We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laprima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laprima Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I didn't really want to stay in a Western style hotel in LB but having looked at some other places, they were still as basic as when I last came to LB 14 years ago. So I decided to bite the bullet and stay at La Prima as I was intrigued to see what it was like and I had heard the views were great. Also, I stayed at Golo Hilltop the night before for $45 and La Prima was only $60 a night, for a much better standard of hotel. I arrived and they gave me a room on the top floor facing the water. The room was exceptionally clean and had every amenity you needed. And the view, well, I could have sat there looking at that view forever. And I did, and I took loads of photos. It was just gorgeous. The pool area was lovely as well. I took a stroll onto the beach but I didn't go swimming there - it wasn't as unclean as other reviews here have written but there is still a problem with rubbish washing up on the beaches generally in Indonesia. The only bad thing to say about the hotel is that the food was below par.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetravalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    181
    125
    44
    21
See reviews for
62
154
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a new luxurious hotel in a beautiful setting overlooking the bay with a large swimming pool. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was great. Large, corner room overlooking the bay and the mountains with a large balcony. Very comfortable bed, nice linen, pillows still rather hard but better than most! Modern bathrooms, etc. It appears to be brand new but there are maintenance problems that they will need to sort out such as bathroom fittings (dripping taps etc.)
Buffet breakfast was not bad, the staff very charming and helpful. I would stay there again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, spectacular for the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful new hotel. Best things are impressive infinity pool overlooking the sea and views from room if you have a sea view. Negatives is horrible service, location out of town, hotel not quite ready. Workmen are still painting, fixing walls, gardens still being planted. Breakfast is a pro and con. Included in price which is great but food in warmers with no heat on so food was cold or slightly warm. Beer expensive comparitively to town and other hotels. Can walk to town easy enough in 15-20 mins if you have to. Shuttle 50000 for return journey which is a little expensive compared to local drivers but convenient. Local restaurants will call for return journey. Food in restaurant is so so - someone said in their review they ate there every day. Lots better options in town for same or less money with better ambience. Service us slow, staff forget orders, ask you twice for room number and pool service is not happening unless you walk up to restaurant and place order personally and keep doing that. Locals are employed which is fine but training needs to be much better. Seems to be no managers which might be the problem. All in all I liked the stay and stayed twice over a week bit look around and compare - don't get mesmerized by the pics of the pool without taking all this into account.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michealbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The view from this hotel is fantastic, it overlooks the harbor and you can see all the different boats from up high.
The rest of the hotel is OK, not great though. The rooms are clean, the food was average, the lobby was impressive and the pool and surrounding area was very nice. Not very comfortable beds though. Service was good enough but nothing to leave a great memory of the place.

I just wish the rest of the hotel was as impressive as the view. It's a little out of town but they offer a drop off and pick up shuttle service for 50k. Free airport transfer was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank personguytravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komarno, Slovakia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel provides as much as you can expect from a 4* place in Labuan Bajo except breakfast,which I found very average (but in no way bad).

The hotel has a very nice pool and surroundings. The rooms are not very spacious but are clean and overall OK.

The only real drawback of this place is that it has very little atmosphere - especially the interior could be that of any of the generic airport hotels. However, this gets a little beter around the nice pool.

The location is on the outskirts of Labuan Bajo - for me this was more of an advantage as I didnt really enjoy the town itself. You will probably want to take a taxi to go to town - it will cost you 50.000 Rupies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miroslav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yunderup, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

La Prima is a beautiful oasis in the middle of a shanty town . The pool is beautiful big clean and fresh with views over the water and beach . Watch the local kids play and laugh on the beach . I love this hotel and staff and location . Walk to the top of town is about 5-10'mins or pay 5 bucks and LaPrima will drive you into town .I MUST SAY THEIR BREAKFAST IS BAD AND EVERYTHING THAT IS IN A WARMER IS STONE COLD ...we ate fried eggs and jam and toast , bring Nescafé if you don't like bali type coffee . I understand their Asian food maybe nice but even so cold as ..and cold fried food is horrible ,and the bacon ( I'm not sure why they bother also cold and tastes horrible ) I stayed here last year and I'm sure the food has gotten worse ) I must say how ever if you are happy with toast jam and fried eggs then this hotel is lovely oasis .we never left hotel unless to go into tow for meals and shopping as we had just come from Gili Air via big old wooden boat on a four day trip snorkelling and no fresh water ,so hotel was nice relaxing clean spot to lay by the pool . Big thank you to Yani who speaks enough English to book over email and arrange pick ups and drop offs etc ....well done Yani you need a promotion . ( if you get one hire someone who can cook a hot breakfast and keep it warm ) I would stay here again in a heartbeat .but all I really wanted to do was get in the kitchen and show the staff how to do things .but for the price and view and location it's well worth it . We ate at Mediteranio Italian Restaurant bloody beautiful food highly recommend it ...shame the food was so bad at Laprima we would not of needed to leave ( Asian food I'm sure would be nice made to order other than breakfast) you will love your stay at La Prima ... Cleminson Family Mandurah Perth .La Prima please get some cooking lessons . :-)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carlajmandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice rooms (choose the one with sea view), fine amenities. The breakfast could be better for 4* hotel - more local fruits for example (was funny watching how 3 people are working around one waffle maker). Beach is messy and also part of local fisherman harbour. Snorkelling is not recommended. Pool looked clean. Price for trip to city centre was same as in hotel that was more than 5 km away from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
1.3 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#11 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#12 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laprima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laprima Hotel

Property: Laprima Hotel
Address: Jl Pantai Pedeh no 8 Manggarai Barat, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia (Formerly Laprima Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laprima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
diving centre , speed boat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laprima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laprima Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing