We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sugi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Telunas Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our 4th visit”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our fourth visit there within 3 years. What more can we said? Staff, rustic setup, food were excellent. We managed to catch total of 18 fishes in 2 days and had them for our meal. If you have not been, you are missing something.

Room Tip: Private room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memory_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks for your faithful visits and sharing the news about Telunas with the world. It sounds like you had a prolific catch this time. We're looking forward to your fifth visit!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    91
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
215
127
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place is very different.....simple yet special in its own ways. I hope it stays this way....quiet!!! yet profitable for all its people:-)

The people are the best, its nature, environment, the rooms, the activities are very interesting.

The staff are friendly and always going the extra mile....helpful and sincere. Thank you Agus!:-). We hope to meet you again!!

On the down side, was disappointed with the water and the beach. Not the best for swimming. The sand was a bit disappointing but we will definitely go again !!

Indra, Audrey & Rolf

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndraAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Indra, Audrey, and Rolf:

Thanks for your recent stay and taking the time to review our overwater establishment.

We do pride ourselves on creating an experience that is quite unlike the common mass beach resort. Our hope is that this is uniquely refreshing and we are pleased when we hear such feedback.

Our white-sand beach provides an ideal setting for sunbathing, lounging with a book, playing with the kids on the beach, or frolicking in the shallow waters. For those seeking world-class diving or snorkeling, the outer islands of Indonesia are more suitable. From late May to mid August breezes from the South bring rolling waves and less clear waters. With access by an easy boat transfer from Singapore, most guests discover utter relaxation and beachside fun.

Agus sends greetings and we all hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After 3 days and 2 nights at Telunas, all 19 of us made it back safely home and are busy back at work and school, nursing our tired bodies, minor cuts and bruises. But more importantly, every father and son had a most enjoyable and meaningful time together both personally together and in all the team activities. All these would not have been possible without Lilis and the staff of Telunas who helped to ensure the suites were well maintained with clean beds, the meeting room spacious and adequately equipped and yes, the good food (with the sambal chilli separated!) that we enjoyed over the last 3 days. There were also wonderful moments which was only made possible by Telunas such as the free birthday cakes for 3 of our fathers. The kids’ special moment for many had been the jetty jumps with their fathers (and those with their friends of course!)

Most of all, all the Telunas staff have been most attentive to our needs and responded well and truly, we want to thank them for a most wonderful time. We look forward to returning again with another group of fathers and sons in the near future. Thank you and God bless!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks Boh for your great review of the Father-Son stay at Telunas. We're thrilled that everyone enjoyed their stay and that such great bonding and memories were created. Several of our team members have commented on how much they enjoyed your group. We hope work and school is not too shocking and look forward to seeing you again in the coming months.

Regards,
Brad Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We - a family of threee - went to Telunas in March 2013 and enjoyed our stay tremendously.

The experience started at the Sekupang Ferry Terminal just after arrival from Singapore where our host Lilis picked us up and guided us to the local ferry to continue our journey to the resort. Admitedly, one has to be a bit adventurous when looking at the local ferry but we took it as an experience. The ferry took us to Moro Island from where Telunas' own long boat picked us up and took us to the resort.

The complete resort is built in local style (on stilts) and while it meets all basic needs it is not as luxurious as one may know it from other Indonesian locations such as Bali. This resort is the only one on the island means that it offers complete tranquility and relaxation.

We booked a water chalet which comes with a queen size bed and a bunk bed, a private balcony and a private bathroom/toilet, big enough to accomodate four persons.

In absence of any outside restaurants/eateries the resort provide three meals a day, all very tasty and deliciously cooked. You may hear/read about the banana crepes, these are indeed fabulous and certainly the signature dish!

Snacks, drinks and souveniers are sold at affordable prices from their own little convenience shop.

Landscape-wise the beach is stunning, big enough that no one is disturbed in his/her privacy. Though I am not into watersports, I believe some equipment can be rented from the resort if desired.

The whole staff is extremely polite, friendly and helpful and kids are very welcome which makes it a perfect place for families.

I understand that the owners is currently constructing a second resort on the island adjacent to Telunas Beach which will be more tailored to individual travelers and families while Telunas Beach is more for groups (indeed the place got very lively when a school class arrived on our last evening).

Given that there're so many beautiful places to explore in Southeast Asia we might not be back in teh immediate future but we will be back one day for sure (maybe when the new place is ready?).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehamburgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for your review that points out many specific aspects of the Telunas experience which should be helpful to future guests. As you note, apart from simply relaxing on the fine beach there are further ways to enjoy your stay such as renting a kayak and exploring the cove or taking a trek to a nearby waterfall. Telunas Beach Resort is built on stilts above the sea to mimic the local architecture. We've aimed to make the buildings simple and eco-friendly so the resort blurs into the environment. We've sought to then bring in surprising little comforts for a rustic resort so that guests truly enjoy their stay. We're glad you liked the place and we hope that your journeys bring you back to Telunas more quickly than anticipated. As you note, we do have a project in the works on Telunas island that we hope will delight our favorite families and couples even more fully. Sign up for our newsletter for future updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I visited Telunas with a group of friends and lots of kids between us. We had a fantastic stay and loved every minute. The kids had lots of fun on the low ropes with Gideon and just loved jumping from the jetty into the sea. Its so free and easy there. The staff loved the kids and made a huge fuss of them at all times. The food was lovely and the kitchen very accommodating to our needs. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacsanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your visit and kind review. We're glad your whole family had a blast. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed a week at Telunas Beach. It is a great place to relax with a beautiful private beach, preserved nature, tasty indonesian food, excellent service, comfortable private chalets. You can see and hear the waves through the chalet floor ! The 3 meals at 7am, 12am and 6pm are included as well as most activities : fishing from the deck, 21h lamp fishing, shrimping on the beach at night, low ropes in the jungle, jumping from the (high) deck, hammocks everywhere, sand castling for the kids and more. The kids loved to eat the fishes and shrimps they had caught.
The kayak (28 S$/h) and the pizza party on the beach were not included but were enjoyable and good value for money. The whole staff was really friendly and they cared about us. They were also good at taking care of the kids. The private chalets can be recommended for 2 adults + 2 kids as they are well designed and well ventilated. No mosquito found there for one week (beware of the jungle though).
The kids asked to come back during the stay and both my wife and 7 year old daughter were moved when leaving Sekupang ! Do not miss the books from the library to get to know the wild life there : barnacles, moon crab, hermit crabs, needle fishes, hornbills, various fishes. crabs, squids, snakes, monkeys, kingfishers and mangrove animals and plants. As advised by the hotel, make sure to bring proper beach shoes and sun protection. Covering clothes can be useful to protect from the sun.
We loved the place, the delicious food, the local english speaking staff, the rustic and authentic chalets and also the 90min boat ride to get there.
Many thanks to the Telunas staff. We are looking forward to coming back !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clapham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Public Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks for posting. The details you mention will be very helpful to other future guests. I would like to point out that while there are many free activities, typically there is charge for shrimping.

It's great to see your clear love for Telunas. We're thrilled when our guests can walk away with such a positive experience and desire to return. We look forward to seeing you soon too!

Sampai jumpa!
Brad Fleming for the Telunas team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family and I first visited Telunas in July 2012, with friends of ours. We were originally supposed to be there for 3 days and on the last day, I knew I wasn’t ready to leave and so I extended our stay for another week. And here began our love story with Telunas Beach Resort. We have since returned 4 times and were fortunate enough to be part of their first Christmas celebration last December. By far one of the best Christmases my family and I have ever had.

Somewhere on the 90 min boat ride from Sekupang to Sugi island, you can feel the hectic nature of everyday life slipping away, and by the time that you walk up the steps and see the wonderful staff waiting to greet you, ‘Welcome to Telunas!’ with a cold welcome drink and towel…you know straight away that it will be someplace that's hard to leave behind. One of my favorite things about Telunas (and there are many ☺) is watching the impact that the place has on our children age 14 and 8 years old. They love it there. They leave a life filled with electronics behind them and are happy playing board games, fishing, hiking, kayaking, playing on the beach…and of course jumping off the high deck, for no day would be complete without that.

And then of course there’s the staff. Their warmth dedication, and commitment to guest service is second to none anywhere I've travelled in the world. They make you feel welcome from the moment you get there and go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is the best it can be. From building bond fires on the beach, or setting up the rare ‘Telunas beach Cinema’ so all the kids can gather around to watch a movie with the sound of the ocean not too far away (magical), to playing board games and teaching people how to fish. The staff at Telunas feels more like family and that is what separates their level of service from anyone else's, they genuinely care.

No trip to Telunas would be complete without mentioning the food! Part of the unwinding process is that you don’t have to worry about a thing…not even what you will eat for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Anyone who has been there will tell you that one of the highlights on any given day is hearing the whacking sound of the ‘dinner bell’…no matter where you are…you will hear it and come running, to what is sure to be a yummy feast. My son’s favorite is the banana crepes…not to be missed…I think he might hold the record for eating 12 in one sitting.

In short, everyday that you spend away from Telunas is a day you spend wishing you could return. There's magic in a place that is just as beautiful on a clear sunny day as it is on a stormy one. Telunas and the people who work there have a special place in our hearts and they always will.

Room Tip: Chalets 1,3, 5 and 6 are all great as they are spacious well appointed and overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telunas Beach S, Guest Relations Manager at Telunas Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Melanie!

Thanks for taking time to write a review highlighting Telunas. We're feel so privileged to have many wonderful guests like yourselves as a part of the extended Telunas family!

Don't tell your son (as we don't generally want to encourage overeating) but the record is 16 Banana Crepes after a full meal!

We hope to see you soon.

Brad Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugi Island
21.3 mi away
No photo provided
Link Hotel
#8 of 11 in Batam Center
2 reviews
22.2 mi away
Fame Hotel
Fame Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batu Aji
46 reviews
22.7 mi away
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
#2 of 2 in Waterfront City
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
#1 of 2 in Waterfront City
776 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Telunas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telunas Beach Resort

Property: Telunas Beach Resort
Address: Riau Islands Province 29442, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Sugi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sugi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1.5 Hrs from Batam (3+ from Singapore) but a world away, Telunas Resorts has two distinct properties to serve guests seeking rest, relaxation, and fun. Telunas Beach Resort provides "rustic elegance" (i.E., Cozy bed-and-breakfast) while Telunas Private Island provides "simple luxury" (i.E., Comfortable private resort). Built entirely above the water, enjoy Telunas' stunning sea and jungle views and let sea breezes and lapping water ease you to sleep. Facilities: Private Island - 15 sea villas, grand lodge (dining, lounge, etc.); Beach Resort - 10 private chalets, 4 deluxe rooms, 1 multi-family suite, 5 dorms, meeting room, lounge, dining room, private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telunas Beach Hotel Sugi Island
Telunas Beach Hotel Batam
Telunas Beach Batam
Telunas Beach Resort Indonesia/Sugi Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing