We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super views, very good food, basic comfortable accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Super views, very good food, basic comfortable accommodations”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is a very nice hotel with outstanding views, very good food, and basic accommodations. The rooms are somewhat spartan but have all of the basics that you need for a comfortable night's sleep. We stayed in a deluxe room at the top of the hill, which gave us a spectacular view. A nice touch was a drying rack for wet clothes, as many tourists come to the area for diving and snorkeling. We stayed here after spending a night on a boat while traveling to Komodo Island so we were grateful for a hot shower and a clean place to relax. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel and an equally nice breakfast the next morning.
We never met Judith but Ingrid was super nice and helpful. Also, the puppy is adorable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    183
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
106
282
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Golo Hilltop is a very nice hotel with wonderful views, good food, and clean rooms. We had two minor issues: our AC worked poorly and they didn't seem interested in improving the AC or allowing us to switch rooms, and the bed we had was extremely hard and quite uncomfortable to sleep on. We were in Room 9 and maybe the other beds and AC are better. We think this hotel is probably the best lodging option in Labuanbajo.

Additional note: if you need a boat, have a taxi drive you directly to the dock (do not go through a tour agency or any sort of a middle man unless you want to give them an approx. $1 million Rp/person hidden planning fee. Esp. do not pay Jak (in Lonely Planet) any money - he is a smooth talking scoundrel). Definitely hire a boat directly, it will save you approximately $1 million/person and you will get exactly the trip you want around Komodo.) Our very strong recommendation is to hire Captain Andry (+[--]). For a customized 3-day itinerary you should expect to pay no more than $3 million for 2 people. The boat is fine, the food is good and the crew is excellent. You are almost guaranteed to snorkel with Manta Rays with Captain Andry - we had the rays all to ourselves for 2 hours! We saw better boats and worse boats and feel he provides an excellent service. His English is decent enough to communicate and he wants you to have a great trip.

Room Tip: We were in Room 9 and maybe the other beds and AC are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenjolene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangshuo County, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a great stay in this hotel. The vieuw was so wonderful and the food was perfect. All the rooms have a balcony with nice seats and every morning and afternoon we had a fresh bottle of hot water for our free coffee and tea.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Booking a trip to Indonesia from the UK was at times difficult but Judith and Ingrid were incredibly helpful in pointing us in the right direction, helping us arrange our overland trip through Flores, accepting when we had to reduce our stay to one night at very short notice, booking us onto a new flight when we realised we had left our international connection too tight and welcoming us when we arrived at the hotel. Yes the track is bumpy but all the taxis go up it, the view is fantastic, the rooms clean and very comfortable, the breakfast delicious and we would have loved to have stayed longer. The atmosphere is calm, welcoming and it's a fun place. Just down the road is the new linked Paradise Bar which has what must be the best harbour and sunset view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed 1 night here; cute room in very colorful space. Great views, tasty breakfast, wonderfully quiet with fresh air. It's a short way out of town up a broken road(very dark at night) but worth it. Definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,073 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,209 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Based on the outskirts of Labuan Bajo - a short drive up a steep hill, the road is in terrible condition and requires a 4 wheel drive to get over the bumps and craters. Once there the views over the harbour and hills are impressive. Rooms are basic but have hot running water. The restaurant did not have much of a selection of food although what was served was surprisingly very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

OK, Golo Hiltop is not centrally located, (our driver who didn't know Labuhan Bajo and brought us there after dark almost refused to leave us at the entrance) but it is a very nice, relaxed place to stay. Spacious rooms where you can sit outside on your terrace, we had a safetybox in our room, cosy restaurant where you can also just sit and read or write. And in fact it was only a 15 minute walk to town (just a bit longer uphill), and it's not difficult to catch an ojek or charter a car.
Nice view, relaxed atmosphere, very clean, nice management.

to be recommended for a next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
2.7 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
435 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
265 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#12 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#9 of 41 in Flores
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golo Hilltop Hotel And Restaurant
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing