We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good”
Review of Laprima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laprima Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I expect a lot more for the price. The poolside view is the only nice thing. The beachfront is covered in trash and the rooms and hotel are extremely dirty. The food at the restaurant is horrible. I didn't even want to eat the breakfast I bought. The spa is a joke where a massage is being covered with a beach towel on a small table and having cream violently rubbed over your body. To top it off the service is bad. It seemed like the entire hotel was being run by teenagers who didn't know what there were doing. I'm sure there are much better, cheaper options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    183
    128
    44
    21
See reviews for
62
157
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

i stayed in this place for 3 nights, booked via agoda, and was abit skeptical, but when i got there, it was just wonderful, the room was big and facing the mountain and the sea, the staff and especially the GM were so so friendly and very helpful. i had a great time :)

Room Tip: the wifi is having trouble so perhaps better to rely on your phone :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutuRatna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I was very hesitant about staying here after reading the reviews, but after staying 6 nights I can say that it was a perfect hotel to spend almost a week in Labuan bajo.

Pros:
1. The air con worked perfectly.
2. There is a fridge, tv, toiletries, nice bath.
3. The hotel is a 10 min walk from a decent sized store that sells beer, snacks, milk, bread ect...
4. There is a hotel shuttle that is easy to arrange that costs 4.50$. The shuttle is free to and from the airport.
5. The staff at the hotel were always friendly and smiling.
6. The view was spectacular and the pool was huge/ clean/ amazing!

Cons:
1. The main con would be that the city itself is not very nice
2. The beach in front has trash, but I would recommend taking a boat to nearby kanwana island to snorkel.

Overall I found it difficult to find info about Labuan Bajo prior to going so here are a few things that might help you.
1. The best food by far is at Made in Italy restaurant.
2. We could find everything that we needed at the local store( diet coke, diapers, wine)
3. We were able to rent a boat to take us to Rinca and Kanawa for 100$ for the day through the tourist office in town.
4. There are tons of dive shops in town that will take u on a day trip to the best spots in the Komodo National Park for 100$ for 2 dives.
5. If you are sensitive to dirt don't walk around town. It didn't bother me, but there are parts that u smell/ see sewage and maybe see a rat or

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank April O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I do not have many nice things to write about this hotel except that the location boasts a beautiful sunset and that the building itself seems to be well constructed. Beyond that, I reckon the owner ran out of money and did everything else on the cheap.

The following were unacceptable at this $70 per night hotel:
- Dirty rooms and linens - blood stains on the bedding and towels, soiled sheets, filthy walls
- Breakfast buffet with flies swarming
- The hotel is staffed entirely by teenagers. It seemed as if everyone of them was in training and did not quite know what to do. I had the bell boy walk into my room un invited after I opened the door to inform me of a tour we were interested in booking.
- No visible management and formal process to file complaints (See previous comment as everyone was a teenager)
-overpriced and hardly edible food.... do not eat dinner here. Walk down to town and eat at one of the it Italian restaurants.

Pros
- beautiful sunsets

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Athomp08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Labuan Bajo hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at in Flores and can safely say that this was probably the best accommodation we had the entire time; mainly because of its room amenities which may not be available in other hotels in Flores such as air cond, hot shower, room service, hair dryer (upon request), tea making facilities, safe deposit, a nice and clean toilet that doesn't smell, TV with western programs n free wifi. The room is quiet, clean and comfortable and the service was good for most part. Labuan Bajo is pretty rustic and still up and coming but they are working hard so for the price you pay, please don't expect hotel room standards equivalent to those in Bali or Phuket.


Tip: A trip to town by hotel taxi is pretty expensive but is doable on foot if you have the time and energy. Around a 15-20 minute walk will get you to the street where many of the dive centres and restaurants are. As you are exiting the hotel, turn left and walk down all the way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catspyjamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed one night just before a diving cruise. Very nice new hotel, large pool, right on the beach. The food was very good, especially breakfast. Rooms were nice too. Price was very reasonable. The hotel shop had almost nothing in it, so they are missing a chance to make some profit here. Travellers' needs, local crafts, etc. could be there. Wifi was available in the lobby and restaurant. Any modern hotel should have it in the rooms too. The coffee maker had no coffee packets or tea anywhere we could find.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We loved this place. We arrived early & the staff had our room made up as quick as possible. We were served a refreshing welcome drink & explored the beautiful pool area - not a sinner in sight!

The room itself is large, comfortable & clean. The toiletries were impressive - sewing kit, shaving kit etc. The balcony complete with table & chairs was perfect for viewing the impressive sunset. Ask for sea views & a high floor, chances are they will accommodate you.

The staff were, for the most part, excellent, would do anything to assist you. We had food at the pool which was absolutely horrendous! Even worse, it was left out for so long after we had finished it that ants started raiding the plates. Orders weren't taken so we had to run inside every time we wanted a Bintang. The breakfast wasn't great either.

The spa was OK - I had a pedicure which was fan but my manicure was terrible. The lady who works here is very lovely but the quality just wasn't there.

The pool area is top class - more like 5 star if they had the service & appropriate sun loungers (the loungers are old, wooden & uncomfortable). Great view, infinity pool - beautiful! There is a cheap shuttle service to the town & we booked our tour to rinca through the hotel reception which was absolutely out of this world & inexpensive!

Overall, would stay again & highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
1.3 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#11 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#8 of 39 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#13 of 19 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laprima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laprima Hotel

Property: Laprima Hotel
Address: Jl Pantai Pedeh no 8 Manggarai Barat, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia (Formerly Laprima Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laprima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
diving centre , speed boat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laprima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laprima Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing