We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place for a holiday with friends”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of PENYBRYN

Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove Garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Sitting room with inglenook and wood-burning stove
Garden room
Hallway
View of whole cottage to the east
Upstairs bathroom with roll-top bath
Alcove beside the inglenook
Double bedroom
King bedroom
All-weather garden furniture
Cwm Hafod Oer in winter
Penybryn in winter
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Garden room and garden in summer
Kitchen / Diner
Garden room in winter
Barbecue area with a mountain backdrop
Penybryn in summer, view to mountains
Garden in summer
Garden from the side
Penybryn in winter, view to mountains
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
Penybryn from main road
Lane in front of Penybryn in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brithdir, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ruth M
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a holiday with friends”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our American friends asked for a cottage in Wales & off the beaten track. Penybryn fitted the bill perfectly. The cottage was 1st class, it was peaceful & the views were amazing even the low clouds added to the magic!! We went out every day despite the weather aided by the information pack left in the cottage. It was a new area for all of us, plenty to do with different levels of walking to suit all. The waterfall walks were at their best!! A lovely week was had by all. Thank you Gwerfyl & Mark we intend to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you for your kind words, we are looking forward to meeting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueinSurr...
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very comfortable house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here. The house was warm and comfortable, with spacious rooms. The views from the property are amazing. The owners were very helpful without being obtrusive and the cat was great!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikejarvi...
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location - amazing holiday.”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

If you are looking for somewhere that's off the beaten track - a true holiday escape - then look no further.

The cottage is idyllic and enjoys amazing countryside views. It is beautifully furnished, comes with everything you need, is close to loads of attractions and is just a short drive from pretty towns and villages.

Can't wait to come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer52...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Absolutely fantastic cottage, beautiful location and really welcoming owners. Cannot fault anything. Really family friendly, clean and roomy cottage, cosy living room, comfortable beds, lovely log fire, nice sized kitchen and a lovely relaxing back room with beautiful views of the sizable garden and mountains. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in North Wales.

Thankyou for a wonderful, comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_v_barber...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“GREAT STAY”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I have to say our short stay at this lovely spacious cottage was beautiful lovely stunning location ,so quiet and peaceful ,the furnishings are top class we could not fault it one bit , The host were very polite and helpful ,and i will certainly return in the future,10 out of 10
Thankyou.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley B
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A small piece of heaven”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just back from another fantastic stay at Penybryn, our fourth stay here. It is the most delightful little cottage which is clean and well furnished. I really cannot fault it. Highly recommended!! We'll be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities. It is perfect!
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about this beautiful little cottage!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugs1970
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply amazing.”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having just returned from a week with my partner and 4yr old daughter at this magical cottage tucked away in the picturesque rolling welsh countryside, all I can say is.....why on earth did I only book a week :( sad faces all round, We absolutely fell in love with this cottage, from the mile long twisty drive up through the moss covered 'enchanted forest' (4 yr old remember) to the whole welsh, stags, tartan, wood & stone theme that runs throughout the whole place, you really feel that you are out in the wilderness here, once your settled in you'll be hard stretched to leave the place during your all-too-short stay. The owners live next door, although we only saw them twice, once when arriving and once when departing and they were incredibly friendly and welcoming and clearly take a lot of pride in the upkeep of they're old home, and it shows, this is not a thrown together holiday cottage made to make money at the cost of quality and value for money, this is a labour of love for the owners and as they actually used to live in it a few years ago the contents and quality of the fittings, furniture etc show great taste and a liking for quality rather than 'it'll do' which makes it feel so homely. And then there's the views.....every window from every room, breathtaking..
The bedrooms are all amazingly comfortable and not a sleepless night was had by anyone, not even during a storm (I actually slept better here than at home!)
The only mild complaints I had was the tiny TV, you could argue that there are much better things to look at at in this area but when you have a youngster with you you are in the cottage from fairly early on in the evening so settling down to a movie in front of the cozy log fire means you'll be on the same couch as for all intents and purposes it is a computer monitor so it's fairly hard to watch from across the room, that being said, it is a very mild complaint and in no way spoiled any part of the amazing stay at this amazing place. The internet is about half meg and works 80% of the time so if you have a kid that sees the word 'wifi available' and is thinking of bringing an online gaming console it wont work but it's fine for emailing/ whatsapp/ facebook etc, and as for mobiles, well we had 02 and Vodaphone and never had signal, didn't bother us in the slightest though, it's never good in most parts of the Welsh countryside so we're more than used to it.
We cannot recommend this cottage enough and we will definitely be rebooking in the very near future, my 4 yr old daughter summed it up perfectly within the first hour of stepping foot in to the cottage..."Mummy...Daddy....can we stay here for lots of years?"
I wish.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that I discovered this place
Liked least: The small TV and intermittent internet
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing