We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molly why bother”
Review of Hillfield House

Hillfield House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillfield House
Ranked #1 of 1 Swannington B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and did not feel welcome at all. Molly could not be bothered we asked for breakfast at 7 one morning and she did nothing but moan that it was very early. The tv is very small and you have to be under 5 feet tall to fit in the shower. We are going back to the area in a weeks time but will not be staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pwess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at this b&b in 2008 as we were visiting our sons wedding. The room was freezing cold and the bed was far too soft and lumpy.The owner chap was very abrupt and had a lot to say when my daughter left her bacon at breakfast. We'd ordered a full english and there he was lecturing us on the state of the starving kids in Africa. We paid good money for the breakfast, which i might add was delicious,but to be treated like children was very insulting. We now wished we'd stayed at the Charnwood Arms which some other relatives stayed at and thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janen685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms and batroom were clean. The breakfast was alright. The TV was really small. However, we didn't feel welcome. Molly is unpleasant, really brusque. Her husband was welcoming but unfortunately we didn't feel confortable and we do not wish to come back.

Room Tip: Unpleasant welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mei p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We had a lovely twin room with a lovely view over the gardens. Both Molly and her husband were very friendly and helpful. Everything about Hillfield House is way above its price range. Couldn't fault it in any way.

Room Tip: Number 3 overlooks the rear garden, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onyerbikeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed overnight at Hillfield and found both Molly and her husband to be welcoming and freindly. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was immaculate, pristine and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Would recommend this B & B to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise1965_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed here overnight whilst on a business trip, and nothing was too much trouble. I needed breakfast early and that was no problem. The room was immaculate, pristine clean, and yet cosy and inviting. The ensuite was spotless and fresh. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here with family. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was decent. But the whole experience was let down by Molly. Somehow you felt like you were inconveniencing her just by being there and we did not feel welcome the whole time we stayed. Her manner was brusque. Her husband was very friendly and welcoming but unfortunately for us the whole stay left a bad taste in our mouths and we would definitely not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tandala75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swannington
1.3 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Coalville
122 reviews
4.6 mi away
Breedon Hall
Breedon Hall
#1 of 1 in Breedon on the Hill
87 reviews
4.1 mi away
Champneys Springs Health Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Smithy Studio Bed & Breakfast
Smithy Studio Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ashby de la Zouch
69 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#1 of 2 in Belton
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillfield House

Address: 52 Station Hill, Swannington LE67 8RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Swannington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Swannington
Price Range: $90 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing