We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredibly peaceful place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sugi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telunas Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I've been there for 3 days in february (valentine's week end). This place is a real jewel in the area, really far from nearby Batam and Bintan busy tourist atmosphere.
In telumas you can really rest, get rid of the work and city pressure for a really reasonable price and only 2hours away from Singapore by boat.
I have to add that the food is simply delicious and taditional, taking the best from the different spacialities in south east Asia. Do I have to add that everything is taken care of by a very helpful and kind staff.
Finally, the room are perfect, clean, very spacious and cozy. All of them on the water, very peaceful, at night you get asleep with the relaxing sound of the waves and a warm and bright sun awakes you in the morning. Telumas is a real peaceful getaway, in constant contact with nature.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kickistaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Telunas Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 496 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary at Telunas. It was by far the best trip we have taken! (Part of this might be that it was just the two of us and our 4 year old was staying with friends, but not nearly all!) When we arrived we found out we were the only guests for the first two nights. Yet we still received amazing food & stellar service. We went on the trip with no plans of doing anything except sit, read, explore the beach, and swim. All these were provided plentifully in a place of quiet, seclusion, and beautiful sunsets.

We also ordered the candlelight dinner for our anniversary night. It was incredible food and romance!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamheavenbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Stayed at Telunas with 5 guy friends for my pre-wedding bachelor chill out trip... And it was great. Great food, great facilities (beach, board games, fishing, etc...), great company... what else could we ask for... Well, maybe a clear sky to see the stars! Would definitely recommend to friends and I plan to go back there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I traveled to Telunas during a three week Asia trip with three friends. Everything was simple--Aan and Ian met us at the international terminal and rode with us by boat all the way to Telunas (about 1.5 hours from Sekupang). These two staff were with us for our entire stay--we love them!

Weaving between all the other islands on our way to Sugi was really beautiful. We arrived to wet towels to freshen up along with the famous welcome drink--some mix of orange and pineapple probably and quite tasty. We were served lunch upon arrival and then shown to our rooms.

We spent three days there. You can be as active or lazy as you'd like. This place is truly secluded. It's the ONLY thing out there. We just hung out mostly--explored the beach, played some frisbee, took a ton of pictures, jumped off the dock (we spent about 90% of our time doing this), and pigged out at meal time. We did take the waterfall hike, which was pretty incredible. We got to see the way some of the locals live, and also ran across 10-12 monkeys jumping between the trees throughout our trip.

The only thing we had trouble with was sleeping without A/C. We're four spoiled American guys, so the nights were pretty warm if there wasn't a breeze. Thankfully, the staff gave us an extra fan upon request and this helped a lot.

We kept joking about wanting to take the cook home with us. She made omelettes to order each morning along with fresh fruit and other options. We're not picky eaters--as long as it's not curry--and we loved everything they served us. There was even one vegetarian there while we were, and they always prepared him a vegetarian option at no extra cost. Usually fruit is served as dessert after lunch, and dinner is followed by brownies, cake, or the famous banana crepes (they more than lived up to their billing! I was mad at myself for eating so much at dinner, because I could only handle 2 crepes and I wanted to eat 12.)

All in all, we really enjoyed our time at Telunas. We spent 2 1/2 more weeks hopping around Singapore, Vietnam, and Thailand, and we kept joking about wanting to go back to Telunas. Hope you get a chance to go!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notashamed6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed at Telunas with 2 other friends. We were looking for a cheap getaway for rest and relaxation and I must say the short 3D2N stay at Telunas certainly invigorated us.

There is a serenity about the place that is hard to find anywhere else. Getting to the island was a bit exhausting, but we understand that the public ferry we took is not under Telunas' so they can't do much about it. When we got there, it felt a bit like we were on a small corner of the world, hidden from everyone else. It was that idyllic.

The staff were welcoming and very friendly. They provided a high standard of service - the kind that you usually only find in 5 star hotels and we were highly impressed by their meticulous attention to detail. They did everything they could to help us fully enjoy our stay and relax. For example, on the last night, we requested that they help us build a bonfire for us to roast some marshmallows - not only did they do that, they also lit up the kerosene lamps lining the beach and provided us with extra marshmallows and long sticks so that we wouldn't get too hot (we had the shorter satay sticks). We were also highly impressed that despite the fact that a huge group of 40-60 students were there for a leadership camp of some sort, the staff managed everything excellently and we didn't feel like it was crowded or noisy.

There were a number of activities to do there so you won't get too bored. The beach sports (save kayaking) are free and they provide the equipment. The 'facilities' like the volleyball and beach football courts are relatively well maintained. There are books and boardgames that you can borrow as well.

The food served was also well received by the 3 of us. We enjoyed all the meals and dishes fully. Especially the banana crêpes! :) Another point to note, my friend doesn't eat beef and we forgot to mention it, the first dinner the only meat available was beef (we were having tacos that night). We informed the staff of my friend's dietary restrictions and they immediately cooked a plate of chicken for him. The next dinner, they remembered and cooked a small bowl of curry chicken when the main dish was beef redang.

Our only grouse is the lack of internet (which is arguably a good thing) facilities, especially since the World Cup was on and we were trying to find out scores and such. But that's a really small matter that didn't affect our stay very much. We also suggest that Telunas offer some night time activities as the nights can get a bit boring.

We fully recommend Telunas to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, world class service and good food for a reasonable price. It was a fantastic experience and we're sure you'll have a ball of a time. :D

-seantzw

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seantzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Found out about Telunas after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, and the place certainly lives up to its reputation!

Even though we were there with 2 other groups of tourists, the place is real tranquil and private. This means more crazy fun for us girls!

The food there is awesome (perhaps the fresh air did something to whet our appetite), from the Mexican food to the fresh seafood (3 of us polished off one whole sweet and sour fish) and not forgetting the very sinful banana crepes and black glutinous rice chocolate cake.

The service that they provide is awesome too. Everyone is always smiling and offering the best service that they can provide. Even though it’s raining cats and dogs one morning, we were very surprise to hear a knock on the door to find the poor staff bringing our morning brew to our room! Now that’s what I call dedication.

6m deck jump, 9m high jump, private seaside, fishing, sun-tanning on the deck, reading on hammocks, enjoying the night view from the sea deck while having your dinner and toasting marshmallows over the bonfire, who can say they find the place boring?

We already made a pact to visit the place annually to recharge ourselves. Well, maybe biannual. Thank you Telunas staffs for the wonderful experience! =D

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmomoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Firstly, I gotta confess, I fell in love with Telunas even before our visit. The reviews on TripAdvisor and other websites were so good, I read almost all, and just couldn't wait to experience it for myself.

The folks at Telunas sure lived up to their reputation right from the start - going the extra mile. Being only keen on the private chalets, we emailed them with dates of our own, but as those dates had no availability, they took their own initiative to list a couple of different dates for us to consider and also advised us on whether there would be more or less visitors visiting during the various dates so we would roughly know what to expect.

By the time my boyfriend and I arrived at Telunas, (finally seeing the place with my own eyes) and being greeted by the lovely staff and not forgetting the famous Welcome Drink, we were already won over and knew it was gonna be a fantastic vacation for us.

(On a side note, I fell in love once again, but this time over the Welcome Drink. I love the drink so much and was gushing over it to Sabhar (the staff attending to us) that on our last day, he specially arranged for us to have another round of it which we really appreciated his thoughtful gesture!)

During our stay there, besides my boyfriend and I, there were two other families there - one mother and her 4 yr-old daughter (who celebrated their birthdays there and had the special birthday cake), and the other was a family of 4 with two cute kids. So basically we had the whole area and beach to ourselves, and this was indeed a refreshing break away from our usual bustling city life.

Living up to its name once again, the rooms, toilets, dining area were really very clean and neat, and more remarkable, not a speck of dust on the unfinished wood surfaces. They spent a huge deal of time maintaining the place to provide visitors a comfortable living space.

Home-cooked Indonesian food was good, and we concluded that they perhaps specially cater the menu to various groups of visitors to suit their taste buds. And of course, the "legendary banana crepes" sure didn't disappoint, in fact my bf loved it so much he had 4 servings of that despite being already quite full from dinner! One thing we noticed, our appetites also increased by spending happy and comfortable days of doing nothing there. We truly felt pampered :)

The staff there were great and very helpful. Whatever we requested, and whenever we needed any help, they, especially lovely Sabhar, would respond to our needs promptly. He made us felt welcomed and by his efforts, we could tell he wanted to make our stay as pleasant as possible. And he definitely suceeded! Thanks!

Our favourite part of the stay, was lying on the deck chairs star gazing at night. The brightness of the million stars in the night sky reflected on the surface of the sea, with the unobstructed view of the horizon, complimented by the surrounding's tranquility and occasional light sounds of the waves, it was just so amazing and peaceful, and more so experiencing this with your loved one.

If you're looking for a getaway from work, crowd and noise, and need some place to recharge and just to relax entirely, Telunas is definitely the place.

We really enjoyed our stay there tremendously, and would definitely revisit soon in a few month's time. Trust me, the place truly lived up to all its good reviews.

And to Telunas, thanks for the great experience there!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helmet_fei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugi Island
21.3 mi away
No photo provided
Link Hotel
#8 of 11 in Batam Center
2 reviews
22.2 mi away
Fame Hotel
Fame Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batu Aji
53 reviews
22.7 mi away
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
#2 of 2 in Waterfront City
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
#1 of 2 in Waterfront City
795 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noah Maratua Resort
Noah Maratua Resort
#2 of 2 in Maratua Island
1 reviews
23.6 mi away
Sijori Resort & Spa
Sijori Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sekupang
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing