We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family friendly B&B”
Review of St George's Court

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grantley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St George's Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grantley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic family friendly B&B”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

St.Georges Court is a family run B&B located on a working farm. The setting is just outside the small village of Grantley and is very quiet. The accomodations are in the (fabulously rennovated) former stables of the farm around a courtyard and are generously sized and well appointed. The standard of the furniture and fittings, especially the bathrooms is very high. The family / staff that run St.Georges court are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room and common area are spacious and very well kept. Breakfast choice and quality is outstanding. One of the best cooked breakfasts I have ever had - and the scrambled eggs probably the best. The location near Ripon is very handy for Fountains Abbey and other local attractions.

We stayed for two nights, and will certainly be back to St. Georges court at Grantey.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are very nice, 5 slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohanSl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I really can't improve on the reviews already posted. Lindsey and team are great hosts and we enjoyed our 2 night stay immensely. The little extra touches were most welcome (eg homemade flapjacks and a great range of beverages on the hospitality tray, "proper" bottles of toiletries in the bathroom, the towel rail being heated in the early evening to ensure warm, dry towels - useful in dull, damp July!). The rates are excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filisur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have never before felt the need to buy a B&B host flowers to them them for their service, but I did here! Lindsey and her team (and family!) went above and beyond the call of duty with a few dramas that happened to us whilst in the area and were completely flexible with all of our needs, including finding last minute accommodation for friends at 11pm, lending us their BBQ so we could sit in the beautiful sunny court yard to eat our dinner whilst the children were asleep in their room, even lending us a pram when the tyres burst on ours! Just wonderful service which could not be faulted. And I can't even start to say how wonderful the breakfast was - because I will run out of space! I am hopeful that we can find an excuse to come back because I just can not fault the place for service, clean rooms, price and comfort. Thank you from me, my own family and my friends and their family who all ended up staying!!!

Room Tip: It is worth booking the family room, even if travelling with no family. It has a lot more room in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hankina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great service, very friendly and welcoming to our dog too. My sister lives nearby and therefore I have visited several times. This bed and breakfast is a real find. The owners are friendly and accommodating and the breakfast is very good. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower is great. I have visited as a cyclist and they were able to find a safe space for my bike - and (on another occasion) as a dog-owner and they welcomed her too. Lovely walks nearby and handy for Nidderdale, Ripon, Pately Bridge, Brimham Rocks and Fountains Abbey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have been visiting now for a good few years and the service is consistently good, on this occasion it was in February 2012 and snowing which did not deter Lindsey and her family from giving us the warm welcome and friendly service we have come to expect, the rooms, breakfast and cosy atmosphere is what brings us back year after year.
Whilst there we drove to Thirsk and hopped on the train to York for a days retail therapy,then a walk around Brimham Rocks before driving to Ripon for an evening meal.
It was to early to see the baby bunnies, pigs, peacocks and sheep who where undercover for winter,but in the spring summer months you get a real sense of the countryside with a hive of activity.

Room Tip: have stayed in all the rooms , whist slightly different all have the same good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have returned to stay at St George's Court several times which speaks for itself. Excellent rooms including great bathrooms, superb food and friendly service. The location is very close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site which is open all year, unlike other National Trust properties.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4jasmine56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Just returned from an unfortunately brief stay at St Georges Court. We visited Lightwater Valley nearby (10-15 mins) and needed a room for a night for myself , wife and three kids. (6,4 and 7 months) St Georges Court was in a great locations and the host's were great in making us all feel very welcome. They gave us tips on local activities for the kids and where and when we could get supper . The morning after the stay the weather was terrible and they recommended nearby pools with slide flumes and activities to keep us all entertained.. A great stay and would recommend. Thanks.

Room Tip: Family room - Double bedroom with adjacent twin for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bairdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantley
4.9 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
460 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,268 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
650 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
813 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George's Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George's Court

Property: St George's Court
Address: Old Home Farm | High Grantley, Ripon, North Yorkshire, Grantley HG4 3PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Grantley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grantley
Hotel Class:4 star — St George's Court 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
St Georges Court Ripon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing