We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice looking place but downfalls” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulkington
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice looking place but downfalls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights bed and breakfast in september.After pulling up to this hotel i thought wow grounds were nice and well cared for hotel was very nice looking and the inside was also superb and my room was great huge bed,then it came to evening meal 3 menus not alot on none but i chose starter chicken goujons and side salad chicken was frozen and salad was covered in olive oil not nice,then main was fillet steak with all the trimmings frozen chips included the sauce that i chose was peppercorn which was very salty in fact over my stay i tried all 3 sauces and all very salty ,breakfast was ok but evening meal for the rest of my stay was not as good as i thought it would be and the chefs soup of the day was parsnip for 4 days (not sure but i thought it might change daily)so all in all hotel and rooms and grounds are very nice but food not so good and beer was 3.70 a pint which forced me to walk 10 mins into bulkington village and have a few drinks there which is a lot cheaper. If the food was better here this place would be superb so until then i will choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewg10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    184
    81
    48
    19
See reviews for
69
194
16
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife, 14 month old and I stayed for two nights for my sister in law's wedding. The first issue was that although they give us a room with cot space they wouldn't provide a cot for health and safety reasons? Luckily we checked this prior and have our own travel cot. The room was very clean, but looks dated with dark wood furniture. It wasnt to our tastes but perfectly adequate, the bed was big and comfortable and all three of us slept very well. The room was also very quiet and we heard none of the function on the Friday or the end of the wedding evening celebration on Saturday, despite the proximity of the room to the function area. The room was very dark too thanks to the excellent blackout curtains ( something that no doubt helped our little one to sleep better). The breakfast was good, there being a nice selection of fruits, juice and cereals as well as full English. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and there are some nice touches. Free wifi throughout the building and twinnings tea in the room. The shower in our room didnt seem to have a lot of pressure. Drinks prices are high but standard for hotels although spirit and mixer at £4.60 seems a little steep. I notice there is another recent review that mentions a sewage smell. We agree as I think were there at the same time. It was a drainage issue that they were working on.

Overall we were happy with our stay, it's not spectacular but at £70 B&B per night we wouldn't complain. A well run hotel that's in need of modernisation.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Superted1396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here on a KGB deal for 2 nights so for what we paid I was more than happy with the room and the breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning which were both excellent. The meal in the restaurant on the Friday night from the normal menu was also superb and the waitress for the evening was attentive, helpful and v friendly.My only grumble is the bar prices which were extremely high and led us to go out to find a local pub to drink (£7.90 for a pint of cider/pint of Worthington).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

After just having stayed there for a 2 night break the bedroom we had was clean and the bathroom was ok once you got to know how the shower worked. My only complaint was the smell of the drains both outside and inside especially in the reception area. The smell continued up to the second floor. This hotel has great potential once they address the problems it has.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 407lilypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear 407lilypops,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, I am pleased to say that the mentioned issue has been resolved for both ourselves and several other local venues. I hope that we may see you back again in the future.


Ian Bednall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here on 4th August for a 2 night voucher break. We were given room 32, a very small twin room with only enough room to open the drawers about 4” so we had to slip our clothes in and out. The bathroom is adequate with a small bath. Both rooms had mouldy, metal single glazed windows with dirty net curtains and even though the windows were left open the glass was full of condensation.
The Saturday evening wedding reception could not be heard from the room or the lounge areas. The bar was poorly stocked with a few electric beers but had no cider on offer at all. The lounge was comfortable if quite dark and cold.
After our early morning walk we were shown into the wedding breakfast room even though we said we were not one of the party. This was a little uncomfortable as we were asked which side of the family we were on! On leaving we saw other guest eating in the dining room and so decided to complain to the man on reception, saying that when we arrived we were shown the dining room and told that this was where we would be eating, he just shrugged his shoulders.
We requested peppermint tea for breakfast, the waitress brought ordinary! We asked twice more, finally she said they did not have any, however, the food was cooked fresh and very nice.
We were shown into the dining room on the second morning but seemed to be given his and her sized plates of food, very strange!
Reception on the second morning was another young man who was much more pleasant.
Morning papers were available to read but overall a ‘Poor Best Western’.

Room Tip: If needing a twin room do not accept room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear MargaretP 49,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Ian Bednall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel has such potential but feels so unloved and the staff need some training in customer care and service!
We ate sandwiches at 2.30pm in the lounge and when we returned to the lounge at 6.30pm the dirty plates with leftover food were still there! No wonder there were flies buzzing round. There's very rarely anyone on the bar, so you have to ring the bell on reception to ask someone to come and serve you! Heaven help you if it's one receptionist as he doesn't smile or make eye contact and is borderline rude. The waitress in the dining room is so lovely and friendly but is a little ditsy to say the least, at breakfast she took our order for toast and finally brought it to us half an hour later when we'd finished eating everything despite us asking for it. The breakfast is pretty poor, over salted and either over or undercooked. We ate in the restaurant one evening and 8 hours later my husband had a very upset stomach which still hasn't completely cleared 2 days later, thank goodness i didnt eat the pink, mushy sausage i was served at breakfast or I'd probably be feeling the same! Good luck with the shower, the water only trickles out of it! The outside of the hotel would be beautiful if it wasn't for the cigarette ends everywhere and dirty cups all over the tables. For goodness sake sort out a designated smoking area with the correct bins! There is NO information in the hotel at all to tell you what you could do in the surrounding area, thank goodness for the friendly waitress who sent us to nearby Kenilworth for a lovely day.
Don't bother with the 'Ssh we are sleeping' sign as housekeeping stand outside your room chatting anyway in very loud voices. This was after being woken by the fire alarm at 7am and a road sweeper going round the car park at 8am!
Such a shame that a hotel with such potential appears to be the Best Western version of Fawlty Towers!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a beautiful four poster, sadly people walk past it day and night and it's next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylietoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Kylie Toft,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, on behalf of our entire team i would like to appologise for not exeeding your expectations.

I can assure you that the feed back you gave us both in person at the hotel and in your review is most important to us and will be used to help implement improvements for the future in all the areas mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I would like to say a big thankyou to all the staff and at this Hotel for making my Stay on an Intensive training course so much more nicer. If it wasnt for them i think this training event would have driven me mad lol! Joanne on the Bar thankyou for putting up with us night after night it was a pleasure to have met you and you are a credit to the hotel. I wish you well for the future. Also a big thankyou to Michelle(Tenerife) Little Michelle( go luck with the move), Karis ( sorry if spelt wrong), Charlotte, Genavive, and well everyone that made my three weeks of nightmare training much more relaxed. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but its warmer upstairs due to the heat rising and some rooms are at atic level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkeybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear clarkeybloke,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulkington
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Nuneaton/Coventry Hotel
8.4 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nuneaton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel
Address: Weston Lane, Bulkington, Nuneaton CV12 9RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton > Bulkington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bulkington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coventry
Coventry Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing