We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and excellent friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed here for two nights just before Christmas and was delighted with the value and service. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed (despite what it says in LP !) and the hotel enjoys a beautiful location just above the town of Labuanbajo, but still near enough to walk down easily. For the return trip up the hill, it's easy to get an ojek (motorbike taxi). When I stayed, the restaurant was in the middle of being rebuilt so the food offerings were very limited but still tasty. Will definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 599 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

Beautiful rooms set on the hilltop (obviously) above the pleasant chaos of Labuan Bajo, yet it's a short and easy walk from the hustle and bustle of the town. I'd definitely recommend spending a little extra and taking a room at the top of the complex, as you're even shaded from other guests. Staff are polite and meet one's every need, and the two Dutch lady owners are kind, accommodating and helpful. Perfectly located for scuba diving the Komodo National Park. Breakfast is plenty, and the freshly baked bread, delicious. Highly recommended and easily the best in Labuan Bajo.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed just two nights, on either end of a little dive trip. We booked directly through the hotel website, and the owners were very quick and responsive with email. They provided a free pickup from the airport, which we very much appreciated, and the vibe was casual, warm and welcoming. The restaurant/reception area is full of personal picture albums and educational info about the area, and it's obvious the owners are there because they appreciate the island. I thought before I arrived that I might end up wishing I had planned more time on Flores, and after our stay up there, I definitely wish we would have.

The rooms are spare but attractive, and the views from the balconies are awesome. Plenty of space inside and out. In addition to their included breakfast, which starts early in the morning, they also leave a carafe of hot water with some tea and instant coffee on the terrace table. A nice touch.

Now for the less-than-great part--the stairs! I had somehow imagined the "Hilltop" part of the name related more to the march up the road than the march up the property stairs. The walk up the hill from town to the hotel isn't actually bad at all, and it puts you in a much more peaceful place than anywhere we saw in town. But the stairs at the hotel are killer, especially if you are, like we were, carrying some 60 lbs. each of bulky, awkward dive gear, or if one of your party is prone to sore knees. Up is hard, down is just plain scary! Some of the stairs are steep, others are shallow, and there's not always a place to put a steadying hand. Fortunately, there's always someone, be it staff or bemo driver's kid, who's willing to lend a hand. We had the highest rooms. If I were bringing that kind of luggage again, I'd ask for a lower room--the climb to those isn't bad at all.

Given that, I think this would still be my top pick for a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wateryrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We booked the hotel through www.itravelindonesia.com. We paid USD 32 for Superior Double. The hotel is basic facilities but enough. The restaurant have a good serve for seafood cooky and serving was ok.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lubax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is an excellent place to stay when you visit Labuanbajo. Lots of positives, and just a couple of negatives.

Positives include the rooms, which are well cooled, clean, and have great sunset views. The newer rooms are higher, beautifully finished, and have hot water, although it must be said that the cold water in the older rooms is really lukewarm, being stored in a holding tank in full sunlight.

Other positives are the welcome and service you get here, the quality and price of the food, and the ability of the hotel to organise your trips out to Komodo and Rinca (we chose Rinca and are really pleased that we did so). They also arranged our transport from Maumere through the interior of Flores.

Clues to the negatives are in the name of the hotel. It's on a small hill at the edge of town. The walk down into town is fine; it takes around 10 minutes to get to the main road where the Bemos run past. The walk back up takes longer, particularly at hot times of the day, at night, or after rain. You can sometimes get Bemos to go up the hill from town, at a cost of only Rp30k, but not always.

The second negative related to the hilltop site is that there is unfortunately no room for a pool.

Overall I wouldn't recommend the Golo Hilltop to anyone with mobility problems, and for that matter neither would I recommend Flores! But for other travellers I think it's a really good value option. We greatly enjoyed the 5 nights we spent there.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Perfect hotel in Labuan Bajo, not in the centre, but doesn't really matter as the "city" itself is a dump. Book the new rooms. Good value for the price and the hotel has a perfect & very cheap restaurant. The hotel is run but two Dutch friends and made it into a good location to stay for a few days and visit Rinca (forget about Komodo - Rinca is far better) and excellent !! diving.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hub-Christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I have stayed at Golo hilltop mant times over the last five years, but have also tried many other hotels in Labuanbajo.
Golo is outstanding for many reasons.
It is quiet! Labuan can be very noisy with motor bikes and mosque music, but Golo, being a short walk from town avoids that.
The renovated top rooms are very luxurious and still not expensive.
The food is to die for, especially the fish buffets and the home -made bread.
The staff are very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble for them. It is my home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieldmouseAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
2.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
495 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#14 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
351 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
277 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range: $37 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing