We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we could have imagined... The only way to see MONA”
Review of Mona Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mona Pavilions
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Arthur. You are made to real like a rock star with outstanding (and slightly irreverent) service, VIP entry to the museum (which is amongst the best I've seen in the world), as well as the restaurant, winery, brewery. Stunning views of the Derwent River, extremely private and peaceful. Gorgeous 15m indoor pool and sauna. Well-stocked gourmet mini-bar, with local and imported wines, dedicated wine fridge, as well as full kitchen if you prefer cooking every now and then. Unbelievable art in the room. Daily breakfast included is superb, with a wide variety of options. Muesli, juice and milk supplied in the room if you preferring stay indoors. Nice touches such as Aesop toiletries, organic unhomogenised milk, and all the mod cons, make this a supremely enjoyable experience. Don't stay in the CBD, make a real event of your MONA experience and stay at the pavilions. Warning: the museum is incredible and we found 3 nights was the minimum amount of time to do it justice.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank traffjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 233 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Recently stayed in the 'Walter' Pavilion at Mona with friends for my partners' birthday and thoroughly enjoyed all that Mona offers. Great staff, location, accommodation and of course, the museum complex itself - all highly recommended. Complementary museum entry is included in the tariff as well as juice, tea, coffee, breakfast provisions and a bottle of bubbles on arrival. Breakfast in the Source was great as was our daily swim in the heated pool. Spent a day in the museum and enjoyed lunch outside on the market day.

Minor maintenance notes - some of the electronic blinds in our pavilion were a damaged/worn and one of the large bedroom blinds wasn't operational. Things like chipped paint and a missing bathroom door stopper were obvious signs of wear and tear that should be attended to in a property of this caliber.

Would not hesitate to stay here again and you really need two nights to fully appreciate Mona.

Room Tip: Walter is a two bedroom, two bathroom, two story pavilion with great panoramic views of the Derwent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dppd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

View - stunning
Architecture - award winning and plenty of it
Art - everywhere you look and you get to sleep with it too
Service - a VIP experience worth staying for this alone - seriously , best seats in the restaurant, speedy access to the museum, not to mention the room
Room - modern unique and full of character - designed - so far beyond what most hotels can aim for let alone achieve
Food - not too shabby
Beer and wine - made on site - parties seem to be encouraged
Would have been a good stay except did not get to play on the tennis court - or for long enough - one night only I,m afraid

Room Tip: Whichever one is available I expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have recently returned from a 10 days trip around Tasmania, staying at 5 different locations, and The Pavilions at MONA was to be our little extravagance. It was definitely worth every penny and exceeded both of our expectations. We stayed for 2 nights in the Arthur Boyd Pavilion. The accommodation and amenities are worthy of six stars. In fact it was so lovely in our Pavilion we cancelled both of our evening meals just so we could stay and enjoy the luxurious comforts for longer! If you are planning to stay at the Pavilion, we would recommend you set aside at least two full days in order to enjoy the amenities on the estate, including: Olympic size lap pool, spa, sauna and gym, fine dining restaurant (The Source Restaurant), an included wine tour and tasting at the Moorilla Estate on-site, beer tasting and tour of Moo Brew (also on-site), not to mention the outstanding and eye opening MONA galleries and also their Saturday morning MONA market (all included in the accommodation fee). If you can afford it, do it. Even the most fussy traveler with world-wide experiences will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was my birthday and what better place to spend it than at MONA.
It satisfies all the senses - the pavilions are perfect, the ultimate in style and design overlooking the Derwent - nothing is overlooked in their quest for perfection.
The art museum equals anything in Europe - we had been to others in Europe where like the Guugenheim in Bilbao you are amazed at the building but the art doesn't match it - but here from the minute you walk, you just feel WOW.
It is not as if you like every piece but it confronts every part of you.
Lunch at The source is wonderful and the winery must rank with the most modern and professional in Australia.
As an added bonus, the swimming pool and gym must be one of the best in any hotel in Australia.
All in all. the ultimate experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family had been anticipating our night at MONA with high expectations and I have to say our expectations were exceeded. Warm professional staff, superb accommodation in the Brett Whitely Pavillion, generous sevings of wine over lunch and the adventure through the art museum. I just makes such a well rounded and beautiful experience, with nature and the river on your doorstep - literally! congratulations to the MONA team for putting together such a perfect range of experiences in such an inspiring setting.

Yes, it's pricey but i feel almost evangelical about the value you get down to the products in the rooms, the delcision juices and organic milk. We will be back!

Room Tip: They are all perched over the river, our had celing to floor galss doors that opened out to the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Living in South-East Queensland and being used to, sometimes, very average service, We were stunned at the absolute professionalism of ALL the staff at MONA. From Reception, the restaurant staff, room service staff and the cleaners - all were smiling and most helpful. The food was superb and we highly recommend staying on site as well as trying the restaurant. Thank you one and all for a most memorable stay. John Nickel and John Dunn

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berriedale
6.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
6.4 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
464 reviews
6.2 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
10.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
6.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mona Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mona Pavilions

Address: 655 Main Rd, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Berriedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berriedale
Price Range: $498 - $727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mona Pavilions 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MONA Pavilions. The eight MONA pavilions overlook the Derwent River and feature artwork from the MONA collection. Four are named for architects who have influenced Australia's architectural landscape: Roy (Grounds), Robin (Boyd), Esmond (Dorney) and Walter (Burley Griffin). The original four pavilions: Arthur (Boyd), Brett (Whiteley), Charles (Blackman) and Sidney (Nolan), have been completely refurbished. All have access to the heated infinity lap pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mona - the gallery and all site facilities are closed on Tuesdays. The Pavilions are open with breakfast still served and in room food and beverage option available for house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mona Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mona Pavilions Hotel Berriedale
Mona Pavilions Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing