We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic hotel with Great Food !!”
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice basic hotel with Great Food !!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed there for almost 2 week. It´s a basic hotel but the best about this hotel is the food !! Its has a great selection of food and we eat almost everyda there with different menu to choose and almost all is good ! if you're not too picky & doesnt mind about bathroom condition. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob Smith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    59
    99
    44
    28
See reviews for
11
102
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Escaped from The horrible Centro Bajo hotel into the oasis at Gardena hotel. It was a bit of paradise. I've heard mixed reviews but I for one had a great visit. I was in room 28, in the highest row, which had a canopy bed and spacious room and deck overlooking the spectacular harbor and ocean view below. Everything was clean and the staff was helpful. I'm sure better places are available, but not for the rate I paid.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Accommodation is a bit scarce in Labuan Bajo in high season and as a result is all overpriced. Gardena is one of the better budget options (get there early in the day as it was often full by the evening while we were there).

We had a standard room for 200k rp. It was clean with a comfortable bed and nice patio outside with incredible sunset views (although you do have to climb 160 odd steps to get to the bungalows at the top). The bathroom was pretty basic with cold water.

The staff were friendly and helpful (if you could find somebody who spoke English). Breakfast was the usual banana pancake or bread and egg. The location is great, right in the centre by many of the restaurants, dive shops etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

These bungalows seriously needs an update.. Its just a room where you can put you stuff during your stay here.
Bathroom is not very nice but works.
Balcony is quiet nice at the top-bungalows.
Breakfast ok, homemade buns was good but thats about it.. If you are lucky there`s no ants in the butter and jam.
This is just ok but not good value for money.

Room Tip: Dont book room number 19, there is bedbugs. Try to get a room on top for nice view or rooms close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelRefslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The rooms at Gardena are basic (as are most accommodation options in Flores anyway) but its central location at Labuan Bajo makes this an alright option to crash for a night. It's located on a hill so be prepared to make a hike, especially if your room is one of those located at the very edge of the property (like mine.) Be sure to book yourself a couple of nights at Kanawa Island resort whose office is right next to Gardena. While you're at LBJ you could also check out Mediterraneo for some really decent Italian fare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamar, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Took a bet at the cheapest rooms, which was very basic. Bungalows almost falling a part, with indonesianstyle toilet. In desparate need of renovation. Poor english-skills among staff. Breakfeast was very disappointing, a pancake and coffee. However, views from breakfast table is amazing. A ok place to stay for maximum a day before heading out to Komodo Island. Watch out for hawkers trying to hit you up with bad deals to Komodo Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Labuan Bajo hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location to the main dive shops. Clean basic rooms and great views of Labuan Bajo Harbour and the amazing sunsets over it.
Great restaurant offering delicious local food and cold beer. Plenty of choice for fish dishes.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Great place I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.7 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#7 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#13 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Komodo Lodge
Komodo Lodge
#6 of 21 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Property: Gardena Hotel
Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing