We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place to stay in Labuan Bajo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay in Labuan Bajo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

we stayed at the golo hill hotel for a night in march after a diving trip ( 2 kids and 2 adults). We had a beautiful view on the sea from our bedroom. the rooms are comfortable and clean, and it is pleasant to have a swim in the pool ( towels provided) after a hot day. Ingrid and Judith are really helpful, and friendly. the staff is really nice. there is no restaurant in the hotel but there is a nice one which is a walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Correzegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    174
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
92
272
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pressbaum, Austria
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent a week touring the beautiful island of Flores and the Golo Hilltop was by far the best accommodation we had. Outstanding view, well maintained rooms, and friendly service – all is perfect. The only negative thing worth mentioning is that the breakfast is really small – make sure you are planning an early lunch!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolofromaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We unfortunately only stayed here for one night after our cruise but would have loved to stay longer! Our room was really nice and clean and very spacious with an AWESOME view over the ocean and some islands. The hotel is very well maintained and has a beautiful pool with sun loungers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Ingrid and Judith are great hosts and they went out of their way to make our stay extremely pleasurable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed twice before and after a diving liveaboard. Our first stay was excellent - we were in one of the top rooms and had a breathtaking view from our balcony. Our second stay, we were in the furthest room on the bottom, so we heard road noise and the wi-fi didn't work. Despite the two different types of rooms, they're all very spacious and impeccably clean, in fact, very similar in standard.

The main reason to stay here: the view, the view, the view. Everything else is a cherry on top. There's nothing better than the view while relaxing at the pool - literally one of the most lovely places to relax ever. We really enjoyed full mornings or afternoons at the pool. It's a bit of a walk into town, but they can also call cheap taxis to take you down.

The restaurant is good with a basic menu. Everything we had was tasty and the dining room was a nice place to spend the evening surfing the internet with a beer. It does get a bit hectic at dinner time and the receptionist/waiter is quite busy.

We enjoyed this friendly place and think it's perfect for Labuan Bajo. Recommend!

Room Tip: The rooms on top have a better view. Closer to the restaurant have a stronger wi-fi signal. Avoid ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gringa220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The owner helped us to organize an excellent cruise to Komodo National Park and was extremely accommodating of our needs. As the other reviews indicate, the hotel is not fancy, but clean and comfortable with great views over the harbour and a very nice atmosphere. Walking to town is easy during the day since you're going downhill. It's not a difficult walk uphill but the heat may sap your energy. At night, it's rather dark to feel comfortable walking with traffic coming around the road bends at times. Ojaks (motorcycle taxis) are easy to get from town at night. A little gem of a place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank africat544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel with stunning ocean views, quiet serenity and pleasant family atmosphere. Judith and Ingrid are two very friendly Dutch women who run the place very well indeed. Golo is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walkable distance (15 minutes to the center of Labuan Bajo, 20-25 minutes back because of the hill).

The hotel is well managed and all the staff seems very good. The rooms, like the hotel are nothing fancy but the beds are comfortable, come with a fan, good air con and a mosquito net. There are stairs to hotel and a variety of levels of stairs to different rooms. Our deluxe room (#7) was in the far top right corner of the property. Each room has a little porch which is great to sit out on and enjoy the view.

The pool (also with a view and with additional towels) is very clean and comfortable.

The breakfast was simple yet tasty. The pineapple pancakes were especially good. Ingrid advised us to visit Paradise Bar & Restaurant and buffet dinner with fresh grilled Barracuda was simply delicious (15.01.2014).

Judith and Ingrid were always available to help and advice. They were so kind to arrange our accommodation in Kanawa Island Resort and transfer from the airport to Kanawa Resort office in Labuan Bajo. It was helpful as our flight was slightly delayed and we really afraid of being late. The hotel charges you one way transport pick up 50,000 IDR. Same charge applies from hotel to airport.

Golo is a nice oasis in Labuan Bajo and was by far the best value place to stay. We paid 550,000.00 IDR per night for a deluxe triple room (inclusive TAX and service charge). Ranking #1 is completely justified. No hesitations in recommending it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel is stunning. Superbly managed and extremely well organised. Rooms at the bottom have recently been refurbished so there is AC and fan in each and windows straight out to gorgeous view of the bay. Nice little touches are appreciated. For example - coffee comes in "filter pots" - the ones with a plunger so you don't get gloopy goo at the bottom of the cup like you do in other places around these beautiful isles. There was always enough milk for coffee and for giving a glass to the children. Bread was fresh, always enough towels etc. This place is top notch and managed by professionals who know what a tourist / guest / visitor needs and wants. Customer is first. Stunning views, lovely clean rooms, help when you need it but no hassle. Professional local manager in restaurant. We loved this place and Labuan Bajo. Go quickly before the whole island is brought up by Italians !!!!!

Room Tip: Bottom rooms are now as comfortable as top rooms. View is slightly better from top and more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
3.2 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#8 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#9 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#12 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing