We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place in Labuan Bajo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagus Bagus Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bagus Bagus Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Wetzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Place in Labuan Bajo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is really great there. You have a own shower and a big bedroom with a moskito net and a fan. When it's not peak season you only have to pay 200.000IR, what is really good, when you see the other places in LB (and believe me, we have seen a lot of hotels there).
They bring you the breakfast directls in front of your room and you can sit outside, have breakfast and a great view over the calm sea.
The stuff is very friendlyand helps you with everything.
Best place for us in LB

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflytours2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pecatu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a great small budget hotel with 5 star views over the harbour. The owner and staff are so helpfull and knowledgable about the area. The room are a good size, beds are comfortabke and it is very clean. Excellent value.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessbollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Me and my cuisine stayed only two nights in hotel bagus-bagus last June this year and Bagus Bagus is one of the most remarkable moments I have from my summer vacation to Flores. The rooms are tidy and simple but so ecological designed, Huge bed with this romantic mosquito net is not only decoration but really guarantee a great sleep. Huge window is facing directly
to the see up from the hill where the hotel is. I woke up and had a wonderful view to the water plus lovely breakfast (pancake, fruits,coffee and tea) served on the table at the terrace. Bathroom is simple but tidy, and has open roof (you can see the sky while taking shower). Hotel is located 10-15 minutes walking distance from the centre of the town, and just next to the well known Paradise Bar for its beautiful view, nice live music and friendly atmosphere. For very delicious grilled fish dinner the 5 minutes' walk to the pantai kampung ujung is worthy.

Bagus Bagus is a family run eco hotel. The owner, Stefan Raffael with his friends are
running also the Plasticman Institute, next door to the cozy Paradise Bar. For
me Bagus-Bagus is not only a hotel, but it is more than that. It is about
ecological awareness (the plasticman institute is working on waste
management and recycling http://www.plasticman-institute.org/), conservation
of marine life, being surrounded by forest, creative music activities for youthclose, interaction to fishermen village with original snorkeling trips to pulau Bidadari by small fishermen boat "ketingting". The idea to involve the fishermen is originaly Stefan's who is eager to support the economy of local community through empowerment projects. For more details you can contact the owner directly : Stefan Raffael via email : stefankomodo@gmail.com or mobile phone: +6281339050009

Accommodation costs Rp. 350.000,- up to Rp. 450.000,- per night depends on the season and arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turbenthal, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Bungalows are basic but clean. Each has got a terrace with a beautful harbor view. People at BagusBagus are very friendly and helpful. I had many intersting conversations with them as well, and learned a lot about Flores culture.
The only thing that might annoy some people is the loud music from Paradise bar, which is next to BB. It didnt bother me, but some people might not like Bob Marley on maximum volume when they want to sleep

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabalabagutchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I originally tried to book into Golo Hilltop but they were full so they recommended me to here instead. Bagus Bagus went above and beyond what I expected and certainly made my trip to Flores an unforgettable one. Hotel is located roughly 15 minutes from the centre of the town, up a hill next to Paradise Bar (most local taxi drivers will know where this is). Rooms are quite basic, but have a massive king size bed with a net and a fan. Ensuite bathroom is OK with a decent cold shower and toilet (all recently built, so in very good condition). Breakfast is served to you in the morning on the terrace at a time you request. The view from this hotel is outstanding. Stefan and the others who run the place are all very friendly and welcoming and help you make the most out of your stay. They know a lot of local people in the area and helped me arrange a week long trip by motorbike to Kelimutu (and let me store my luggage with them free of charge whilst I did so). Lion Air had also kindly lost my luggage and Stefan and the others were very helpful in this situation, they drove me a number of times to the airport for free and phoned a number of their friends who worked at the airport to try and help me get my luggage back quicker. The hotel is fairly new, so it's hard to find much information about it. Highly recommended.

Contact information for Stefan:

stefankomodo@gmail.com
+6281339050009

For those interested in conservation, Stefan is also trying to run a project to educate the locals more about the local marine life so they understand it better and realize the beuaty of the underwater world surrounding them. In turn, he hopes this will stop the locals from polluting the water with plastics and other harmful waste.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

15 min walking from down town up to the hill.Wonderful view from the rooms.All rooms(8) have sea view.Rooms are very basic but clean.Big bed with net.Five have only fan and two have air cond. Bathroom in the room ,only over the wc there is the roof,otherwise you can see the stars over the shower, cold water(perfect for the hot weather all year around) Table and chairs are outside of the rooms and in the morning are serving breakfast ,on it,with pankcakes ,bananas,papaja or local fresh local fruits ,drinks.Some evening there is a lot of music till late from the next restaurant,,,ask to put down the music if too loud!
Remember to ask for towels .
One room is in the middle of the bush all in wood,wery ECO.. like to be free in the jungle,look at it its extravagant but interesting

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.0 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#12 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#7 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Komodo Lodge
Komodo Lodge
#5 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plataran Komodo Resort
Plataran Komodo Resort
#2 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Bagus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Bagus Hotel

Property: Bagus Bagus Hotel
Address: Jalan Binoco | next to Paradise Restaurant, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bagus Bagus Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing