We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a lot of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Reviewed May 21, 2014

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. we agreed the pick up the day before via email, however on the day of the pick up we had to call them as they did not come and we had to wait 50 minutes and they did not even apologize. the customer service is very unprofessional and slowest (we do travel a lot and we have been in different levels of hotels and resorts).
they are probably cleaning restaurant only once a day as we noticed a tissue and some food on the floor in the afternoon and next day in the morning it was still there.
we arranged transport to the airport the day before- we confirmed twice, however on the next day same person who was dealing with us said, that he did not know about this. so they are not reliable at all.
breakfast is ok, however expect curry, rice, pasta not europan style.
the room is perfect - fridge, safety deposit box. pool is perfect and clean and there is unlimited use of kayaks and we enjoyed them every day.
you can rent a snorkelling gear for 80,000 idr per day. the beach upfront of the hotel is clean, however next to hotel is beach full of garbage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Indonesia. We stayed at the Sylvia because our Dive Center parked their boat next door at the dock and was a short 5 min walk every morning. The Sylvia is a fairly new hotel. The staff was awesome. The value for your room was great. We stayed beachfront, which was beachfront with the beach and sea right in front of us. I used the beach and I was one of the few guest there so I felt like I had the beach all to myself. The serenity of this hotel was topnotch. You don't have the noise of town or other resorts.

The downside of hotel. The road to get to the hotel is horrid. The road is a dirt road with more bumps and ditches from tires that it is truly awful to go down when you come from the airport or want to go to town. The hotel did supply a car to go to town but they charged you for the transport, I feel they should have given the transport complimentary.

I felt our room was not completely finished. The drywall in the bathroom was not taped and textured yet. Poor planning on the design of the rooms. There is no electric outlets in the bathroom, so girls, no hairdryer, no curling iron in the bathroom and that is where the mirror is located. There is also no place to put the soap in the shower, a soap dish would be nice.

Bring a clip on reading light because the lighting is not great to read at night. We have learned always to bring our clip on reading lights for our kindles. There is a safe, but it is not bolted down, so anyone could just walk off with the safe. We still used the safe and everything was safe.

The food was good and very reasonably priced. Our complimentary breakfast was not served until 7 a.m. We requested 6 a.m. because we left for our dive boat at 6:30 a.m. and the staff was very accommodating for the buffet breakfast. The internet is not very good. We could get the internet sometimes in the dining room only, you have to be patient.

There is a frig in the room and we used it to keep our water cold and put soft drinks in. Would I stay here again, probably, price was good and the food was decent. Only downside it is a way from town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funwarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely room, perfect view, very relaxing.

The staff were very accommodating, especially Ric who arranged the diving for us.

Room for improvement with the food, though. Proper cocktails and a chef who could introduce variety to the menu would be good.

Stunning sunset views, unlimited use of kayaks. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view! Well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in Sylvia Hotel and I loved it. The resort is very beautiful, with a private beach, a nice pool right on the beach, the whole resort is very modern, very clean... And Amazing sunset view. The only problems are that it is about 15 minutes from town (nothing around that you can walk to), so you are quite isolated and you have to eat there unless you hire a taxi to go to town (which usually costa 10$ return trip). For a couple days to relax it's perfect.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Joaniejp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

beautiful location right on the beach. Rooms are okay, shower didn't work properly. Swimming pool was broken down - water green. The breakfast buffet and restaurant menu could be improved greatly. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebenskuenstler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Spent five wonderful nights with my family in this gem of a hotel on one of our favourite beaches in Indonesia! As it was the low season we pretty much had the resort to ourselves! The pool and beach were but a few feet from our room (priceless!). We had unlimited access to the kayaks to paddle around the beautiful bay and the pool tables were a pleasant amenity for our children.

The rooms are basic but very functional: clean, quite (no mosque or roosters!) with hot water, TV's, and a safe.

We ate at the restaurant many times and found the food decent for the price. There's other restaurants around the resort at adjacent hotels where we also dined. Wifi is only in the restaurant area and it comes and goes.

Getting to and from the resort wasn't as bad as some of the reviews state. It's a 2km packed dirt road and the staff were happy to take us to town and back (50k rupiah each way). Ten minutes of bumps didn't seem too steep a price to pay for such a wonderful beach!

Last but not least, the staff were absolutely wonderful and really made our stay so memorable! Without exception staff greeted us with smiles everyday and were prompt and professional throughout our stay! Although their hospitality training was limited their effort and enthusiasm made up for it. We truly felt at home, especially the last night when the staff allowed us to plug in our iPod and play our favourite reggae tunes!

Only downside is the website. Tried to email them but never went through so try booking with Agoda. We had a great rate.

New airport is almost finished and the high end resorts are beginning to pop up on this beautiful bay. Go soon!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms close to the beach are fine. No need to spend the extra $ on a beachside room. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel N, Manager at Sylvia Resort Komodo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

thank you Artie we are working to fixed our website so that all email can get trough to our manager mobile phone so we can respond immediately. the road to the hotel will improved in the future because it is a municipal road and government will upgrade the road. like anywhere in indonesia, government act slowly but they will get things done.

cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful location on a private beach in a scenic cove with a small marina from where boats will collect you for trips to the islands.
The restaurant and bar area has 2 pool tables and patchy WiFi access - I had to go to a restaurant in LB to book a flight on line. As mentioned in other reviews the road to the hotel is real a concern when it has rained heavily as it will in the rainy season. The hotel uses people carriers for guests at a cost but imo it's only a matter of time before it gets bogged down on the road.
The hotel is still fairly new - 9 months or so and there is still debris from the construction process on the beach and parts of the grounds which needs removing. The place is pretty idyllic and very economical but sealing the road needs to be a priority. On the whole though well reccomended.

Room Tip: Pay little more for beach room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
232 reviews
4.1 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
277 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
3.0 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#11 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Resort Komodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Resort Komodo

Address: Waicicu Beach - Manggarai Barat, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia (Formerly Sylvia Waicicu Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range: $44 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvia Resort Komodo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
private beach . Very private, peaceful and serenade yet it's only 10 minute drive to get back to busy labuan bajo town. The small island nearby makes this lagoon one of a kind location place in labuan bajo. The best keep secret in town.Sylvia ameneties including hot shower, satellite tv, free internet, swimming pool, restaurant ,laundry services.Also available fast boat services to Komodo island or any other island island of your choice. The boats are ready for charter at sylvia resort own jetty right next to the resort beach. Other water activity such as: canoeing , snorkeling, jet ski, banana boat are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sylvia Resort Komodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Resort Komodo Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing