We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting and a comfortable hotel.”

Cross Foxes Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Brithdir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting and a comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent two nights at this comfortable hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable although we would have preferred better lighting in the bedroom. Breakfast on both days was excellent and some of the choices better than you would normally expect (smoked salmon was a delight) We also enjoyed dinner at the hotel, the menu and quality of food was to be recommended. A good hotel an a beautiful area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ducklegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    192
    73
    52
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic view average food.”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This restaurant although on a main road through Wales has a brilliant outside dining area. It is a balcony over looking the most beautiful scenery and on a lovey sunny day is heaven. Having said that the rest of the experience was very average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SADDLEBAG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Food was excellent with sweets to die for!! Staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The breakfast was excellent too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good enough...”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My boyfriend and i ate here on Friday and Saturday night, we'd driven past a few times as we were staying in the area.

The restaurant and bar area are nice, quite modern and it was busy with customers.

The meal on the Friday night was mixed - i enjoyed the brie starter but the haddock and chips for mains was very greasy so i ate the fish but left the batter. My boyfriend had garlic mushrooms to start which were really good and the gammon for mains which he also really enjoyed.

On the Saturday my boyfriend had a burger which he enjoyed, i had the mushrooms as wasn't very hungry, they were really tasty.

The service here is good apart from one male who came across as a bit short and not very friendly.

Would recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A nice evening meal”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was the final evening of a three night stay in Dolgellau and we'd eaten at the hotel on the previous two nights but decided to go out to try something else.

We'd spotted a few places to try and eventually decided to give this a visit.

As we'd eaten quite a lot over the previous couple of days we weren't looking for massive portions but well prepared and presented food and that's what we got together with a welcoming smile and a nice pint of cask ale.

I had the lamb burger whilst my wife sampled the crispy duck pancakes and we followed this up with a dessert each.

We ate in the bar area though could have dined in the restaurant, same menu no differnce in charge.

If we were in the are we'd certainly be ok to eat here again though would probably try one or two of the other highly rated places first.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prefdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Foxes Bar & Grill also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cross Foxes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing