We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Treasure Island Caravan Parks
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berriedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treasure Island Caravan Parks
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The managers or owners (not sure) were excellent. The gentleman even noticed that I did not have a lighter and was using the car cigarette lighter and brought me a box of matches. Howz that for device with a smile.
I have read the other reviews and yes it may be not 5 star but given that we were previously staying at a b&b that cost more per night which had dirty sheets - no view - dirty bathrooms - we were very happy to stay here. Yes, it may be in need of a bit of TLC but overall I can say my bed had clean sheets, the pillows had pillow protectors ( obviously they must read these reviews) - the bed was a little soft for my liking but the toilet,shower and basin were clean and we had a lovely location.
I would go back again, and again.
And if you don't like duck poo - don't stay where there are ducks!!!!
Thanks again to both of you.
Tina and Marlon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked a cabin at Treasure Island for four nights and, although the setting was beautiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly, the cabin itself left a lot to be desired. It was old and very dated. Dirt in window ledges, scum around plug hole in basin, no heater to speak of only a very small portable heater, tv that had an indoor ariel and the picture was grainy to say the least. The pillows were almost non existent - luckily there were another two on the bunk beds that we could use, although none of the pillows had pillow protectors (another no no in my opinion). The bed was hard and not comfortable at all. We were thinking of moving but were only in Hobart, on our first trip, for four nights and not in the cabin much during the day, decided to stay. I'd like to ask the owners/managers to spend a couple of nights in the cabin to see if they thought it was worth the $100 per night we were charged.
On the plus side there is a shuttle bus that you can catch to Salamanca Market on Saturday morning for a cost of $18 return for two.

Room Tip: Check on line to see actual photographs of places you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SES56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berriedale hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We've stayed at Treasure Island Caravan Park a number of times over the past 3 months while we travel around Tasmania. We have found this caravan park to be the best value for money out of all the caravan parks in and around Hobart. During the off-season they will offer you 7 nights for the price of 6 for a powered site. The sites are a generous size, and the amenities are always clean. Granted, they are a bit out-dated and could probably do with some renovations, but they are clean. The staff are very friendly and are always up for a chat. There is a bus within walking distance which will take you into Hobart, and MONA is right next door. While we travel around Tasmania, we will keep coming back to Hobart and will continue to stay at Treasure Island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst exploring Hobart and we will definitely be back again. The facilities were close by, hot water always available and they were exceptionally clean... We heard music at MONA and decided to take the short walk over for an afternoon picnic... Beautiful location with views of the Derwent river ... If you are looking for a place to camp near Hobart you will not regret choosing this place!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HQ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

the setting of this caravan park is beautiful. we had a view over a little inlet. very pretty. however the place could do with a good renovation. the toilets and showers were clean and spacious, but were very old to look at. the camp kitchen was small and very basic. the location itself is not near anything decent to walk to.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muffymuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We based ourselves here for 3 nights to see Hobart. It was a great location (MONA is literally next door) and the city is 20 minutes down the road. The Cadbury chocolate factory is also close by. It also borders the Derwent River. The service is sensational, we stayed in a powered Ensuite site and had no problems with noise where we were situated. It's also lovely to feed the ducks in the morning so be sure to buy some food from the office. The place is a little run down but the staff are so friendly you can overlook it and you can see that they are catching up on some much needed maintenance. Highly recommend you stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank SoeMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was price that brought us here, and we were doubly delighted to find we could have a week for the price of six days - a bonus. However there is something rather tired - even shabby about the park. It is in the most beautiful spot, Mt Wellington dominating the view to the south west, the Derwent River all about us. But the clothes line collapsed beneath my washing which was very annoying. Small repairs would brighten the place up - it has wonderful potential. But then the price might go up and that would rather defeat the purpose, wouldn't it?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berriedale
0.3 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverfront Motel & Villas
4.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Martin Cash Motel
Martin Cash Motel
#1 of 1 in Moonah
127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hobart Cabins and Cottages
Hobart Cabins and Cottages
#1 of 6 in Glenorchy
56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glenlusk Gardens
Glenlusk Gardens
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Island Caravan Parks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Island Caravan Parks

Property: Treasure Island Caravan Parks
Address: 1 Alcorso Dr, Berriedale, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7011, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy > Berriedale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Berriedale
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Caravan Parks Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing