We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Perfect 4 days on an amazing boat with an excellent team

We spent 3 nights on “Leyla” and this was really a fantastic time and great experience. The comfort... read more

Reviewed January 8, 2021
SLC26770
via mobile
Fabulous sailing holiday!!

Fantastic 4 day trip in Komodo/Flores organised by Hello Flores aboard the brilliant Kamma/La Unua... read more

Reviewed December 7, 2020
vibtravel
via mobile
Read all 34 reviews
  
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
33
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
33
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing trip amazing holiday captain and crew cruise director komodo national park flores scenery escape itinerary team meals board boat organisation crews diving
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 34 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2019

My girlfriend and I did a trip organized by Hello Flores last month on board Mantra and it was absolutely amazing. From the first email we sent Charles the process was so easy and customized. He always answered promptly and with great insight on what we should do. Once on the boat it didn't disappoint , as advertised by Charles the boat was super confortable and the crew took great care of us. Shout out to Gusti, the cook, that even on board a boat was making us amazing food everyday. Thank you to Stuart as well that showed us some amazing stuff underwater. I definitely recommend booking with Hello and diving with Mantra.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Baptistz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helloflores, Gérant at Hello Flores, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Thank you Stuart for your message. We are glad you had an amazing cruise. Hope to see you soon in Indonesia ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

I was doing an internship in Indonesia and my parents asked me to look for a boat to explore Komodo and Flores for mid of May. We went for the boat Mutiara Laut which is a magnificent wooden boat. The cabins, service and food were absolutely amazing. We booked the boat for 6 nights from Labuan Bajo to Maumere and it seems way to short. The most amazing things we had was to see Charles arrived from nowhere on a small speed boat to offer us some foie gras and french wine for Lunch. And best of all was that he also brought a massage person from Bali for the rest of the cruise as a Hello Flores experience. What a great idea. My parents loved this attention !
We are definitely recommanding Hello Flores for their infinite attention to detail and true customer experience.

Thank you so much !

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Manoncla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

Don’t risk your money or holiday, Hello Flores are a booking agent and offer zero compensation / alternative when things go wrong
First, we booked for exclusive use of a boat called Mantra, see attached proposal from Hello Flores.
The day before we departed we were advised there was another family onboard. No apology, no alternative, no compensation.
We waited for the boat, didn’t show up. After chasing them we were told the boat hit a rock and couldn’t sail.
The only alternative boat they offered was far cheaper (price comparison on photos below) but they were only offering this boat at the same price. Even then, we agreed to have a look as we came to Komodo for a live aboard experience. Instead of picking us up to have a look, they called to say that that boat was no longer available as it was not staffed.
By then it was late afternoon, we were search all day of the first day of our holiday and by ourselves found an alternate boat to leave the next day.
What did Hello Flores offer by way of compensation...NOTHING. They offered to refund the cost of the boat but would not even include transfer fees. They said they had pre purchased national park tickets and would also charge us for those!
If a flight is cancelled, they offer you a night accommodation and meals until they find you a new flight. Both Hello Flores and the owners of Mantra left us stranded, having to arrange our own accommodation and own replacement boat! Not once cent of compensation!

Honestly, there are many boats in Flores...don’t take a risk

We ended up booking the Felicia from Plantaran resort and it was stunning! Staff amazing helpful at both the resort (where was stayed the first night we were stranded) and on board. I’ve added a photo of Felicia from Plantaran resort below. The two days sailing her are amazing; sadly interrupted by trying to seek some compensation from Hello Flores and Matra but with no luck...again, why take s risk when there are many other options.

Hope those exploring a trip around the Komodo Islands find this helpful

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Kellygalesloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helloflores, Gérant at Hello Flores, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear Kelly,

We are very sorry for the incident that happen to your cruise. Unfortunately Mantra, the boat, hit a rock on its way to pick you up and this is something totaly out of our responsibilities and out of our control.

Beginning of June was the busiest period of the year for cruising as it is the end of Ramandan. This is why we had very limited options to propose you. The boat Jakare, replacement boat, wasn’t staffed because their crew was on holidays for Ramadan. It is the most important holidays for muslim.

I am really sorry if you have not been able to read properly my last emails and our booking confirmation (proof of crusise). Both clearly stipulate « Cabin cruises » and not « Private boat or Private charter ». See pictures below. It is not in our interest to change or hid this type of information as we know you will see them once you arrive on the boat and will complain about it.

Regarding the compensation, We have negotiated with the boat owner Mantra to get as much compensation as we can for you. You were disappointed but Hello Flores is not responsible for what happened to the boat. However we always defend the interest of the person who decided to book with us. We negotiated the refund of the exact price of the cruise including park fees.
The cruise contract of Mantra that you have signed and so Agreed on mention that : « It is essential and the responsibility of our future clients to purchase a personal travel insurance before planning on cruising with us ». Unfortunately you didn’t have any… From our experience, we Hello Flores and Mantra would have cooperated with the travel insurance to provide all the documents so you can get the refund fo your extra hotel nights, flight tickets and food expenses related to your extra stay in Labuan Bajo. See screenshot below.

You have also asked us for unreal compensation such as : « I will send you a bill for my hourly rate for today based on my salary in Singapore !!! »

We all want to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the incident that happened to Mantra.

Have a great day,
Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

We have to go to sailing trip for 2 days 1 night with family and hello flores are very helpful to arrange the schedule and find a great phinisi to us. The phinisi was so great, the service is very good, and the owner is very flexible so we can enjoy the short sailing trip. We would love a whole package that hello flores to give us. We will plan to be back to soon. Thanks hello flores

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Henrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Flores and the surrounding islands were an amazing part of our travel in Indonesia. We had especially wanted to see the beautiful manta rays. Our diving instructors were very professional as well. The same could be said for each and everyone of the staff who boarded with us. Thanks for the great experience.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews