We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, nice restaurant”

Cross Foxes Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Brithdir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: British, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice place, nice restaurant”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant evening at the Cross Foxes. The food was excellent with a good choice of dishes. We visited on a Friday but the restaurant offers 10% discount midweek. They also do a six course tasting menu which sounded interesting! The owners have spent a lot on refurbishing the inn and it looks good. Modern, but tasteful!
It has a nice sun deck when the weather is fine (and the sun does shine in Wales) plus a garden alongside a pretty brook. There is also a restaurant and a bar. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. I enjoyed deep fried brie and duck breast with plum sauce made with real plums! The meringue roulade for pudding was also delicious with plenty of extra cream and no complaints about the portions. My husband enjoyed the prawn cocktail and the lamb shank.
Unfortunately there are roadworks nearby which leads to long queues of traffic outside the pub at certain busy times but once the road is done the access will be better. They also have rooms and we may well look at staying there on a future trip to wales.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    197
    76
    52
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool UK
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant on a recommendation. We were not disappointed. We sat in the bar and ordered our food; Beef roast and a 16oz Gammon. The food was delicious, as was the newly refurbished building.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hassmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a lovely treat, guest chef Bryan Webb at Cross foxes doing a banquet.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely night, with exquisite food and atmosphere at Cross Foxes with Michelin star chef Bryan Webb doing a 6 course taster menu, more like a banquet. We will be looking out for more mid week treats like it again at this forward thinking beautiful place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiaandGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Around 10 of us stopped on the way back to Bangor on a warm sunny Friday lunchtime. I recommended the visit as I had heard many good reports. I had the cawl which was delicious. All except me ordered sandwiches, which were very expensive. The bread was stale, and the first person to complain was told that it had been alright the previous day! Another was told that only 2 of the group had complained (we are a polite lot) and that the bread was fresh. A third, who had to chase up his own plate, was also presented with dry sandwiches, and when he asked why they were still serving them stale after complaints had been made was told that they had already been made. Not good enough - although money was refunded it is not what you expect, and I hope the Michelin-starred chef they were advertising for a forthcoming Friday night makes his own bread first

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank PhilH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible overpriced food.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Poor food, badly presented and very overpriced. A real shame as the setting is good and local produce of a high quality. My advice - get a new chef

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Sioni23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Foxes Bar & Grill also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cross Foxes Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing