We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The strangest pricing system in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The strangest pricing system in the world”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

It's impossible to recommend this hotel. It's so far away from 5 star it's untrue. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced and the pool is nice, but the management of the hotel, despite the best efforts of the friendly staff, is bizarre.
The worst aspect is the food and drinks pricing. We had 13 people including kids and we would have been quite happy to spend a day around the pool having drinks and food and a play in the pool. The problem is that the food and drink prices are crazy, more expensive than at Bali's best restaurants. A large bintang by the pool is over 100,000 rupiah after tax and service charges! And even more if delivered to the room (although strangely a can from the fridge is only 24,000). A steak is over 200,000.
This means for a large group that it's far cheaper, although a hassle, to go to a better restaurant such as Made in Italy in town to eat.
The landscaping is also rather stark, none of the bars or restaurants have any atmosphere (although the whole place was empty when we stayed), there is no beach, the football pitch was flooded when we were there despite no rain for five days, and the tennis court looks and plays like it's 20 years old even though it has to be quite new.
During a massage the very apologetic masseuse was interrupted by one manager three times. Finally she was called out to speak to him. He then came in to speak to me - he simply wanted to know my name. Not very relaxing at all and rather typical of the whole place.

Room Tip: choose a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    111
    77
    19
    14
See reviews for
48
81
26
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Komodo. The hotel has a nice pool area. Rooms are clean. Big modern bathrooms. Everything works, even wifi. We were the only guests and i guess that added to the empty feel of the place. Staff is very helpfull though. All in all a good place to spend the night.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights after being bitten to death by mozzies in another hotel in town. The hotel is very modern, clean, with rooms of a high standard (and very nice bathrooms!). The pool is great too, with lovely views over the sea. My favourite thing about the hotel was the staff, who were really very nice to us (generally Indonesian people are extremely lovely). They baked and decorated a cake for my boyfriend's birthday, and all the staff came out to sing :-) And the lady who collected us from town was really nice too. Generally the hotel is of a high western standard.
However there are some odd things about the hotel too. The biggest downside is the distance from town, where anyone coming to Flores should make sure they spend at least one night staying. There aren't really taxis to get there, and the hotel charges you to drop off/pick up. Really they should offer this service for free given the location of the hotel. Secondly we didn't think the food was that great - our evening meals were included in our deal, but weren't really worth it. Plenty of nicer cheaper places to eat in town. Finally, the hotel was oddly empty when we stayed, which meant for a slightly odd atmosphere. But overall in nice hotel to offer a high level of comfort, and a nice break from slumming it in town!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LozzaJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The pool area and setting are stunning, the open air reception and dining areas are lovely and the rooms (though small) are comfortable and tastefully decorates. Everything pointed to what would be an amazing stay but it was just that little bit hit and miss. We had a completely illogical argument with room service over the fact that if ordering exactly the same drinks via housekeeping they were significantly cheaper. No amount of explanantion could seem to make anyone see that this made no sense- we were forced to pay the infalted price! Also, a staff member used their swipe card to burst into our room without knocking while we were still in bed. Checkout took an inordinately long amount of time, frustrating because we were on a schedule to meet our boat. I can't say that the service was bad, but it was just strange. Overall, these little service hiccups made us chuckle, but still not what you would expect from a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Request one that looks out to the sea/pool area, the view is much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eaker_face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Living in Jakarta, we have traveled throughout Indonesia and I was extremely surprised to find a hotel of this quality in Labuan Bajo. The hotel is new and the rooms are built to western standards. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean.

The food in the hotel is quite good and we ate three of the four nights in the hotel and had the breakfast buffet every morning as well.

The hotel has a very nice swimming pool and the pool area is equipped with new poolside chaise lounge chairs.

The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and speak very good English.

Overall, I was extremely pleased with my stay there and it is a great base for the Komodo and Western Flores areas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyobule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed there during my visit to Flores and Komodo islands, and i was not dissapointed. This was during low season so they got me one of their suites, big spacey room and a woderful big bed (Zzz), large balcony with amazing seaview. The staff was very friendly (thanks Felix! and that nice pretty girl at the reception)and helpful, and lot of lovely smiles from all those pretty waitresses. Breakfast was great with lot of choices, even for a picky swedish guy:-), The food/drinks was overall very good here during my stay (little bit pricey). Nice looking pool...that was great to pop in after some tours around the islands. Hotel was very well-managed and clean. When you get out of hotel area there is a lot of garbage everywhere, nobody seems not to care about it, thats a pity...If they wanna compete with Bali they have to start cleaning up Labuan Bajo. But this hotel was great and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Solstrimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Your perception of this resort will depend on your expectations. If you are a diver or trekker looking for a clean, modern place to stay between adventures, you will find that it meets your needs nicely. On the other hand, if you are a couple or family looking for a full-featured beach destination, you may be disappointed. You will see four- and even five-star ratings for this hotel on some of the travel websites, but in our experience, these ratings are not justified. Here are the pluses and minuses we observed:
+ The hotel is clean and modern, perhaps two years old. The room was comfortable, especially the bed. The air conditioner worked well.
+ Service was gracious and efficient, especially in the restaurant.
+ There is a dive shop accessible through the hotel lobby. It’s probably more expensive than many of the dive shops in town, but provided excellent service. We had five memorable dives with our guide, Johanes, whom we would recommend strongly. He also arranged a tour to Pulau Rinca, where we saw several komodo dragons and a water buffalo.
+ The restaurant was good, particularly the buffet breakfast.
+ The pool is clean and pretty. It’s just large enough (roughly 20 meters) to swim laps if you want.
+ The hotel provides free airport pickup and dropoff and will run you into town for Rp50,000 roundtrip.
- The rooms are plain, and some features disappointing. For example, the bathroom has no door – only a curtain. This was particularly bothersome in the small deluxe room we initially checked into, which also lacked a balcony. The upstairs hallways are stark, like a college dormitory. We asked for an upgrade and moved to a suite at a very reasonable price.
- If you like the occasional glass of wine or spirits, you would do well to bring your own, or go to the several decent restaurants in town (we liked the Mediterraneo and also the Lounge). Wine was grossly overpriced, Rp1,300,000 and up for very ordinary Australian whites and reds. Drinks at the bar were likewise way too expensive. Prices at local restaurants were reasonable, so the high prices at the hotel are not a consequence of the remoteness of the island.
- The wi-fi was weak and slow. We could get adequate reception only within a few meters of the business center, and then not sufficient to use Skype for a phone call.
- The beach is not suitable for swimming or wading. Perhaps due to a river that empties into the sea nearby, the water is shallow for at least 100 meters from shore, exposing vegetation and soil at low tide. The beach is barricaded with mounds of driftwood beyond the hotel property line, so you can forget about a romantic stroll too.
- The fitness center is a small, locked room in the basement. The staff opened the room and turned on the ventilation when we wanted to use it, but the room was hot and musty. There was no TV. The equipment was adequate for the two of us, but even four people would have had an awkward time sharing it.
- We didn’t see the monkeys chained in trees mentioned in other reviews, so hopefully the management has thought better of this. But we did see a deer on the neighboring lot tied to a stake, which seemed strange and pointless.

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view - the surrounding hillsides are not particularly scenic. And we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Planetary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labuan Bajo
0.4 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#9 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#14 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#9 of 41 in Flores
359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores

Property: The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
Address: Km 5 Jl. Pantai Pede, Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Labuan Bajo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Labuan Bajo Beach, The Jayakarta Suites Komodo Flores offers luxurious accommodation surrounded by tropical greenery. It features a dive club offering programs for divers of all levels. The Jayakarta Suites Komodo Flores is a 15-minute drive from Komodo Airport, which is an hour's flight from Ngurah Rai International Airport. A boat cruise to Komodo Island takes 1 hour and 30 minutes. Free airport pick-up service is offered. Guests at Jayakarta Suites Flores can take a dip in the outdoor pool, or visit the spa for a relaxing aromatherapy massage. The hotel also has a concierge desk and a jogging track. Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Rooms come with a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar, and tea/coffee making facilities. Private bathrooms have separate bathtub and shower facilities. Some rooms feature beautiful views of the ocean. Buffet breakfast is served at Jayakarta Suites Komodo Flores. Meals can be enjoyed at Nat's Coffee Shop, while cocktails are available at Nick's Bar Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores Hotel Labuan Bajo
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores Labuan Bajo, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing