We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive master course komodo”

Wicked Diving, Komodo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Diving the Komodo National Park each day! Our staff are safety focused and passionate about marine life. You can join our diving day trips, our Komodo liveaboards or sign up for a course. Home to the only Community Training program for divers in Komodo, our non-profit foundation reaches out to the local schools, trains students to become professional dive guides and stewards of the seas. By choosing Wicked Diving Komodo, you are making a huge difference in the people of our community! 2% of all our revenue is dedicated to this program.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

I came to Wicked Diving for my dive master course, and it did not disappoint to say the least! My instructor was very experienced and had a ton of interesting stories, knowledge and connections to give me a head start in the diving community. Also the community involvement and ethical and sustainable operations for which I chose Wicked are not just a marketing thing, but rather a basis principle in the operation. During our course we for example got to take locals on discover scubadiving trips, free of charge for them, and we did multiple cleanups on beaches and in the harbour.
Over the course of 6 weeks my two fellows and I did almost 70 dives in and around the Komodo National Park, meaning we saw amazing wildlife such as many sharks, huge manta rays and schools of fish reaching further than the eye can see, even with the crystal clear waters! The course even included two 4D/3N live aboards with a Komodo Dragon tour!
Throughout the course Wicked organized accommodation in hostel La Boheme Bajo, which is great too! The food is really delicious and diverse, the manager very friendly and willing to help us out with many things over the 9 weeks, and from the hostel different activities are organized, as well as transportation services. The only thing is that it's situated between two mosks, which in itself is not an issue, except the fact that the calls to prayer are very loud and from 4:30 in the morning, 5 times as day... However the town is home to many mosks so except if you're staying way up on the hills and out of town, this will be similar wherever you sleep.
The town of Labuan Bajo is still very much developing, but it has all the amenities for a long term stay. There are plenty of food options for both local and western cuisine, and souvenir shops and supermarkets are never far away.

All in all I had an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend Wicked Diving for anyone a bit adventurous and serious about turning their passion into a carreer!

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank coengelmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WickedDiving, Owner at Wicked Diving, Komodo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Thank you for the feedback on your Komodo Divemaster Course. It's great to hear the details.

Thanks for mentioning the local community programs. We actually have our own non-profit and 2% of all revenue goes to this program. not just clean-ups or outreach, but in training and internships. and for the Komodo Divemaster program, it's actually 10% of the course is directly dedicated to this program. We are all very proud of the program, the graduates, the changes we have made in the community and of course in the ways our guests experience the results of their contributions.

And yes, Labuan Bajo is a diverse and developing location. With a mix of many cultures, Manggarai , Bugis, Javanese, Komodo and even a few foreigners. There are several mosques in town (and on the islands) and it does make a startling wake up call at first. Eventually we find it charming and a constant reminder that this is a very different land than the ones our guests come from.

We do invite you back to join us on future trips and expeditions. And for sure, all of us thank you for choosing Wicked Diving Komodo for your divemaster program and supporting our local training program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"card games"
in 3 reviews
"trip leader"
in 4 reviews
"dive master"
in 27 reviews
"manta rays"
in 22 reviews
"marine life"
in 18 reviews
"awesome dives"
in 5 reviews
"incredible trip"
in 3 reviews
"safety procedures"
in 3 reviews
"dive deck"
in 3 reviews
"these guys"
in 13 reviews
"great company"
in 6 reviews
"diving komodo"
in 5 reviews
"food was great"
in 8 reviews
"night liveaboard"
in 3 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 5 reviews
"flamboyant cuttlefish"
in 3 reviews
"four days"
in 5 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely awesome awesome AWESOME dive centre. There is literally nothing in 4 days I could complain about! Even when the weather wasn't playing nicely they made a plan and we dived a protected area. When it got even worse to the point that getting on and off the small boats would have been suicidal.... no problems, find a sheltered spot and let's play card games and dice. The diving was absolutely insane, the food mind blowing (even disregarding the tiny kitchen that it all comes out of!), and the boat and dive crew... hands down the most amazing group of people I've been around. Thanks so so so much for everything, I will be back!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank DaleW1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

I own and operated dive boats and shops, so have a good idea of what makes these work and what does not.
Wicked diving did an excellent job of making this 4d/3n liveaboard work.
From the initial emails, to disembarking from the boat, it was easy and hassle free.
Initially our trip was cancelled due to volcanic activity in Bali, so we were offered to re-schedule our trip, it would have been easy to play the "act of God, no refund" card, but Wicked were very fair.
The boat is simple, but that is not hidden from you and from the beginning, you know what you are getting.
Anne and Aji kept things running smoothly onboard and briefing were good and schedules were stuck to.
Food was excellent and all round, the staff/crew excelled.
We had a small detour at the end, to see the Dragons and instead of it becoming a problem, Anne and the office handled it with ease.

Wicked is not a luxury operation, but if you want good company. great service and the best diving Komodo can offer, go straight to WICKED DIVING, you won't be sorry.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank dinop315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We dived with wicked diving and had a good experience overall. My buddy and I did the 4D, 3 nights liveaboard in July. The divemasters were professional, the food good and the staff friendly and helpful and did everything they could to make the trip a good one. However it was an eventful trip. There was a mix up with our bags going on another boat at the start. We got them back. On one of the dives, due to the strong current, I lost my dive master and buddy but the dive master came and found me quite quickly. On the last day of the trip, a small fire broke out in one of the cabins (think it was an compressor overheating). To be fair, the staff acted quickly and put it out. But it’s worrying the fire happened in the first place.. The cabin we stayed in was next to the engine rooms and there were fumes. Also the air conditioner was shared between 2 cabins which made it a bit tricky to keep everyone happy on the temperature. For some reason too, the air con didn’t work too well at night. The boat felt a bit overcrowded. Having said all that, we had a good time, the coral reefs in Komodo were the best I have seen but there were fewer big fish compared to other places I've dived, like Palau

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank denisewee2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WickedDiving, Owner at Wicked Diving, Komodo, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

We are always glad to hear feedback and this review was among the ones that really hit us right where it counts - our heart!

As you saw, our staff, crew and admin team all work hard to assure that each guest has a safe and enjoyable trip.

Our apologies to you and all the guests on that trip! You are correct - it was truly worrying that a fire occurred at all! In running operations like ours, and with wooden boats - that is one of our biggest fears. And this eventful trip was one of the biggest factors in our decision to change what we offer and how we operate.

Wicked Diving Komodo had been working with our local partner to operate this liveaboard for the past year. However, with the limited space and conditions on the boat (especially the safety issues) - we decided to buy and refurbish a new boat. It launches on September 1st, with 35% more space, larger cabins and a massive sundeck. Of course it also is completely overhauled and redone! It also allows more space for privacy and quiet time. Each cabin has its own air-con unit, and now hot water showers in each bathroom as well ;) We are certain that if you return, this will be a welcome development. Safety is a key part of this change and we have done our utmost to avoid any situations like you experienced (including insulation throughout and fire alarms in engine room).

You, and all our guests and staff, should never encounter a situation that puts one at risk while diving. This was not the way to end your adventure with us. With our changes and new boat, we believe it will never happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Date of experience: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WickedDiving, Owner at Wicked Diving, Komodo, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicked Diving, Komodo also viewed

 
Labuan Bajo, Flores
 

Been to Wicked Diving, Komodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing