We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High standard, pet friendly stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Water Meadows

Water Meadows Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Water Meadows Cottage
Private secure gardens (WM) Spacious lounge diner (WM)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Water Meadows Cottage
Private secure gardens (WM)
Spacious lounge diner (WM)
Spacious lounge diner (WM)
LCD TV (WM)
Well equipped kitchen (WM)
Double bedroom  (WM)
Double bedroom  (WM)
Double or twin room (WM)
Double or twin room (WM)
En suite shower rooms (WM)
Ample off road parking
Dogs and bikers welcome
All dogs welcome little or large
Beautilful countryside
Picturesque villages
Durdle Door
West Bay (Broadchurch in the TV series)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davehayer...
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High standard, pet friendly stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A well appointed property, with a somewhat bijou kitchen. Well catered for pets and located with numerous local walks. The use of the hot tub was most welcome after a day's walking, you just have to be patient whilst it heats up.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
We're glad you liked the cottage and enjoyed the hot tub, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DillysMum...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Medow Cottage Dorset”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Medow Cottage with our young dog. The accommodation was excellent there was dog towels feeding bowls and toys available for Dilly and a lobby so we could deal will the wet weather and muddy feet in the warm before entering the main rooms. The garden was secure and the hot tub a delight. The owners were welcoming and on had to advise us or deal with any emergency without being intrusive. Our mother being disabled was able to move around the Cottage without difficulty. One small draw back is the slop from the car park to the Cottage is not suitable for a wheelchair user as too steep unless battery powered. Otherwise this is a wonderful let for up to four adults with plenty of room. Local pubs and restaurants serving great food and lovely walks without needing a car. Ideal base for exploring the Jurassic coast or surrounding villages. The Cottage was very clean kitchen well stocked and plentiful towels and bath robes for us to use. We recommend this Cottage and will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we're glad you all had an enjoyable holiday including Dilly. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellin...
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Luxury, Dog-Friendly Get-Away”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a luxury, dog-friendly get away, look no further. Water Meadows Cottage is beautifully appointed and just oozes class. The whole place has been really carefully put together and the attention to detail in the décor and furnishings is evident throughout.

We were looking for mid-week get away to chill out and relax, especially after a busy Xmas. We also wanted something that was dog-friendly and, preferably, with a hot tub. Water Meadows Cottage delivered on every front. From the moment, we arrived we felt welcome, from towels and treats for our dog and the tea, coffee and biscuits for us humans. Immediate impressions were fabulous; warm, cosy and very fresh. This was definitely a place to stay and enjoy the facilities. The large 50” TV was a definite hit and Wi-Fi is fast and reliable.

The garden is very private, which was ideal when using the, clean, modern, hot tub. Despite being attached to the owner’s property, not once did we feel our privacy was intruded. In fact, we only bumped into our charming hosts (Karen and Mark) on our last day.

Maiden Newton itself is fairly self-contained. A couple of local stores (plus a Supermarket/Petrol Station) and a pub in the village, mean that there is really no need to drive anywhere. There are several really good dog walks nearby, including a River walk towards nearby Cattistock (which again has a great dog friendly pub, The Fox and Hounds), but it is also a great base to get to nearby attractions (Lulworth Cove, Portland Bill, Weymouth etc.).

So in conclusion, a lovely place to stay, in a well situated Dorset country village that pampers not only humans, but our four-legged friends also.
Thanks Karen and Mark. We hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2017
Thank you so much for a great review, we're glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M
1 review
“Absolutely loved it from Start to end.”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Clean tidy cottage everything that you needed, Great for pets a secure garden and my dog loved the doggy basket full of toys and doggy treats he sniffed out, people so friendly and local pub which is just minutes away serves lovely food too and dog friendly, lots of lovely places to go and see.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
We're glad you enjoyed the cottage and the local area. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
beaver461
Whalley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Part of the Country”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cottage is perfect for couples with dogs for long walks and peace and quiet, it is very well equipped and very modern and comfortable, we will definitely be coming back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie C
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, very dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cottage was amazing in every sense. Catering really well for dogs. Cottage is of a very high standard. Very well equipped with everything to hand.
The hot tub outside in a lovely private but secure garden. Again perfect for dogs, but equally perfect for those romantic evenings with loved ones in the hot tub or sat in the garden.

Beds were really comfortable with nice on suite bathrooms. Even bath robes are available if wanted.

Area was lovely, and the village very friendly. The local pub served good food and again very dog friendly. Locals were very welcoming and helpful.

The owners were on hand if needed and again very helpful. The owners have spent a lot of time and thought into making this property perfect for a relaxing holiday.
Will certainly be booking up again for another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad you had a great holiday and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing