We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and modern rooms, good price quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luwansa Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
san jose
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very clean and modern rooms, good price quality”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a surprise amidst the terrible hotels in flores island. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom clean. The staff is very nice and breakfast is good. Highly recommended for the price. It is not your usual hippie hotel, but it has unbeatable views

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mflaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    112
    69
    19
    6
See reviews for
42
102
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angola, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed here with a friend while we planned our trip to Komodo. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff are very helpful. The hotel is located about 6km out of Labuan Bajo, but the Hotel shuttle bus made coming and going very easy. It was just a matter of going to the front desk and asking for a lift and then ringing the hotel to be picked up from town. There appeared to be only two vehicles, so during peak season there may be a wait if there are lots of people using this service.

The restaurant is basic. It is a open air restaurant down by the beach, if the weather is anything but perfect the restaurant may not be ideal. The restaurant also has stiff competition with local restaurants in town. We also found a lot of the menu items were not currently being served. This may have been due to us traveling in off-peak season, but we also found this to be the case with a lot of other places in Indonesia.

I would still recommend this place due to the value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you have the choice, rather go to Golo Hill top hotel in Labuan Bajo. We came at Luwansa due to administrative mistake with our booking at Golo Hill Top, and we really regretted our move.
Yes the hotel has a beach, a pool, a restaurant and an airy and spacious reception area. Free shuttle to and fro Labuan town. The only thing I liked about this hotel was the bed as this was not too firm.
But the water in the pool was too dirty to even consider using it, there are not enough chairs and parasols around the pool for the number of guests. The food in the restaurant is ridiculously expensive and the quality of the food is just bad.
The atmosphere may be attractive to visitors from Eastern Europe, it's not for Western Europeans. There's a lot of bare concrete, the garden is uninspired, missed opportunity by systematically not having balconies. It is as if the hotel owner does not really understand what visitors want and just copy-pasted some impressions he took elsewhere. The hotel does not have a "soul".

Room Tip: Best tip: go to another hotel. If you cannot, take one of the apartments closest to the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at Luwansa Beach Hotel right after Komodo boat trip and it was the most right place I could even imagine. The hotel is situated in a calm quiet place a bit far from the Labuan Bajo center (in terms of walking distance and road conditions), but they have a unique offer (among of neighbours) of transfer to the LB center and backwards by call, so the distance "from the crowd" was a real 100% advantage.
The room was, I would say, the best option I could expect in terms of value for money.
Great stuff, which could do their best even when the conversation in English was a bit difficult. Thanks to all those people!

Room Tip: Do not even try the beach swimming! It is really not deep! But the pool covers all needs in swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mykhailo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taroona, Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We absolutely stumbled onto this place (OK a driver took us there!) with no booking and ended up staying for several days on each of our trips in and out of Labuan Bajo! We found the staff to be lovely and the grounds perfect! The pool is stunning...and it's very peaceful. A good distance from the rather noisy centre of Labuan Bajo! AND the hotel staff would take us in and out of town anytime we wanted!

Room Tip: We took a bigger room (Rinca 9) which had incredible high ceilings, a great bathroom and totally SUP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevintasmania27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My group and I stayed here during a 6-day scuba diving trip. We were upgraded to a "villa" room (except for one room, which was strange, why not upgrade everyone?). The standard room that didn't get upgraded was in the main building; the room was very small, not much space to move around when we have our dive gear all unpacked for drying. My friends were trying to dry their dive gear on the balcony (which can be seen from the road), and the staff tried to tell them to bring the gear inside as they are very "unsightly". We just ignored them; we paid for the room, so why shouldn't we use the space we paid for?

The "villa" room was just slightly bigger, but has a balcony overlooking the beach so we had more space for drying stuff. I realize the resort was not set up as a dive resort, so they have no equipment washing area or a lockable shed, so we had to make do with whatever is in our room. That said, it was very inconveniently designed/equipped as a beach resort. There was no outside towel rails (which I would expect in a beach resort), the bathroom is across the room from the front door/balcony door, so if we're dripping wet the entire floor would be (was) soaked.

Housekeeping was lackluster, there was a dead bug on the floor when we woke up in the morning, and when we came back in the evening it was still there, swarmed by ants. Towels were not changed if we didn't put it on the floor; if this was some sort of an environmentally friendly move, there should have been a note that tells us about it. We also had a problem with our airconditioning, it was not cold. Despite of informing multiple staff members since day 2, it only got fixed on day 5, a day before we were due to leave.

Reception staff was the saving grace of this resort. The lovely girl at reception arranged for massages in our room when available, and at a spa in town. The free transport to town was great even though it gets a bit congested at night when there's only one van/driver on duty.

The resort itself is a good-looking beach property, with well-manicured grounds and expansive lawns (which is weird, they have so much acreage, why not make the rooms bigger?). The pool area was great for chilling out after a day of diving, the beach is lovely, and we were endlessly entertained by the cows that came by to graze on the resort's plants and drink the pool water.

Breakfast was consistently average (veering towards bad), but if you stick to buttered toasts you'll survive. The restaurant food was slightly better than breakfast, but stupidly expensive. Go to town for better food at lower prices.

I don't think I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were here as a group for a few nights in May as part of a driving trip to Komodo National Park. Overall the place is lovely. Only hotel in the area with it's own beach too. The pool is right on the beach, so it makes for some stunning sunsets as you are having a drink in the pool. The room was very comfortable, nice size, overall the hotel was new, so everything was in good condition. The staff were cleaning everywhere non stop. The staff overall were extremely helpful and friendly. They would go all out to help you any way they can. They drove us to our boat and back every day, and to dinner and shopping trips. Lovely service. Main negative is the food. I must say it's pretty awful! If you order form a menue for dinner or snacks, pretty much don't even try - they either don't have the ingredients or don't know how to cook it. The breakfast selection was ok, you could go for European breakfast - which took a very very very long time to arrive, or an Indonesian version, which was really poor quality - think instant noodles. The pool is very shallow, which is a little bit of a shame. However overall, really great place to stay and I would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I think ask for a room away from the lobby. There is always a lot of traffic there and so it does ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
0.2 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
435 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#12 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
286 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#9 of 41 in Flores
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#9 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luwansa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luwansa Beach Resort

Property: Luwansa Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Pede, Komodo, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luwansa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luwansa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luwansa Beach Resort Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing