We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ozideb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Brithdir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ozideb”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a lovely stay we had here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was very cozy and decorated nicely. The bed was comfortable, nice and relaxing. All soft white linen. The bathroom was very modern with a nice shower, with extra massaging jets, great for chilling out. Lovely soft towels and Thierry Mugler bath products. The food we had was very nice and the breakfast was good as well. Surrounded by absolutely breathtaking scenery. Lovely open log fires and lovely ambiance sets the scene for a lovely romantice break away. Would definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    56
    33
    5
    13
See reviews for
54
149
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just arrived home after an amazing long weekend at the cross foxes. Our
dinner, bed and breakfast package staying in the suite was a real treat and
value for money!

I had to write straight away as we can't say a bad thing as, as soon as we
arrived to when we left the service, food, ambiance all accommodation (suite) was
just brilliant it's so rare to get the whole package in one place but at the
Cross foxes you have all managed it!

When we arrived we were given fresh milk for our room for a cuppa to unpack,
help to store our mountain bikes, a real welcome.

The 3 course meal each night was delicious as was the breakfasts.

The staff always happy to help and really looked like they wanted to be
there, nothing was to much.

A spacious room and immaculate ,the duvet just like a huge marshmallow!

A deep bath with a Baileys soothed our mountain biking aches and bath robes and slippers a welcome too!

Beautiful views too! (Just one thing we would have liked was a mini fridge)

We would highly recommend for sure and we will be back.

Thank you to you all the staff we saw and the kitchen staff, cleaning we
didn't.

Customer service does exist thank you for restoring our faith and making our
stay so welcoming and even more than we could have hoped for !

On negative notes I have seen on a review, I would agree the kitchen smell did come through our window, when we opened it but i have to say it was slight and smelt amazing thus giving us an apatite! Although based on a busy road, it was still quiet and we felt we were the only ones staying as it was so quiet however it was full! As our room had a separate door to our main bedroom door, so no bagging of doors etc.

We could also see they have a cot and plenty of extra beds for extra guest to give that extra bit of money for value to a family or friends!

Don't delay! Good Food Guide, thank you!

Room Tip: We chose a suite for a bit more space to stretch in, comfy sofa and larger area for relaxing. And th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On arrival we were greeted by welcoming and friendly staff, the attic studio was large, cosy, stylish with a luxurious ensuite bathroom and luxury bath products which really added to the whole experience after tiring travelling. You could see the mountains from the bathroom velux window. While making a cup of tea I noticed the main road outside but was unaware of traffic noise. We closed the small shutters at night and did not hear any traffic noise at all, we were cocooned in luxury in a very comfortable bed with starry views from the overhead velux window.
Watched TV in comfort before going out for an evening meal in Dolgellau, only 5 mins away, the receptionist checked that we wouldn't get locked out on our return later on. Breakfast was excellent with friendly service. The whole experience was very relaxing and felt like a luxury getaway.Only negatives were that I couldn't find the ipod dock and there is a large beam above the bed just above head level that you might want to avoid if you are a restless sleeper.

Room Tip: Attic studio (Cader) is worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasinggreengrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having stayed in 'Moel' one night last weekend, I wanted to write a honest and fair review as there are so many mixed opinions about this place.

When we arrived, our check in details had gone astray and so had most of the room keys, so we were given a master key. The man behind the bar said he would come and collect this from us, but we were never asked for it back, so we had it for the duration of our stay, rather trusting as I assume it would've worked with any of the locks!

The room itself was fine - 'Moel' is spacious and does have a luxurious bathroom but there were several stains on the carpets, bed throw and scatter cushions which was a little off-putting. We were aware of the hotel's location (being on the corner of two major A roads) but we were surprised to see that the windows were only single-glazed, which meant that the traffic noise was very noticeable. Although it quietened down at night, I was aware of any traffic passing by, and was awoken several times. Unless you are a very heavy sleeper, make sure you are in one of the rooms further away from the road.

Dinner was fine - (decent 'pub grub'), but I had to send back my main course as it was only luke warm and noticed that several other diners had done the same. There was also rather a delay to the food, even the desserts. I appreciate it was busy night and everything is cooked to order, but there are a number of complaints about this on tripadivisor going back some months. I assume that they do not have adequate kitchen staff or that the kitchen is just too small to cope with the number of covers - the table next to us waited 20 minutes for some garlic bread! One of the waiting staff was rather brusque (I hope this is not the owner as decribed elsewhere) - there appeared to be a mushroom shortage, and when a fellow diner queried the lack on his plate, her response was very defensive rather than apologetic.

Breakfast was ok - again, porridge could've been hotter and the croissants were rather disappointing (definitely croissant-like breaded items as opposed to the real thing).

I would not return to the Cross Foxes - considering the costs of the room and dinner, you can do much better elsewhere, as proven by our subsequent night at a small hotel in Aberdovey. It cost exactly the same but the service was far more welcoming and personal, and the room was much better equippped (i.e. bathrobes, free slippers, biscuits in the room), as well as being in a lovely location with sea views!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, the smaller rooms are further away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed over the weekend of the 7th-9th September 2012 to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed in the 'Moel' room which was really lovely, spacious with a fantastic en-suite shower-room. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food was excellent. The bar is well stocked with some local ales and we discovered welsh whisky and welsh gin for the first time! The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble - even making us a packed lunch on the Saturday for our climb up Cadair Idris! Having breakfast with the fantastic glazed doors open onto the terrace was a nice experience and the breakfast itself was great. A really great find in an area we didn't know that well. The whole place is a credit to Dewi and Nicol and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My partner & I had watched the ads on TV from the Welsh Tourism board to 'Visit Wales' for holidays and short breaks, and we both said we wanted to go, & was ideal for us because we love walking and the countryside, and wanted a quiet, idyllic escape and to relax.
So my partner booked a surprise 2 night stay away in Wales after finding this bar/grill/hotel on the internet with what seemed to be a great deal for the stay.
He was quoted £159/ppn, which included dinner, B&B, afternoon tea or Welsh tapas & pre dinner drink each - this was for their Cadair room of 'The Chair', and was their top, premium room.
So, very excitedly, we drove the 6hrs and arrived at 1830hrs, and were stunned un first arrival. The actual hotel is directly ON the main A-road cross roads for North and South Wales (A470-A487). The traffic noise was relentless and horrific, and you couldnt escape from it.
Their website is very contradicotry, in that it states they're on the foot of the Cadair Idris Mountain, but also on Wales main A-road junction!
The room was lovely and finished to a high standard, but totally undermined by the location of where it was, and to enjoy the view of the mountains, we opened the velux windows above the bed and bath (which you have to stand on the bed, or in the bath to see the mountain views!), and there was a pellow of smoke and deep-fat-frying smell coming from the industrial kitchen fan 3 metres away from the bedroom windows into the room!
The light bulb in the shower was smashed and broken and needed to be cleaned up, and wasnt replaced as they'd run out of this particular bulb. We didnt have our pre-dinner drink each, or our cream tea (which we semi-accepted as we were late from the traffic).
We tried to sleep, but woke from 6am onwards because the sound of the traffic was relentless once again!
As breakfast started, so did the smell from the kitchen again into the bedroom. I felt like i was about to have an anxiety attack. I was shattered from the 6hr drive, i couldnt sleep because of the traffic, and the smell from the kitchen was too much, and also the noise from the kitchen was so bad, as the room was directly over the back doors to the kitchen.
We spoke to Nicol (manager & owner i'm led to believe) who needs a course in hospitality and customer service, who didnt apologise, said she didnt think the smell was that bad; that the website explained they were 'on' the junction; and we should have researched better on Google to see they were on a junction and wanted to known when we were going to check out as she had other customers to attend to - this was after politely and quietly waiting for her in the reception area for 20mins whilst she finished serving other customers, as i didnt want to embarass her infront of other customers - wish i hadnt of bothered now.
As we came to check out, and discussed with her earlier, as we'd already paid £159 prior to our arrival to secure and make a deposit, we werent going to pay anymore, due our complaint for the reasons above, and would be checking out a night early. Nicol refused to mediate or discuss the situation, and despite her having our home address, our car registration, and already having the money covering the first night's B&B, she threatened to call the police on us. Being educated people and knowing it was a civil dispute, we welcomed her calling the police, knowing that they were powerless to do anything because of it being a civil matter.
As such, when they arrived, we conveyed our points, and they spoke to Nicol, and they reiterated the same, and said that Nicol was now happy for us to leave!!!
UTTERLY SHOCKING!! Visit Wales??? I dont think so thank you.
Amazing scenery, but this place was horrific. I do not advise anyone staying here - perhaps a stop off for a drink and a bite to eat maybe, but nothing more!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go here is my only advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Padders3825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crossfoxes, Owner at Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and that you felt the need to place pictures on this website whereby you have stood on the bed to take pictures from the velux window in the roof and point your camera down to capture the roof as opposed to pointing the camera ahead where there is a full view of a beatiful mountain range.

We were very disappointed that during your stay at the Cross Foxes you fully utilised the full services, consumed food and drink and then decided to refuse to pay your bill based on the business location. At no point did you raise your concerns during check in and it was only after 45hrs of being at the Cross Foxes that you decided to explain that you were departing early and not going to pay your bill.

As business owners we have personally stayed in the room on a number of ocaasions where we have not observed any high traffic noise and similarily, previous customers have not reported traffic noise to be a problem. Our Suites are extremely popular and we consitently recieve positive feedback on the luxury they offer our guests.

We are located in the heart of the Welsh moutains where the only noise that you will hear at night is the odd passing car which with a limited population is very minimal.

Having only been established for two years and winning a number of Awards including top 50 gastro pubs in the Uk and winnnig the Alistair Sawdays Pubs with Rooms Award, we are very happy with the product offering which has enabled us to achieve a 70% room occupancy rate.

Kind regards

Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Cross Foxes is a real hidden gem, I chanced upon it while looking for a nice place to stay on our way home... I don't think I could've found a nicer spot. A boutique hotel feel in the middle of Snowdonia? Absolutely perfect!

The service was amazing, all the staff were incredibly accommodating. We had both an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant, and while things were a little slower in the evening, this seemed planned to let you digest your food and not feel rushed. The food itself was fantastic. I have to recommend the burger, it was so fresh; true homestyle cooking!

The room was beautiful, with lovely touches like the hot water bottles (not that these were being used in the 23º heat!) Only downside for me was the lack of air conditioning meant that the window had to stay open, and the road can be a little noisy as it's a main route through Wales, but that's my only issue.

For the money, I challenge anyone to find as nice a hotel in a similar location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eightlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brithdir
4.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
5.2 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
9.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
George III Hotel
George III Hotel
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
407 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Tal-y-llyn
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms

Property: Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms
Address: Brithdir, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Brithdir
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brithdir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary, welcoming, new Bar & Grill with Rooms located at the foot of Cadair Idris mountain and conveniently located on junction A470-A487. Enjoy fresh locally sourced food and a friendly atmosphere in our Bar & Grill or indulge yourself and spend a relaxing night away in one of our individually designed rooms that offer total comfort and real luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cross Foxes - Bar Grill Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing