We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but that's about it”
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Ranked #16 of 26 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location but that's about it”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked into Gardena a couple of months ago and when we arrived the service was terrible. No smile from the guy at the front desk, everything seemed to be just too much. It took us more than 4 times to tell him our name and spell it out. We had to fork out extra for a 2 bedded room as there were no economy rooms available (seems to be a pattern here).

The rooms are very tired and old and really not worth the money. I wouldn't go back again even if someone else paid for my room. There are other hotels in the same vicinity that are around the same price and are so much better.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms actually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    59
    103
    45
    28
See reviews for
11
105
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I booked in for economy room only to arrive to the news that there were none and we had to take a higher priced room. Like others, it was right at the top of the complex - steep steps and almost a ladder at the end !!!!!! the views were fabulous but I would have preferred less steps to navigate particularly at night as the pathways were not very well marked or lit up.
However, i would stay here again and i did enjoy the breakfast.
For me, Labuan Bajo is a little busy and i was happy to stay in other towns/or on the surrounding islands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Hull
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was recommended to this hotel as a basic and cheap place to stay. That's exactly what it was, although there never seemed to be any of the lowest priced rooms, despite me trying more than one night. The advertised rate is from 150,000 but the cheapest available was 205,000 incl. tax. The Wi-Fi is available via the Italian restaurant next door (not sure if this is a formal arrangement but it works in reception area). Breakfast was Ok - help yourself buffet style. the room was comfortable enough and had a mosquito net, although I could have done with more than the one available electrical socket. I had to choose between having the fan on and charging my phone/tablet. The bathroom had only a cold shower, and the toilet flushed using a bucket. No basin. My room was high up (lots of steep stairs to climb), but to offset that, there was an excellent view of the harbour. Staff are friendly enough, and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CellBlockH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location; it's on the main road in Labuan Bajo where all the dive shops/restaurants/bars are. However, it is a pretty old and basic hotel and not quite worth the price. Fan rooms are 200k a night. If you are planning to spend time in the room during the day, consider paying more for AC because the fan is not strong at all. We had to have two fans for the both of us.

The breakfast is average, but quite filling! The banana pancake was nice, as was the Indonesia breakfast (rice, ikan bilis, sambal egg).

Our toilet had no sink, just taps. Very very basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chongwanling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Location is great and you can enjoy fantastic view of the harbour. Room was nice and spacious with bathroom anc an electric fan. Only one electricity plug in the room, so if you want to charge your camera you'll have to do without the fan. They offer cheap economy rooms, but they never seem to be available even if you want to make a booking week in advance and there's almost no tourists in the town. I think they just want you to take more expencive one. The staff at the reception will not help you with anything as well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a room at the very top of the hill and you need to be good on your feet to navigate the steep steps. Basic room which needed a good clean and the bathroom desperately needed work. The toilet is flushed using water from a bucket. The views over the bay made up for it. We paid twenty two dollars a night and having spent a night at the Bajo Beach hotel for thirty five a night it was a great price. .......(the Bajo Beach is a complete filthy hole in the ground). The Gardena is in a great location to access dive shops and restaurants. The adjoining restaurant was okay for food, but some of the servers need a little more training as food orders were often messed up or food never arrived (cit ma Bon). If you are on a budget this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippo3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just in the centre of the town/village.You need to climb a little. astonishingly you hear no traffic in the morning, nice room terraces. great breakfast. No air con, so very hot, all the rooms with bamboo walls. I love it. Your bungalow is set inside the gorgeous garden.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolau66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.2 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
216 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Prundi Hotel
Green Prundi Hotel
#16 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Property: Gardena Hotel
Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing