We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice evening meal - dogs welcome in the bar area - thank you!”

Cross Foxes Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Brithdir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice evening meal - dogs welcome in the bar area - thank you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a very nice meal here - nicely cooked and reasonable portion size. Nice feel to the place , modern compared to most other eateries in the area. Huge bonus for dog owners that well behaved dogs allowed in the bar area where you can eat your meal. Patch laid under the table at our feet quite happily!.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tn1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    181
    72
    51
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cross Foxes Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

EXCELLENT!
We were stranded with a car breakdown on the Welsh mountain roads a couple of weeks back and had to take refuge at the Cross Foxes! Words cannot express our gratitude to the Owners and Staff for their helpfulness, kindness and warmth! The food was also very good :-)
Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“food lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Warm welcome, kids made welcome. Food gorgeous and reasonable price for kids meals. Loo's were downstairs though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

we had dinner which was nothing short of excellent! highly recommend this place! we had homemade pie which was tender and superb flavour, and pork loin in a beautiful creamy peppercorn sauce.

Helpful?
Thank pamj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent local pub and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We turned up with a party of 8 for Sunday lunch without a reservation. They made a great effort to accommodate us. The place was busy and had a buzzy atmosphere. Obviously, recently refurbished, the place has a modern feel about it which is rather nice. I imagine on a warmer day that the terrace is very popular with diners. Our food was promptly delivered. All went for roasts, which were well cooked and plentiful. The veggies, unfortunately come in bowls and were somewhat over-cooked. Something which could be improved upon. All of us had puddings as well - including a very large waffle dish with toffee sauce and a very dark bitter chocolate which was on the verge of being too rich for some. Staff were attentive and the place is good value. We come from the south east and we could not get a 2 course meal for 8 people of this quality there for under £140..... V good and recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindfieldHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Foxes Bar & Grill also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cross Foxes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing