We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kees K
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a very pleasant stay in the old cottage. Enough space for us and our dog. And all the luxury you need. THe dog loved the cookies very much. And we loved the hot tub.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the cottage and the hot tub. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MapleJ1
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just returned from a fabulous weekend break at The Old Coach House to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary.

Loved the super comfy bed and the hot tub. Cottage was finised to a very high standard.

Lovely village setting. We enjoyed a couple of great meals at the Chalk & Cheese Pub which is a five minute walk and a lovely breakfast at the cafe No.64.

Highly recommended. We hope to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the cottage, hot tub and our lovely village. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian b
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The coach house Maiden newton”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Third visit to this lovely well equipped cottage ideal position for exploring Dorset Hope to return again soon thank you Karen and Mark

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2018
Thanks again Brian, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back for a forth visit soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdunkley5...
Gravesend, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We are here now and cannot recommend this place highly enough. It has superb quality fixtures and fittings and everything that you may need for a break. It is also dog friendly which is a real bonus to us.
If you chose to pay a very modest amount in addition to the rental charge then there is a hot tub available to the exclusive use of guests staying in The Old Coach House.
The huge bed is also one of the most comfortable that we have ever slept in which is fantastic after a tiring day out and about visiting the many attractions that are nearby.
There are two fantastic local pubs that come highly recommended - The Chalk and Cheese is a short walk in to the village and The Fox and Hounds is a short drive away.
There are many leaflets available to peruse to plan your days as well as local information re dentist, vet, cabs etc

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2018
Thankyou for your kind comments. We're glad you're enjoying the cottage and our local pubs, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tw1nk1e
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Old Coach House is lovely, has everything you need for the perfect stay.
i loved all the treats, toys, towels and bedding for the dog!!
The owners are really friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area, their dog Logi lovely too.
Maiden Newton has a lovely village shop and a huge spar in the local petrol station.
It's very easy to get to Weymouth and West bay.
Sadly we had to leave early due to a death in the family, so we didn't get to try the local dog friendly pubs, but they looked lovely and a lot of people recommend them.
I will definitely look to rebook as it's such a lovely relaxing place and so very dog friendly.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed the cottage, our village and local area. So sorry to hear about your loss and hope to see you again soon so you can check out our local dog friendly pubs. Logi thanks you for the compliment, your dog is a beauty too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spherinx
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Property in Quiet Location”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Old Coach House is a beautiful property that is pristine and gorgeous yet comfortable and welcoming at the same time. It has anything you may need during your stay and everything is of a very high quality. The owners are warm and welcoming and have thought of everything including treats for the dog! The property and the owners are are exceptional. The area is very quiet. There are lots of lovely walks and there are route maps for some in the welcome folder. If you are self catering there is a nice village shop and a well stocked Spar shop/fuel station, and the bustling town of Dorchester is a 15-20 min drive away.
However if you are like us and went for a short break and were treating ourselves to only having breakfast in the house, then you need to plan a bit as there are some quirks with the opening/closing times of various places. If you want to eat on a Sunday night you may want to go into Dorchester for a take-away as the local pubs don't serve food in the evening and the pubs we went into in Dorchester don't either. We got an excellent Chinese take-away (the menu for which is also in the welcome folder)! The food in the local pub, The Chalk & Cheese was lovely, it was fresh, tasty and good value (and they're dog friendly). The Fox & Hounds in Cattistock is also a bit of a revelation. We had heard good things about it but weren't sure we had the right place when we walked in. It is very 'traditional' and quite dark inside, but the food was excellent and the locals (and visitors) warm and friendly. The location of the Old Coach House may be quiet but it is an easy drive to wonderful coastal towns and glorious countryside.
We were also unfortunate enough to have a problem with our car and had wonderful help from 'Richard Read Recovery' based on the edge of the village.
Lovely people, lovely place. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad you enjoyed the cottage, our local facilities and pubs. Sorry you had car troubles and glad Richard could help you out. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmariem...
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super pet friendly!”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well equipped pet friendly cottage in a quiet village location. We found great walks straight from the front door. Dorset coast is approximately twenty minutes drive away and there are great beaches at West Bay and Burton Bradstock which are dog friendly. The cottage itself was super clean and spacious. Would recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the cottage our local walks and great beaches. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing