We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful pet friendly Country Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane M
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful pet friendly Country Cottage”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a lovely find this cottage was. Sometimes when you take a holiday let that allows dogs the standards are not always the best, well that is definitely not true in this case. The standards throughout were excellent. The cottage has been done to an amazingly high standard. Everything has been thought about. Its homely but in a really tasteful way. The cottage has been equipped with everything you will need. We stayed in and cooked a couple of times and it was a very well equipped kitchen.

The bed was so comfortable and the bedroom very spacious. The only criticism would be the head height by the sink in the bathroom but we understand the owners are hoping to do something about this later in the year.

We eat at the local pub, the Chalk and Cheese, which was pub food and fine and very friendly. We also went to The Grey Hound Inn at Sydling St Nichols which was lovely with great food. Both pubs allow dogs

The location is great. Its easy to get to the coast. We went by train - 25 minutes to Weymouth. There are also got great walks in the countryside right from the cottage.

We liked it so much that we plan to return later in the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and the local pubs. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill M
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage just right for 2”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely decorated home.dogs had a lovely time. Local pub good for food and dog friendly.Lovely log burner made for a cosy stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2017
Glad you enjoyed the cottage and the dogs had a lovely time too. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahpb88
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic stay , no faults.”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The old coach house is a beautiful cottage, we stayed in November so took full advantage of the log wood burner. The walking is great , we embarked on a 12 mile walk straight from the front door!
There is a local pub , restaurant and fully stocked local shops all within walking distance.
The cottage is dog friendly so no need to leave furry friends at home !
The kitchen has everything you could want , the bathroom has a powerful shower and the bed is so comfortable!
No complaints at all. We are already planning our next visit.!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed the cottage and the lovely walks, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool...
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was everything we could have wished for. Every comfort and lovely hosts, our bottle of bubbly on our last day a touching gesture. Would recommend anyone to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, wer'e glad you enjoyed your honeymoon and best of luck for the future. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banks7899
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lush”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well situated cottage. Approx 30 mins from any main coast/beach. The locals know the lanes around the area better so be aware when driving. But enjoy the views. Cottage was clean and well kept. Even dog treats and toys provided. Dogs very welcome in this part of the country. Even the pubs love them. Furnishing is amazing and just relaxing. Would I stay again? Yes. Definitely. Thanks guys

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments we're glad you enjoyed the cottage and local area. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomneedha...
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, no complaints!”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Faultless cottage couldn't of asked for anything better, nice quiet location, clean cottage and super comfy bed. Only slight issue is that Maiden Newton is a little far out, but no issue if you have access to a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
Glad you enjoyed the cottage Tom and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
272trevor...
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay, but taller people will have issues with the bathroom”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We're just home from a great week and this property is really well appointed. The standard of finish in the building is excellent and has great attention to detail. The bed is fantastically comfortable and there's everything you could need in the kitchen. My only issue was with the bathroom as the sloping roof meant I shaved with my head practically out the velux window and let's not talk about using the loo but my neck still feels like it has a crick in it,

Overall it would have been 5 stars if it hadn't been for the bathroom and the casual lighting could do with brighter bulbs. As for Logan the German Shepherd, he's an absolute star.

The Chalk and Cheese pub in the town is a short walk and does great food and beer, but travel out to the Winyards Gap Inn at least once for superb food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: The bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
Thanks for your feedback Trevor, we're glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the cottage and our local pubs. We tried changing the bathroom bulbs recently but really need a couple of additional fittings which will be done soon. Headroom is a bit restricted in the bathroom for taller people so we are looking at extending it with a dormer window next year. Logan is chuffed to bits with the compliment, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing