about either.. The grounds are stunning at this Hotel, and the ideal place to stay as a base for some fantastic walks. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and would return, but would want a 'deal' as at its full price its a little expensive.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 and it was a really good sized room with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Dolserau Hall for 3 nights recently, booking through HF holidays as a "Freedom Break". There was no organised walking during this period, but HF holidays provide an Explorer Ordnance Survey map of the area, and suggestions for local walks. An excellent packed lunch each day is part of the package. Everything about the hotel was as good as we had been led to expect from earlier tripadvisor entries. The hotel is in a fabulous position with views of mountains and hills in every direction. There is good walking straight from the front door, and good sightseeing within easy rreach. It was very comfortable, meals were delicious with plenty of choice, and the staff could not have been more helpful. We will certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are larger and slightly more expensive, but all roooms have similar facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my second visit and I cannot speak more highly of this hotel. When I first stayed in January 2012, I decided to arrange a 50th Birthday party here for my partner for 10 people. Lou and her staff were fantastic at liaising with me and taking the bookings from the other guests. Nothing was too much trouble and we all had a fabulous time. I wanted to arrange the party at this hotel because it is such a haven away from all the bustle with beautiful views, lovely rooms and friendly staff. As with my first visit, the food was outstanding which was one of the reasons for choosing the Dolserau Hall Hotel for such a special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank championj070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

How hotels should be, a very personal service that many hotels attempt but fail to achieve. Great variety of drinks in the bar, single malts, welsh spirits and fentimans. Excellent breakfast. All the staff actually care, nothing is too much. The perfect place to explore some stunning scenery. The hotel is very bike friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTHASTINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I'm writing this review, as albeit we didnt stay at Dolserau Hall Hotel, Lou the manager was incredibly helpful and bent over backwards to help us try and find a room, as sadly the hotel where we'd booked in was awful, and were struggling to find another place to stay within the local area.
Lou was amazing in recommding us places to try, and coming up with solutions as to what we could do. Very selfless and hospitable lady.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padders3825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at Dolserau for 2 nights. The evening dinner - the lamb - was to die for. Breakfast tasty, fresh fruit salad followed by full Welsh! Hot, excellent quality and beautifully cooked. The surrounding countryside and views are full of atmosphere, beauty and serenity. The staff were very helpful and chatty and made you feel at home. My room was a bit on the small side, but perfectly charming and clean. Tv a bit small. I saw other rooms where friends were staying and they were lovely. I was there for a wedding and was impressed by the way they coped with 150 guests, a three course wedding breakfast and evening buffet, which was fantastic. In all, a real change from the sterile anonymity of the big chain hotels. The rickety lift took you back a hundred years! Well worth a visit. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
3.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
3.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
22.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
317 reviews
23.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolserau Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolserau Hall Hotel

Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brithdir
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolserau Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolserau Hall is a Victorian Country House, set in the heart of the beautiful Snowdonia National Park. The location is stunning, with panoramic views from every room looking over the surrounding pastures to the hills on either side of the valley, with the mountain of Cadair Idris in the background. Dolserau Hall offers spacious bedrooms, fabulous food, spacious lounges to relax in and 5 acres of gardens to explore. This really is the perfect place to explore the Welsh coast and countryside with all the little luxuries that make your stay special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Dolserau Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolserau Hall Dolgellau
Hotel Dolserau Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing