We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Meal out in 'yonks'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown

The Crown
Price range: $3 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Pub / restaurant The Crown Inn has the charm of a country pub, combined with smart decor and a menu to match any stylish bistro in Nottinghamshire. For beer lovers, there is a full range of local real ales to suit every taste, served at the gothic styled carved wood bar and a selection of wines from all over the world Food lovers will not be left hungry thanks to a tempting menu available throughout the day and for those who want to relax and grab a coffee, there is a soft seated area to relax and catch up with friends.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Meal out in 'yonks'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Crown is a wonderful place for a lunch; we were just taking a leisurely stroll from our caravan site, and found this place about an hour in, we fancied a drink, but ended up staying for food after we saw the menu. The lady at the bar was lovely; really accommodating and polite. The food was massively under-priced! We had three courses each and drinks, and it was less than £30. The food was delicious, my other half had ribs, followed by fish and chips, and a fudge cake to finish, all served speedily, and cooked perfectly. I had soup to start, butterfly chicken in a soy and honey sauce for mains, and an apple crumble for dessert, I think t'other half had food envy. Have eaten at many a pricy restaurant at home in Manchester and can honestly say that the food was better here. Loved it. Will have to visit Tuxford again, if only to pop to this pub :).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethPippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggles101, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review!
Sincerely, it means a lot!
We try our best to make our mid week offer affordable to all as sometimes it's nice to be able to eat out with feeling like you need to save up!
Glad you enjoyed it all, we look forward to seeing you again!

James, Head chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Probably the best Pub in Nottinghamshire.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

As soon as you enter the Crown you feel the friendly atmosphere and detect a wonderful aroma coming from the Kitchen. My friends and I were there for Sunday lunch, it was absolutely stunning,and also very good value. Kenny and Fran Munro are the hosts and they a have a winning formula with the Crown.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hildo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggles101, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
"Best pub in Nottinghamshire" we would love that in writing so we can stick it on the door!
Really glad you had a good time, we try to be welcome and make you feel at home!
Hope to see you again, thanks again!

Everyone at The Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
363 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“What a really lovely pub and great food - a real gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I happened to be in Normanton on Trent on the Newark by election day and wandered up to the pub for a drink at lunch time during a break -I was very impressed with the pub, service, surroundings and ambience.

So at the conclusion of our duties, three of us returned there in the evening for a meal. I was surprised at how busy the bar area was with locals at say 6.30ish. The lady behind the bar was very helpful and informative as she had been at lunchtime. I think the landlord here owns the nearby Milestone Brewery so there is an excellent selection of local bitters.

We had a nice table in the large restaurant just down from the bar and opted for the 2 for £10 mid week menu. I had the homemade tomato soup and my friends the pate. Very generous portions as there were for our mains of scampi, sausage and mash and fish and chips. All courses were absolutely excellent.

This is a really lovely pub/restaurant, enhanced on a nice sunny evening - I notice it has a 5* food hygiene rating and if you are in the area do call - you will get a friendly welcome and a great meal. It has some nice outdoor tables on decking, a children's area with swings and a decent sized car park.

I didn't find Normanton On Trent very easy to find from the A57 but this is obviously not the fault of the pub but the abysmal signs or lack of them from Nottinghamshire County Council. I shall be investing in a satnav. However if you do get lost, persevere - you won't be disappointed.

Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggles101, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the thorough and brilliant review of The Crown!
We try our best to make sure you have a good visit and are well fed, we also pride ourselves on our local Milestone Ale, glad you enjoyed it.
Unfortunately, you are right, we cannot help some of the signposting but we can only keep doing what we are doing and hopefully encouraging good folk like yourselves to find us!
Thank you again!

James, Head chef and all the team at The Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My new favourite pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were staying at the caravan site next to the Milestone brewery and were recommended to visit their pub by the site wardens. It was a wet, dismal night but the car park was busy and the welcome was warm from the young, knowledgable barman. The beers from the Milestone brewery were exceptionally well kept and the restaurant value midweek was remarkable, two courses for £10, three for £12.50 but how anyone could manage three I don't know. Portion size was large and presentation was impeccable - using slate, wood, 'newspaper' and even a pickled onion on a wooden fork with the fish & chips. I wish we could have tried more dishes and I wish we could have tried a dessert but it just wasn't possible. We will definitely return as soon as possible, this is a truly remarkable find.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owstonferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggles101, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
What a great review! Thank you!
Whatever the weather, we are here to make sure your visit is a pleasant one, you might even make it to dessert next time!
Look forward to seeing you!

James, Head chef, and the rest of the team at The Crown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fish & chips recommended by local magazine and the meal lived up to the reputation. The service was attentive but not intrusive. Nice atmosphere - very relaxed. Nice selection of desserts and excellent coffee. A delightful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florence21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggles101, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much much for your great review, we try our very best to make sure you have a warm welcome and leave satisfied and full!
We look forward to seeing you again!

James, Head chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Normanton on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Egmanton, Nottinghamshire
 
Sutton on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Laxton, Nottinghamshire
 
Tuxford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing