We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night, EXTREMELY convenient location...”
Review of Gardena Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardena Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Labuan Bajo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Budget hotel for backpackers. I paid 150,000 rupiah per night for a room with AC. Rooms are large enough and clean. Bathroom has tepid-water shower and Western toilet with hand-scoop flush. Very marginal breakfast included in the room rate. But what is great about this hotel is the location. You are one minute away from a grocery store, ATM, bakery, and good restaurant--all located in one building! You are also three minutes from the Merpati office, and six minutes from an excellent internet cafe, Flobamora. An ojek to the airport should be 15,000 rupiah....a taxi 25,000...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 255 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised with the place. It's pretty basic and one has to adapt to an alternative method of flushing, but you get what you have paid for. Plus one can fix the minor issue of a non-fragrant bathroom by closing the door. Or just get use to it. The huts higher up are newer so are not as rundown and musty as the older ones closer to the reception.

Staff are friendly and helpful. One just have to be patient and friendly as obviously English is not their first language.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanleep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Ok, this is not a 4 stars Hotel: Basic bungalows, not hot water, not aircon, you need to ask the staff whenever you want to have your room cleaned. The staff is pretty laid back, slow and not very knowledgeable about what to do and where to go in Labuanbajo.
But you have to bear in mind that this is Labuanbajo, a remote area of Indonesia where, until recently, there were not alternatives to Gardena.
The bungalows have mosquito nets, which is essential in this part of Indonesia. And above all, they are conveniently located, just opposite to the dive centers and five minutes walking from the pier. This is very important for divers as the rest of the hotels are farther away and you have to walk long distances (or renting a motorbike) to get to the pier every morning for diving.
It is one of the cheapest places in Labuanbajo.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroMSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

There's only one type of room. No air cond in all rooms they have. But it's worth to pay $15/night, attach bathroom. And we got free banana pancake for breakfast.
There are so many trees and flowers in front of the resort. Looks green and nice.
Overall is so-so, buuuuuut the food and service in the restaurant are not really good.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umarijkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights before/after a diving safari, in one of the cheap bungalows. The bathroom was very basic but acceptable. No mosquito issues. The fan worked. Breakfast was below average but not horrible. The most annoying thing was the hassle in front of the restaurant area with men trying to sell the usual things every single time you walked in/out.. Oh well, there are worse things.
All in all a decent stay if you're not picky and want to save money.

BTW, I never tried dinner there as I found the local food carts that set up in the evening down by the harbor. Yumm!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mangosorbet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived in Labuan-Bajo after a 2 day boat trip from Flores. We’d been recommended the Gardena Hotel by a couple of travellers going in the opposite direction to us. They said they stayed in a bungalow on the top of the hill and enjoyed superb views across the harbour. We asked for a similar room but we were told at first that there were no rooms. Then, as we walked away the female staff member called us back and said there was a room but it was at the top. This was fine we thought. Well, it really is a long way up to the top, especially when carrying our large backpacks but it was definitely worth the walk. The room itself was lovely and the view was amazing, especially the next night when we sat out and watched the sun going down over the ocean.
During our 2 night stay we found the staff members to be hit and miss to deal with. Some were friendly, whilst others were surly, whilst others just didn’t seem to want to be there. The free breakfast was good and the meals in the restaurant were recently priced and tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Good view of the harbour and sun set from our room. It was up lots of steps so tired me out to get to the top. The room was extremely hot and had to shower in my night clothes to stay cool. The fan didn't really work. And like most cheap places the shower was crap and it was a toilet without a flush. We paid 175,000 and on the 2nd night downgraded to 130,000 as there was no difference between rooms. The staff are quite slow with orders. I remember I ordered breakfast to have finished it before my drink actually came. If you asked for towels/ loo roll, info on tours they seemed to look at you with blank faces haha.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.2 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 22 in Labuan Bajo
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Boheme Bajo
La Boheme Bajo
#5 of 36 in Labuan Bajo
17 reviews
2.1 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 22 in Labuan Bajo
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Plataran Komodo Resort
Plataran Komodo Resort
#4 of 22 in Labuan Bajo
190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#16 of 22 in Labuan Bajo
364 reviews
5.6 mi away
Seraya Hotel & Resort
Seraya Hotel & Resort
#8 of 22 in Labuan Bajo
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardena Hotel

Address: Jl Yos Sudarso, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Labuan Bajo
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing