We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to go to a touristy resto” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Terraza

La Terraza
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Cojimar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
552 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“If you want to go to a touristy resto”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Mar 21
Cojimar is a great stop when experiencing the "Hemmingway" Cuba. A bronze bust of him overlooks the beautiful bay and old fort. Down from this is the La Terraza Restaurant, still exploiting the Hemmingway connection. You see lots of photos of him on the walls.
I would say with confidence that all the patrons are tourists and usually in a group. Our dining room held 3 or 4 groups. The seats by the window's hang over the water's edge. We had a choice of chix, fish, or paella. Though the paella was plentiful and tasty, I think the fish was fresh and looked inviting.
The entry area was commanded by a long bar. I think tourists drink a lot of Cuban rum, which flows like water.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    28
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Traditional bar/restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Another place where EH spent a lot of his time, restaurant with a view of a bay. Plenty of photographs from EH's fishing trips. Very good Mojitos, live music. Short walk from the restaurant and you will be in the port from which Hemingway used to go fishing. The old man and the sea, yes, you can the feeling there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hemmingways seaside haunt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Lovely atmosphere. This was one of our first meals upon arrival with or Scenic Cuba (Insight Cuba) tour. Meal was pre-planned by our tour and included in our package. We had a choice of fish or paella. We chose the fish and it appeared to be the better of the two options. Was a fine introduction to the Cuban cuisine, but not the best meal of the week.

We enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood and found lovely, inexpensive art for purchase along the street.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wwpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Little Better Than Average Food or Atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Not a great value. Too many tourists, too crowded, service was mediocre but the food was not bad. Nice view out the window. A little music group entertained at lunch, but they were easily the worst group of a week in Cuba. I would highly recommend going to one of the other two restaurants in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FunPrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We went here due to the Hemmingway connection. The food was really tasty although we stuck to the basics (grilled fish). Portions are good-sized too. Service was excellent, but the atmosphere wasn't great as it seems they cater mostly for medium sized tour groups.
We constantly had a Hemmingwayesque guy with a beard and hat taking photos of the photos on the wall - sometimes right in / over our table space. They allow people into the restaurant seemingly even if they don't plan to eat.
Still, it was an enjoyable day out from Havana, but there are other better day-trips from Havana if you're not into Hemmingway.

Helpful?
Thank SafariPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terraza also viewed

Cojimar, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Cojimar, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Cojimar, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing