We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great views”
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location to the main dive shops. Clean basic rooms and great views of Labuan Bajo Harbour and the amazing sunsets over it.
Great restaurant offering delicious local food and cold beer. Plenty of choice for fish dishes.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

Great place I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlotta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot in Laban Bajo. While the rooms are fairly basic they have great views over the harbour and the staff are lovely. They can book for you to stay at Seraya Island, a beautiful island with great snorkelling.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms high up, numbers 20 upwards, they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsTravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty much the first you get if you arrive by boat. For those on a budget it does the job. We chose a standard room which was very basic, bathroom was just acceptable.
Mattress was just a piece of foam so didn't make the best of nights sleep.
One worrying thing was we were advised by one of the workers (kitchen worker I think) to make sure we lock our rooms and that they don't have overnight security. Then there was also a handwritten sign that appeared at reception again saying to make sure you lock your room. Sounds like they may have had some issues but we were fine.
Staff were friendly and breakfast was decent.
If you're on a tight budget its an OK place, if you can afford a bit more then it would probably be a good investment to look elsewhere for the best nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Gardena Hotel provides a great service for backpackers and other low-cost independent travelers in Labuan Bajo. Location is perfect, right on the main street near plenty of restaurants, dive shops, tour companies, internet, and other services you might need. Laundry service is cheap and reliable. Breakfast is basic. Rooms have fans. They don't have wifi, but you can by access from shop across the street and use it at Gardena's restaurant. The most useful service is that they will store your bag for free in a locked storage room while you are out on a boat trip in Komodo National Park. We ended up staying at Gardena 3 nights --- one night at a time in between various trips out into Komodo National Park. We found them to be very helpful and nice, every time.

The rooms are fine. They aren't the nicest rooms, but they are fine for one or two nights. We thought the Standard rooms were the best value for price and cleanliness and size (around US$18), plus great views from balconies. The Economy rooms are considerably older and shabbier, but fine for one night (around US$15). Just check the rooms when you get there; some are cleaner than others.

Only annoying thing is that all the rooms require quite an uphill/upstair walk, which can be rather draining depending on how active your daytime activities have been! FYI, the "nicest" rooms (US$20+) required the most climbing and only real difference is hot water.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Budget hotel for backpackers. I paid 150,000 rupiah per night for a room with AC. Rooms are large enough and clean. Bathroom has tepid-water shower and Western toilet with hand-scoop flush. Very marginal breakfast included in the room rate. But what is great about this hotel is the location. You are one minute away from a grocery store, ATM, bakery, and good restaurant--all located in one building! You are also three minutes from the Merpati office, and six minutes from an excellent internet cafe, Flobamora. An ojek to the airport should be 15,000 rupiah....a taxi 25,000...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised with the place. It's pretty basic and one has to adapt to an alternative method of flushing, but you get what you have paid for. Plus one can fix the minor issue of a non-fragrant bathroom by closing the door. Or just get use to it. The huts higher up are newer so are not as rundown and musty as the older ones closer to the reception.

Staff are friendly and helpful. One just have to be patient and friendly as obviously English is not their first language.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanleep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Ok, this is not a 4 stars Hotel: Basic bungalows, not hot water, not aircon, you need to ask the staff whenever you want to have your room cleaned. The staff is pretty laid back, slow and not very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go in Labuanbajo.
But you have to bear in mind that this is Labuanbajo, a remote area of Indonesia where, until recently, there were not alternatives to Gardena.
The bungalows have mosquito nets, which is essential in this part of Indonesia. And above all, they are conveniently located, just opposite to the dive centers and five minutes walking from the pier. This is very important for divers as the rest of the hotels are farther away and you have to walk long distances (or renting a motorbike) to get to the pier every morning for diving.
It is one of the cheapest places in Labuanbajo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroMSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#14 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pavilla Labuan Bajo
Pavilla Labuan Bajo
#15 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
9 reviews
5.5 mi away
Komodo Boutique Hotel
Komodo Boutique Hotel
#9 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Parrot
Blue Parrot
#1 of 32 in Labuan Bajo
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing