We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lush pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we stayed here for one night after our liveaboard and it was okay. The pool area is the best bit about this place and we loved chilling out there!

the rooms are basic but clean, no hot water though!

the walk from town at night is very dark so take a torch, there is no transport at night apart from motorbikes! its an uphill walk!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 589 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

A bit of a walk from the city (10 mins), but thats well worth it. And also makes it a quiet place, no noise from traffic or the Mosque. And near to paradise bar, which is a good place to for a drink. Nice swimming pool and ability to sunbathe, can be a bit busy though, it's relatively small

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarioOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

this is the horrible hotel i've been stayed so far...i can't believe that the hotels staff is looking for their guest as a money tree! if you are a western people, they will serve you like a king (however, some of the guest is backpacker also that only stayed for 1 night then continue their trip by chartered boat like we did). you know what did i do when i left, i give Rp. 100.000 tip for 1 of the hotels staff and suddenly everybody just smile and greet us. most of all, i am not gonna coming back to this hotel. i'd rather stay in the boat or jungle then stayed in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Golo Hilltop is a beautiful place at a fantastic location in Labuan Bajo. The hotel ist a little out of the village, so you need to have a ~ 30 min walk into ce "center" - but on the other hand it has a spectacular view (since it is located on a "Hill Top" :)) and is very quite compared to all the other places at the main road of Labuan Bajo and close to the mosques.. though you may still hear a lizard on your veranda or the signal from the ferry or a fisherboat in the bay that partly seem to be running with something that sounds rather like a machinegun... :)
Furthermore it is just next to the Paradise Bar, which is very nice place with live music (cover songs -> Bob Marley meets Pink Floyd) to have a drink in the evening or have dinner.

The rooms or bungalows respectively are basic but very tastefully furnished, with a nice bathroom (hot water), AC and a very pretty veranda. Particularly the Deluxe Room, which has the even better view, is more remotely set on the site and is a bit more spacious.

Ingrid and Judith, who run that place, are absolutely outstanding! Not only their hospitality and friendlyness was fantastic, they also helped us with every question we had for and during our stay and rest of the journay over Flores! At a lot of other places (also a lot more expensive ones) it was very difficult to find somebody that could or was willing to help - but no problem at all at the Golo!

The swimming pool is beautiful, breakfast is pretty good, you get free Wifi (it will not cover your room, but at least in the restaurant) and the staff is usually also quite attentive.

We can highly recommend that place - top value!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I agree with @MOT99 - book ASAP to avoid disappointment. We booked months in advance, but found our first dates unavailable. Fortunately, our second dates were available. My boyfriend and I stayed in a Delux room at Golo for 2 nights after a 5D/4N diving safari and were glad we spent the extra money to stay here. The included breakfast was served in the restaurant, which is also where wi/fi is available. The pool is spectacular - as are the views from the pool deck, and the rooms. The friendly staff arranged our scooter rental ($8US/24hrs), made recommendations for dinner, and booked our massage at Yayasan Ayo Mandiri Massage. The only cons we found were: (1) the noise from the boats in the harbour, which cannot be avoided in Labuan Bajo; (2) Golo is a 20+min walk to the main street. Note that this hotel is not wheelchair accessible as there are stairs up to reception, pool and the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up have spectacular views of the sunset!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moniquers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A great base to explore Flores from. It's a small 10 bedroom hotel and the quality of service we received outshone much larger hotels we have stayed at.

Ingrid and Judith were amazing hosts. Theyorganised our trip to Rinca and the Komodo islands for us and only use boats that they have used before and can recommend. When we arrived at the harbour our boat was by far the best and the crew were great and spoke good English so we didn't need an English speaking guide. Allowing Golo to book our trip took the hassle out of us organising it ourselves and we knew what we were getting. Golo also provided towels, snorkeling gear and extra toilet rolls for our boat trip!

The Golo rooms were lovely and clean. Nice sized bathrooms supplied with shampoo and bodywash. They provide safes in each room and tea and coffee is provided on your balcony with hot water each morning for your morning tea or coffee which you can drinki watching the wonderful views of the bay below.

Food was great and very reasonable, and the bread rolls at breakfast, along with homemade jam were to die for! The children loved the freshly made fruit juices and we just ate at Golo restuarant. Bemo taxis could be used to get into town (Golo will order one for you) or you can hire a motor bike for 75,000 per day. Or walk, it isn't too far.

We used the laundry service 10,000 rupiah per kilo (about 70p) which was great. Unlike local hotels that charged 25,000 rupiah per shirt.

As per other reviews it's in a beautiful location with spectacular views from the restuarant, pool and your balcony. We stayed in the deluxe rooms with mattresses on the floor for our two children. The rooms were large enough that we didn't feel cramped at all.

Unfortunately we couldn't stay for our whole trip at Golo hilltop as it was high season when we visited and we'd left it late to book. Don't make this mistake, you cannot find a better hotel on this part of the island. We had to stay at one of the three large hotels on the beach nearby and were very disappointed after Golo. That hotel wasn't a patch on Golo and three times the price!

So if you're thinking of going to Flores, look no further, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe rooms 7 and 10. Both were large rooms, although 10 was slightly bigger (not by m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

As others already wrote, this is an excellent option to stay in Labuan Bajo. My husband and I stayed there in July in a double AC room with hot water and it was large, clean and comfortable; good quality bed, bed linen and towels; fantastic view from the terrace; safe in the room; good breakfast; free wifi in lobby/restaurant.
But what I’d like to point out is the great service we had from the two very kind and friendly Dutch owners in planning and booking a trip in Flores from Labuan Bajo to Maumere. We e-mailed them and they answered promptly: they arranged a good English-speaking driver (Gabriel) and booked for us all the accommodations and boat trip we wanted, for a really good price! When we arrived there, everything worked really good, also thanks to Piter, who was always very helpful in assisting us .
I recommend everyone to stay in this hotel and to book in advance especially in high season if one wants the best accommodation in Flores and surely Judith and Ingrid are very reliable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
2.7 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
477 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
86 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#14 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#11 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing