We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem deep inside valley up in waerebo mountain”
Review of Komodotop

Komodotop
Ranked #82 of 229 Tours in Labuan Bajo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We have created packages tours from only one day tour to 12 days tour around Komodo national park and Flores island
Reviewed May 1, 2018

The best thing of Waerebo is the pristine place, deep inside the valley on top of the mountain. it protected the peoples and cultures from outside world. the same happen as difficulty also as everything turn to be difficult and expensive. even the rice have to carrry 4 hours trekking to reach the village and no permanent electricity.
but the peoples are happy, things getting better after 2012 UNESCO announce it as UNESCO protected village.
They got solar cell electricity and also from 6-10 pm, the electricity genset roaring providing primary electricity, of course dont expect aircond, heating water or refrigerator :}
It is an experience, 6 hours by car from nearest airport ( 40 pct of them is 2m wide bumpy road) , and then 4 hours of trekking up to tip of mountains, suddently the Waerabo village glimpse in the valley when you see it from the mountain peak.
Our guide Rafael, a young man, dark skin, looks tough, but immediately turn to be very friendly dude. he bought us a long the way from beginning to the end of this journey and thanks to him, we enjoy the the trip very much beyond the hardship of the 6 hours ride and fun trekking :)
Rafael not just have good knowledge in local culture and inforamtion, he also very active in social and politics. he heading some local social activity. after finishing his study and starting guiding, he envision to be local politician. so dont be surprise you will find local guide who is very fluently in discussing politics.

I would recomend Rafael to anyone who want to visit Flores or Komodeo island.
good luck Rafael. I hope you will success to reach your aim.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank limwiehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private boat tour"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful trip"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"great adventure"
in 2 reviews
"local guide"
in 3 reviews
"his team"
in 3 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"komodo island"
in 3 reviews
"manta rays"
in 4 reviews
"boat crew"
in 2 reviews
"pink beach"
in 2 reviews
"rafael"
in 13 reviews
"journey"
in 4 reviews
"bajo"
in 2 reviews
"flores"
in 7 reviews
"meals"
in 2 reviews
"indonesia"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 24 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

My 2nd trip to laboan bajo and this time we head over to the mountain of waerebo. With our expert guide Rafael we were able to explore around the south part of bajo. We were there for 4 days and we were welcome by the people of manggerai. People there are nice especially our guide very friendly, outgoing, welcoming and sociable person. He is very talkative, he shares a lot of history about laboan bajo and the people there. Our trip there was enjoyable. However the road to waerebo was not good and it was a bumpy ride to waerebo for 4-5 hours. Overall it was a good experience to do the trekking to waerebo.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Kelvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018

The trip organized by Rafael, the local guide, was one of the most beautiful experiences for me and my husband. We started a little unconfident about visiting Labuan Bajo (Flores Island), the Komodo Islands and the nearby islands, because we didn’t know how our guide and his team that we were going to spend a few days and who had to show us the surroundings will be. The fact that we chose Rafael, by accident, on the internet, was the best decision, because above all he is local and he knows best those wonderful islands. We have seen a lot of beautiful corals and colorful fishes, manta rays that are not so easy to find as they are wild animals (the fact that I swam with them was my favorite time of the trip), we walked on Komodo Island which is the National Park protected by law and we have seen the Komodo dragons who are endangered ..... Oaaauuuu they are so big! But do not worry, Rafael often goes there, and he won’t put you in danger, plus there will be a ranger walking with you and he will lead the "operation." The landscapes are particularly beautiful and gave us a positive energy. Besides that, Rafael is a friendly person and a spiritual person who loves the place where he comes from and tries to help the community and the people who are next to him. He is the one who can guide you to feel the energy of that place, which for me was a special one with very kind people. Hopefully we will turn back to Labuan Bajo and the nearby islands!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Georgiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018

Spontaneously, me and my girlfriend decided to visit the Komodo dragons on a private boat tour. We got Rafaels contact from a German guide from Sulawesi (Michael Leitzinger), so we called Rafael on Wednesday morning. We met Rafael in the evening on the same day and after chosing one of the available boats, we started the next day our 3D/2N trip. Rafael himself was on another trip at that time, so he organized Boe Berkelana as our guide and a very nice crew. As Boe worked in a local NGO for many years, we had very interesting discussions and got to know much of the local people and had the chance to visit Komodo Village. We snorkeled with Manta Rays, experienced the Komodo dragons, enjoyed the beauty of Komodo Nationalpark and of course the great food on the trip.
Again, it was just awesome and we really thank Rafael for his spontaneous organization, our guide Boe and the crew for having 3 amazing days.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank chindriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

Without exaggeration, it was the most attractive and unusual trip we ever had. It deserves fully 5 stars! We were a little bit worried regarding travel expectations after booking the tour from a distance. But all our concerns were totally false. We met an excellent guide (Rafael), a positive and responsive person. Also the boat crew was professional and friendly. In two days we touched the nature's footprints many times. Unique landscapes, mountain peaks, Komodo dragons, manta rays, corals, colourful fishes and tastefull meals. We are very grateful to Rafael and his team for this amazing vacation. It passed one week and after returning home in Europe we are still connected to beauties of Flores and their kind people. Thank you very much Rafael, you're doing an excellent job! We wish you luck in promoting the natural heritage of Flores and Komodo.
Hopefully, we'll turn back to Labuan Bajo in the upcoming period.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Silviu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komodotop also viewed

Labuan Bajo, Flores
Labuan Bajo, Flores
 

Been to Komodotop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing