We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sugi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telunas Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sugi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is a good place to relax. You have a nice place to swim in the sea. You have loads of activities to entertain yourself. Like kayaking, volleyball, soccer, pingpong, jumping from the high deck, fishing, walking, catching squid in the evening, bonfire and more.
There are some books and toys for kids in the main hall. I did not use it, because I had enoug stuff to do outside. The staff was taking good care of me and made sure I was always safe. I liked the food and there was always enough food for everyone. I really liked how they have made the houses and everything out of wood.

Floor (9 years)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4-in-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

HI 4-in-Singapore,

Thanks for taking time to share your Telunas experience with the community. We're glad that you had a good beachside holiday with the right mix of activity and relaxation. It's also nice to see that in the eyes of a certain type of traveller, Telunas offers quite a variety of outdoor options for a great holiday.

I'm not certain what your last comment intended to communicate but it may be related to the age of our property. Telunas Beach Resort opened in 2004, so that makes us 9 years young! The resort is built almost entirely out of wood and renewable thatched coconut and sagu leaf (atap) roofs. While 9 years is beginning to age for an Asian property, we take pride in continual maintenance and overhauls when necessary. In fact, we routinely replace roofs every 3-4 years and we are currently remodeling the Multi-family Suite.

Thanks again and sampai jumpa,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 535 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

The scenery is so beautiful that i'd take your breath away and never want to return home. Especially at night when there is no pollution of light like in the city, you could see the endless starlight sky that stretches beyond the horizon.

Besides that, the food was splendid with a taste of Indonesian delicacy. What i missed was the homecooked-styled fried fish they made. It's so soft you could swallow in less than 2 bites! And the service was excellent, staff are always smiling as well as hospitable and there's security guards during the night so there's nothing to worry about.

The best way to enjoy this resort is stuff away your techno gadgets and just jump down that jetty jump. There are 2 levels, if you cant swim, you can use level one which provides you with enough thrills. And for those natural thrill seekers can take the 2nd level. You'd have the time of your life.

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the far end, which is overlooking the sea because it will be a view you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmiliaChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with our team and the TripAdvisor community. We completely agree that the scenery and natural beauty of Telunas (day and night) take your breath away in a way that is fantastically refreshing. The beauty of the cove and white-sand beach is what immediately lured our founders to build the resort in this spot. Your tip to pack away (or leave behind) the gadgets is right in line with our motto - simplify, clarify, connect. Telunas is the perfect setting for connecting by disconnecting (from technology and stress). We hope the memories of scrumptious meals and deck jumping bring you back to Telunas soon.

Sampai jumpa,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Found Telunas on the internet after considering other options for a couple of days away during our stay in Singapore with family. Very good pre-arrival communication via email, we were met at Batam by a member of staff who escorted us via a local ferry and then by a Telunas small boat to the resort. Only 4 people staying so it was very very quiet but just right for us. Good basic food and facilities, don't expect luxurious extras! After having very european food for several meals we asked for local and it was excellent! We went to Moro island in one of Telunas boats, what a great excursion! Took pillion seats on motorbikes up to a temple, lovely views, the town was very friendly and interesting. Thoroughly recommend it, it doesn't seem to be on their normal itinerary but well worth going.

The only down side was that the beach was somewhat untidy, games equipment left around, towels left on the beach for a couple of days, perhaps the staff were having a bit of a break between two large groups!

We took a Telunas small boat all the way back to Batam on the way back to Singapore which was great fun (included getting wet!), much more enjoyable than the enclosed local ferry.

All in all a very relaxing time, would recommend it if you enjoy the simple quiet life. Not sure it would be quite as enjoyable if they had a full house!!

Room Tip: Go for one of the largest rooms which have wonderful views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thanks for stopping by our little resort during your visit to Singapore. We're certainly glad you found us and had a good stay. I have brought the beach tidiness up with our team as this certainly does not meet our standards and should not happen again. I'm glad you got to explore Moro as the surrounding villages are very interesting and a bit part of why we chose to locate in the region. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Telunas has all the ingredients right for a getaway from the everyday grind.
From the home cooked hearty food to the homey chalets to a quiet beautiful beach to the very personable staff, I would highly recommend this to couples, families, friends wanting an easy weekend away from the city.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks for visiting Telunas in September and sharing your island experience with the TripAdvisor community. Island time is waiting for your next break from city life.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The perfect family get away is what Telunas has to offer. Think camping gone civilized with immaculate accomodations, a helpful personable staff and great family style meals cooked by someone else. I cannot think of any one that wouldn't enjoy this resort. It is large enough to be private and romantic yet the family style meals and out door activities can lend themselves to meeting other visitors and socializing. The beach was a favorite for our boys (16,14,11,7, and 5). They chased crabs, body surfed and built sandcastles when we weren't participating in one or another perfectly orchestrated family activities. The dinner on the beach is a MUST DO as is diving off the high platform. Lilas and Elsa were instrumental in providing a perfect get away weekend to help us celebrate our sons 11th birthday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We're incredibly pleased to read your review about your perfect family getaway. Your description of Telunas as "camping gone civilized with immaculate accommodations" gave us a good laugh because of it's creativity and accuracy. Lilis and Elsa mentioned to me what a great time they had hosting your family and say hello.

We hope that your next visit is not too far off.

Sampai jumpa,

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited this place for five days with classmates aiming for a total rest and relax, but turned out we got bored on the second night already.

They don't provide TV, they don't have internet access, they don't have much thing to entertain you.You need to be well-prepared before coming here, especially if you get bored easily just like us.

Food OK, but some meals are too spicy. Worse come to worst because they do not have menus. You eat what they serve. At some meal times, the crew were too busied up with their own meals rather than serving us (yes! they eat what the guests eat AND at the same time), they didn't even bother to check and replace the dish trays, so if you are late for meal, you'll end up eating leftovers - even if it means broth.

The jewel of this place is its refreshingly natural setting. It is a total nature refreshment and treat, but again, five days doing nothing are really boring. In general, this place is great for enjoying nature but I don't think I'll come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We're truly disappointed that our resort and team did not live up to your expectations. Some things you mention in your review make it seem that your group did not truly understand the Telunas experience prior to arrival (no TVs & Internet). Could you send us an email at stay@telunasbeach.com to help us understand how we could have communicated this better throughout the booking process? We want to provide an experience that aligns with what we promote. What you mention in regard to food is an anomaly in regard to feedback we typically receive from guests. Spicy sauces are typically separated and guests can make special requests if they have dietary constraints or specific preferences. What you mention about staff eating your food has been reviewed by our team. We deeply apologize for this as there should have been ample food. Sometimes we do have groups at the resort and because of the nature of our unique interaction with these groups, the staff will mix with the guests and join them during meal time. This should be separate from the dining for guests like yourself and there should never be a shortage of food. The staff should have been at your service. Once again, if you have specific ideas on the type of activities that we could have added or offered to make your stay engaging or other feedback, please send to stay@telunasbeach.com.

Thanks for the compliments on the beauty of the natural surroundings. It even looks like you captured some fine photos!

Best regards,
Brad Fleming for the Telunas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I had a blast at Telunas Beach Resort. Again, I went there for a school trip but, my god, I have never had so much fun in my life! The waterfall trek was so much fun and the beach is amazing. Make sure you jump of the high tower, which was the highlight of my trip. A tip would be that you go with a group. It was a perfect beach and the water was so clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anjali2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We're thrilled that you fully enjoyed your Telunas stay. Thanks for sharing the tip on bringing friends. While Telunas is great for a visit as a couple or family, it's even more fun when you bring along more friends for tower jumping, board games, and beach time. See you soon.

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugi Island
0 mi away
H3 Hotel
H3 Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tanjung Balai
1 reviews
22.7 mi away
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
#2 of 2 in Waterfront City
1,747 reviews
23.6 mi away
Sijori Resort & Spa
Sijori Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sekupang
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
#1 of 2 in Waterfront City
819 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Address: Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing