We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$167
FindHotel$167
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveler rating
284
228
51
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
284
228
51
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool white board breakfast is served room terrace each morning pancakes boat trip tea and coffee nice view hill town sunset lbj prayer dive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 604 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We (3 people) stayed in this structure for 3 days in August 2012. It's located in a perfect position to get a stunning view over the bay of Labuan Bajo, over the sea and Rinca and Komodo Islands. It's so far from the centre of the town and there is a lot of transportation available. The friendly dutch owner, Adrian, is a knowledgeable person and will give you the best infos and contacts to organize your time in Flores. Breakfast and even a little snack in the afternoon are served directly on the terrace of your room. The rooms are spacious and very clean. For persons with walking problems reaching the rooms could be a little bit difficult for the steep paths leading to them.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed over NY @ Bayview. The name is just perfect for this property. Got very spacious rooms to accommodate our family of 4. The friendly owner Ad, promptly confirmed by e-mail room and airport pick up. All worked out as planed, actually we never intended to stay one extra night but Merpati canceled return flight to Denpasar and "Ad" was once more ready to assist us arranging transfers and confirming next day flight. In other words : a tranquil place to relax even under torrential rain !

Room tip: Perhaps room next to the restaurant gets better wifi connection.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordita33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Bayview Gardens has probably the best view of any hotel in Indonesia. If you catch a decent sunset, you will be stunned by the harbor, Flores Bay and the Komodo Sea peppered with islands stretching into infinity. This makes it just worthwhile trying to figure out the quirks and expectations of this little hostelry that can't decide if it wants to be a hotel, a hostel or a homestay. Labuan Bajo is a fun frontier town that picks up the energy of the divers and other adventurous types passing through. The Bayview Garden has gone the opposite direction, however, emphasizing solitude bordering on loneliness, even though it is only 100 meters, as the crow flies, straight up the hill from main street. Transportation is the main problem. there are no taxis in LBJ, so you take a long walk around the hill to get into town, or flag down a motorbike and hope someone stops. Staffing is another issue, The front gate/lobby is usually deserted. You can ring a bell at the gate and a 10-year-old girl with limited English will appear and try to figure out what you want. The dining room has no dining, no food, no kitchen, nobody. On the plus side, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the wifi works, breakfast (the only time you will see a staff member) is good, and you can email the offsite owner, Adrian, who will make things happen in a disembodied kind of way.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Further_to_Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I visited Labuan Bajo in mid-December of 2012 and booked a room in this friendly family- run hotel. The sunset view was spectacular as was the mountain garden. The owner is very much concerned about the needs and comfort of the guests. However, if the guest was elderly or physically disabled they may have difficulty walking up the path or the stairs into the room.

Room tip: It is necessary to book through email and this should be done as early as possible
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnArmstrogn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I visited Labuan Bajo in October 2012 to take two separate diving liveaboard trips, so needed a place to stay before, between and after them.

I emailed Ad, the Dutch owner of Bayview Gardens, and he replied promptly to confirm that they could accommodate me on all the dates I needed. The rates were quite reasonable, and already discounted as it was just the start of their low season. It came as a pleasant surprise that they didn't require a deposit - the booking was taken on good faith - and so there was no extra expense or messing around with bank transfers etc.

When I arrived they arranged to pick me up at the little local airport, and on arrival at Bayview I met Ad and chatted to him for a while, (and he proved to be a pleasant and interesting guy). The rooms were spacious and well-thought out, with good showers, plentiful hot water, a large drinking water dispenser and a private terrace. In fact the whole place seems to have had a lot of thought applied to its design and operation, particularly with respect to environmental impact and sustainability.

The breakfasts were excellent! You wrote on a board what you wanted the night before, and what time you wanted it, and it would be delivered to your terrace in the morning!

There is fast and reliable WiFi based in the restaurant and it reaches most of the rooms, although not in room 4 as it's too far away. The staff were very helpful in not putting me in room 4 when I told them I'd prefer WiFi on the third of my three visits.

The town is a short walk down the steep hill, but it's a bit dark at night so take a torch. If you don't mind hopping on the back of a motorbike almost any local man passing will stop and take you anywhere in town for a small fee, (say around 5000 Rupiah... the cost of a small can of soda). There are also fairly regular bemos (mini buses), but personally I preferred the random bike rides!

The only negative is that the Bayview staff got a little confused with my laundry. When I got it back, one of my socks was missing and there were several items that weren't mine! They searched for the sock, but in vain... I suspect that it had got delivered with someone else's clean clothes and went off with them!

I can thoroughly recommend Bayview Gardens!

Room tip: All rooms have a bay view, (hence the name!). Avoid room 4 if you need WiFi.
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank musicalbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews