We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, terrible, no good, very bad motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Spokane Valley
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Spokane Valley
Reviewed July 29, 2007

My sister and I needed to go to Spokane because of a death in the family. We booked 2 rooms, one for her and me and the other for our parents, using Super 8's 800 line. We planned to stay three nights. She guaranteed the rooms to her credit card. Sis and I travelled by car and our parents flew to Spokane. We had car trouble and were delayed one day. We called to cancel one room for one night. Sis specified that our parents (ages 66 and 80) would be coming in late that evening, would still need THEIR room, and spelled out their names. We arrived the next day and found out that their room had been cancelled in error, and that our parents had been treated rudely, and sent hotel hopping in the middle of the night in an unfamiliar city! Most hotels would at least help by calling around to find another room. No such luck in this case. My folks cancelled their remaining reserved nights and took a room in a far superior hotel -Holiday Inn Express. We took a small financial recompense and stayed. But the rooms have not been redecorated since 1983. Even the bedspreads have never been replaced. The rooms are old, worn, ugly, small, and dirty. We actually woke in the morning and there was old, chewed gum sitting on one headboard. The dust around it was thick! The tub is made of some kind of creepy material that always looks a bit dirty. Because our situation was basically an emergency, we chose to stay put, but it was ANYTHING but a nice place to stay. The breakfast menu was short and chintzy. The night staff was rude. They are in the middle of renovating their lobby, but they clearly aren't focused on customer satisfaction. I would not recommend that reptiles, much less people, stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaLovesred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 963 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2007

The Super 8 is located off exit 287, along with the Motel 6, Quality Inn Valley Suites, and the Holiday Inn Express. It's located in a commercial area near restaurants and gas stations, but is very difficult to get into and out of.
When we arrived, the outside didn't look nearly as nice as the pictures on the internet. We were a little hesitant to spend the night. The lobby was completely gutted as they were remodeling it. Not a big deal. We asked to see the room first and well, it was just a room. Like most Super 8's I've stayed in, the room kinda smelled like smoke, yet it wasn't. The room needed a little TLC. The floor lamp didn't work and their wasn't a lightbulb in the light above the bed, cracked sink and tiny bathroom, but very clean.
The pool was in an opposite building across an alley-like parking lot. Very nice pool for a Super 8, nice temperature and very clean. Obviously fairly new. There is also an elevator in the main building that accesses all three floors, but I'm not sure about the building with the pool. We were told that all smoking rooms were on the third floor.
The breakfast was very basic. A couple mini muffins, cereal, bagels, coffee, milk and juice. The coffee wasn't ready for a while, but not an issue.
Joy at the front desk was very helpful and kind, she did a great job at helping us and other guests!
Overall, just a basic, clean hotel that was fine for driving through, but could use a little TLC.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Last month, there was a different musty smell in each corridor, hallway, and room. This month, during a heatwave, things seemed better, and I was very happy that A/C was working fine.

When I visited in mid-July, they were remodeling the lobby (new tile floors) and the staff was doing a valiant job with a end table in the hallway outside the lobby. A line of hot, sweaty folks extended out the door, but the staff was polite and as efficient as they could be with their office up-ended.

It's a Super 8, so the rooms are cheap (I paid $55 mid-week), and you don't get a lot of amenities. I travel for work so all I need is a small room with WiFi and a shower, and the Super 8 fits the bill. It's not like I'm entertaining clients or having a romantic weekend.

You can get a lousy room; people often smoke in the nonsmoking rooms, and housekeeping can be spotty. I have been fortunate.

This is my default hotel when I work in the Spokane Valley, because of the low prices, good value, and convenient location to the highway and Spokane heavy industry.

There's a small coin-op guest laundry, which is terrific when I end up on the road longer than I expect. WiFi works better than it does when I spend $150 for a room downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EddieWillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

This hotel sits off the interstate and near a gas station and Denny's. The rooms are ok. There is an indoor pool and spa. The breakfast is ok. Wish I could say more but it gets you by when there is nothing else or you don't want to spend big $$.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Unknown_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2005

We stayed in this hotel Dec. 2004 to take my husband to the airport. We were put in the old section of the hotel and once we turned on the heat and it started warming up, the room smelled like dog ----. It was awful. I complained, but nothing was done. I couldn't wait to leave and I will never go back. There are several hotels in Spokane and this should be used as a last resort.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpokaneGuestResponse, Manager at Super 8 Spokane Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 164meikep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpokaneGuestResponse, Manager at Super 8 Spokane Valley, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane Valley hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spokane Valley
Baymont Inn & Suites Spokane Val...
#10 of 13 in Spokane Valley
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Spokane - Valley
Crossland Economy Studios - Spok...
#12 of 13 in Spokane Valley
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Valley Suites
Quality Inn Valley Suites
#9 of 13 in Spokane Valley
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
My Place Hotel - Spokane, WA
My Place Hotel - Spokane, WA
#5 of 13 in Spokane Valley
315 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 13 in Spokane Valley
672 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Spokane Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Spokane Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spokane Valley

Address: 2020 N Argonne Rd, Spokane Valley, WA 99212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Spokane Valley
Price Range: $57 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spokane Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a rewarding stop at our Super 8 Spokane Valley hotel near Splash Down Waterpark in northeastern Washington. Located off Interstate 90 about 15 minutes from the Idaho border- and five miles from Spokane City Center - our hotel in Spokane, WA, offers comfortable accommodations at an affordable rate. Our 118-room hotel offers in-room amenities like refrigerator, microwave and free Wi-Fi internet access. Work out in our gym, swim in the 24-hour indoor pool or soak in the spa before heading to your room for the night. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly hotel, and we offer suites and non-smoking rooms. Find plenty of free parking for your truck, bus or RV in our spacious lot. After a restful night of sleep, begin your day with free SuperStart continental breakfast featuring waffles, biscuits and gravy before taking in all Spokane has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Spokane Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Spokane Valley Hotel Spokane Valley
Super 8 Hotel Spokane
Super 8 Spokane
Super Eight Spokane
Spokane Super Eight
Spokane Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing