We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayview Gardens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$131
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$64
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$47
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$41
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Laprima Hotel(Labuan Bajo)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$45
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eco Tree O`tel(Labuan Bajo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Kasuwari Hotel(Labuan Bajo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveler rating
260
204
44
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
204
44
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate balconyinfinity poolharbour mastergreat viewday bedsteep walkbreakfast is servedthe main streetdrinking waterin townoverlooking the baypancakesboat tripkomodo national parkstay in labuan bajoenjoy the viewtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 536 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay for 6 nights at Bayview Gardens. This hotel, almost resembling a botanical garden, offers a rarely seen service, location and overall experience. We were picked up at the airport by the very friendly and helpful staff. Our room offered a lot of privacy, had a very spacious balcony with an amazing view over the bay, 2 separate air-conditioned bedrooms with a safe, free WIFI and a modern bathroom. The breakfast was made on request and served at the room. Every day, an afternoon snack was provided together with coffee, tea and water. We were also very happy to use the offered laundry service. Watching the sunset from your balcony was an unbelievable experience. The restaurant offers also a great view over the bay together with very good food, such as grilled fish (don't forget to inform during the day if you wish to have dinner in the restaurant). We were there for a dive course and the city centre was a short walk (10-15 minutes) from all the dive centres in town. We had some problems organising our dive course, but the hotel staff was very helpful in contacting the dive centres on our behalf. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was still under construction during our visit. Although not the most luxurious hotel, it was great value for money and a unique experience. We would definitely recommend Bayview Gardens to our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed 3 days, used as Komodo trip base mainly. The accomodation is special and with romantic touch. Anyone who is visiting Indonesia does not need to be tought about lizards, frogs or moskito they are there but who will bother? Owner is very friendly and helpful. Email exchange and sorting boat for us could not be easier and to the point. Just recommend strongly if you want to go to Labuan Bajo.

Room Tip: Top of the mountain
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irek1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The rooms were very comfortable with a safe and aircon. Each room has its own balcony with the best view I've ever had from a room. Wifi is available in all but one room (the signal can't penetrate the walls apparently). There's free water (filtered rainwater which tasted fine), tea & coffee with an afternoon snack every day. You order breakfast the day before and it arrives at your balcony at the time specified. I wouldn't say that it was the best breakfast I've ever had but it was fine.

There's a laundry basket and the washed clothes are returned the next day. I don't remember the price but it wasn't expensive. The bathroom was good.

The Dutch owner was very pleasant and has prepared a brochure of the surrounding area. He does go into a lot of detail about his private life too. A lot of detail! The place has a laid back feel to it.

The only slight downside is the walk to the town. It's okay to do it during the day but it can be tricky at night and there are no taxis (although I understand that you can get a lift on a motorbike). Presuming that you are reasonably fit and bring a torch the walk back shouldn't be too much of a problem.

The town itself doesn't have a great deal to do. There are some decent restaurants but not much else. The big draw is obviously Rinca & Komodo. We initially booked for four days but rearranged for three as we'd done everything by then. You could actually stay for two but you'd have to hope that the weather was good so that you could get to Rinca (We went in the rainy season so this was a consideration)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon-DA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed two times in one week in Bayview Gardens in the same room. The view is great overlooking the bay. Make sure to be up in the room during sunset to take great photos. Our room was on top of the hill thus it was an exercise to get up the stairs. The room it self was ok as well as the bath room. They served breakfast in the room, with a good choice of selection. We took the bemo to get down to town for dinner and in back after dark we took motorbikes. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bayview Gardens for 1 night on Jan 4, 2013 and paid ~$45USD/night inclusive (cash only). I reserved a double room with breakfast via email with the owner Adrian (Ad). Ad was extremely generous with sharing information about the hotel, local airlines, and Flores and other islands. He assisted us to book a 2 day/1 night Rinca/Komodo trip with a local boat and crew for the night prior to our hotel stay for a price reasonable compared to what tour agencies were charging (see my review under Komodo National Park). We also pre-booked dinner in the hotel’s restaurant for the evening of our stay. We were given room 7 which had a lovely view of the harbour. If you are walking impaired note that the hotel paths are very steep so a lower room may be better. We were nicely greeted and escorted to our room with luggage help. The room was really 2 rooms – one indoor and one out. The private external outer room had a bench, table, side sitting area with cushions, garden area, clothes rack, tea kettle, coffee & tea, water dispenser and a wall mounted oscillating fan. It’s such a great place to sit and enjoy the view of the harbour and the sea. The inside room was of moderate size and had a table, bench – in front of large picture window - large double bed as well as a single bed off in an alcove area. It had good lighting, great air-con and 2 fans. The bathroom was a good size with shower, toilet, sink and fan (no a/c) with good quality towels. As it was ‘open’ there were a few geckos and bugs but was fine. Other than some soap scum in the bathroom it was pretty clean. At around 5pm the staff brought us a free snack – fresh made banana chips – apparently the snack changes all the time. Breakfast is included and you write the time you want breakfast and what you want (English or Fried Rice) on the lobby white board – and they will deliver to your room. We could get a weak wifi signal in our room, better in the outer room and best in the restaurant area. The in-room information book is very interesting to read – about Ad’s life and the pro’s and con’s of running a hotel on Flores – almost everything you wanted to know but were afraid to ask! From the hotel (actually anywhere in Flores!) you will hear the Call to Prayers several times a day from the two local mosques; I think it adds to the ambiance of the place, and they didn’t wake us when sleeping. We ate dinner at the hotel’s restaurant at 7:30 – must book ahead and limited choice. The choice was chicken or fish; we had chicken which came with tofu stir fry, vegetables, rice, a coleslaw type salad and a large bottle water – very tasty and good value for ~$12USD total. The only odd thing we found was when we went to bed – the double bed was made up with a single sheet laid on sideways so it was not long enough to cover us – we were short sheeted! I decided to take the sheet off the single bed and use it as well, but found there was NO sheet at all on the single bed. We ended up sleeping in our sweat pants so that the blanket didn’t come into contact with our bare skin. We could have gone down to reception and asked for a double sheet but it was a long, steep way down in the dark and rain and there are no phones in the rooms. Breakfast was delivered promptly at 8am as requested and was very good - eggs with toast, butter, jam, peanut butter, pancake, fruit and fruit smoothies. It was lovely to enjoy this in our private courtyard area with beautiful view. Dishes were picked up an hour later. I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend Bay View Gardens (except if you’re walking impaired) to anyone. Ad was such a great help via email with reliably planning the airport transportation, Rinca/Komodo local boat trip and a wonderful dinner and hotel stay, and was always so patient with my questions and forthcoming with information.

Room Tip: Room 7, close to restaurant, had weak but usable wifi signal inside room and good wifi signal on balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews