We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pink beach and dragons”
Review of Top Komodo Tours

Top Komodo Tours
Ranked #19 of 176 Tours in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: PT. Top Komodo Tours is a highly recommended local Tour Agency for touring around Flores & Komodo Indonesia.
Reviewed February 3, 2016

We read somewhere online that the main attraction on Komodo Island were dragon lizards and little was mentioned about pink beach and its amazing snorkeling. We actually liked the pink beach better than the lizards. This was literally like swimming in an aquarium colorful fish all around you within arm's reach. Water was crystal clear and refreshingly cold.

The dragon lizards were exciting too. We saw 8 of them. They were large and scary roaming wild with other animals like wild boar and deer as the whole island is a national park. Our tour guide Andy was friendly, talked about the island and provided a delicious lunch on the boat that included the ripest mango I've ever eaten. Thank you!

We recommend Top Komodo tours.

Thank 723worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

Thank you very much your review for our product service given to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cruise ship"
in 17 reviews
"pink beach"
in 51 reviews
"cruise critic"
in 4 reviews
"paper work"
in 3 reviews
"komodo tour"
in 9 reviews
"manta rays"
in 17 reviews
"manta point"
in 11 reviews
"organised tour"
in 3 reviews
"national park"
in 9 reviews
"private boat"
in 6 reviews
"great tour"
in 6 reviews
"day tour"
in 7 reviews
"indonesian lunch"
in 2 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 4 reviews
"huge turtles"
in 2 reviews
"watering hole"
in 2 reviews
"noodles"
in 4 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2016

Our guided tour of Komodo National Park was the best organized and conducted out of the 6 tours we participated in various Indonesian locations thanks mainly to the tour operator, Richard Bon. Our group of 10 from our cruise ship were greeted at the Komodo Island Jetty and right away we knew we were in good hands due to the clear and concise explanations about what we were going to see and do in the National Park. Seeing the dragons in their natural habitat, guided by experts, was a wonderful experience.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Lily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

We thank you for your review our service in trip advisor. hopefully this review will become the main guideline for other travelers to use our tour service.
Thanks and Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2016

Booked on line. There was a little communication problem but it was worth being persistent to get a tour well below the cruise ship price and with a great guide. Later we learned that Richard is working to upgrade his computer. We were glad to support this local fisherman's tour company. We met our group on Komodo Island at a gazebo a short distance from the pier where our tender let us off. Immediately, even with a downpour, we saw some Komodo Dragons walking along in the distance. Once all were accounted for, we hiked along the trail at a leisurely pace. Richard answered lots of questions about fauna and flora. About an hour into the walk we came to a watering hole where the dragons hunt. There were numerous beasts lolling about. It was too cool for them to move, because, as reptiles, their body heat depends on the sun and weather. There was at least one deer among the dragons but it was safe because of the temperature. Ditto for the tourists we observed in other groups who couldn't resist getting right up to a dragon with a camera.

1  Thank nova4traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2016

Thank you for your review about our given service to you. your satisfaction is our pride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2016

We met our co-ordiantor in the art gallery on the ship and went ashore in the earliest groups. Once ashore, we assembled in one of the National Park buildings and left our bags at one of the buildings. We only needed to take water. Sunscreen and mosquito repellent was recommended but we did not encounter any mosquitos on our walk and we had applied sunscreen before we left the ship. Our guide took us through the park with two rangers. The paths were level sand and gravel so it was easy walking. As we left the administration area, we immediately saw a large Komodo Dragon sleeping under a building and we all got pictures. The day was forecast to be 104F but most of the walk was in shade through the woods and with a moderate breeze so it was tolerable. We saw two more Komodos, relaxing in heavy brush under the trees and got some more pictures. Soon, we approached an area with an artificial water hole and there were 3 large Komodo dragons there that provided a great picture opportunity. The water attracts other animals and the dragons are there to prey on them. Our guide provided a good English narrative about the dragons and their life cycle as well as explaining the trees and birds in the area. Our waking tour lasted 1.5 hours and brought us back to a long pier where we boarded a wooden boat to take us to the village.

After a short cruise, we landed in the local village and were immediately beset by children and adults trying to sell us various carved Komodo dragons. Some were good and some not so good but we decided to buy one that was about a foot long. Bargaining was the order of the day and we paid less than 50% of the initial asking price. After the 20 minute village visit, we boarded our boat and cruised to pink beach (from pink coral) on another island. Our group of 20 was a bit more than the lower deck of the boat could accommodate so we sat in chairs up on the roof of the cabin. We thought it would be too hot but there was a good breeze and it was quite comfortable. We could see the scenery much better from up there.

A tasty buffet lunch of various kinds of fried seafood, chicken, rice and pasta was served on the boat along with cold water and fruit (bananas, watermellon and pineapple). After lunch, we arrived at Pink Beach and were briefed on snorkeling. There were only 2 cabins and a bathroom in which to change so it would have been better to have been wearing our bathing suits but we all managed. Some people decided not to go ashore and snorkel. For those with mobility problems, including obesity, the transfer to a smaller boat to go to the beach and disembarking from that boat was a problem. At age 70 and overweight, we managed but it was difficult. Snorkeling gear was provided but we had brought our own and borrowed fins from tour. The water was pleasently cool compared with the pool on the ship and we enjoyed 1.5 hours of snorkeling. We were cautioned against venturing out too far because of difficult currents. The water was clear and there were a few small fish but it was by no means a world class reef. Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable swim in a lovely setting. The local boat got us back to the pier and it was about 1/2 mile walk down the pier and across the sand to where the tenders picked us up. We were on tour a total of 5 hours. The ship offered this same itinerary as 2 tours, the walk with the dragons and the village and pick beach, without lunch and snorkeling gear at 3 times the price. Our tour staff was friendly and helpful. We were very satisfied with the experience.

3  Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Thank you very much for all your positive comments about our given service to you during your visit on Komodo island by cruise ship. We are very happy to hear about it. And your happiness and satisfaction during your visiting to our island is our big pride. we also thank you that you've taken your trip on Komodo island with local people. we are really proud to serve you and hope to advertise our island and our service to any body you know who want to plan coming to komodo island by next cruise ship. Thanks for being part of our customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

Booked this trip online well before my cruise to the island and couldn't fault them in any way.the price I paid for doing both these sites was worth the money and nothing was paid till we got there.rep was waiting when we got off the tender to the island then waited for other people to join till we walked round komodo national park. Then from there we where taken to a typical village which was good to see how the people live..then onto pink beach where I found it was some of the best snorkeling I have ever done..was even given lunch on the boat which was excellent. So high praise for this tour company..from start to finish email sent to me detailing exactly what I needed and what I needed to do..If your ever planning on visiting here I couldn't tell you enough to use this company ..

1  Thank johnhardcastle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2016

Thank you very much for your great impression about the tour you have had with us on Komodo island. we are very happy to hear about that from you. we also thank you for trusted us as a local tour operator to arrange your trip during your visit at komodo island by cruise ship.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Komodo Tours also viewed

 

Been to Top Komodo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing