We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent views but there are drawbacks”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Labuan Bajo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview Gardens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The view from the hotel verandahs give this the extra star. Otherwise it would just be three.

Other reviewers have pointed out the problems - steep steps for one (but I was amused to read some earlier reviewers thought that would be a problem for over 50s! Life and health do not end at 50. But if you do have mobility problems the hotel would be difficult.

Other reviewers have mentioned the helpfulness of the owner Adrian, but unfortunately he was in the Netherlands when we visited. He responded to my. Email and assured me his staff would sort things out but, although, they were willing there were communication problems and some misunderstandings .

The views have already been mentioned and the rooms have efficient and quiet air cons - we were in room 1 which has two bedrooms - but the smaller one has no window. The toilet is badly designed and too near the sink. An earlier reviewer mentioned a "foul odour" which I think is a bit of an exaggeration - unpleasant smell is nearer the mark - and I think it is the drains.

The hotel is a bit of a way from the harbour centre - and although bemos are plentiful during the day - they vanish at night and it can be a problem to get back - if you don't want a ride on the back of a motor bike and to pay inflated prices to the riders. There are steps down but I do not think I would like to find my way up them at night.

There is some development work going on and a swimming pool is promised though I don't know where it is going to go .

Picked up from the airport OK but bundled into a bemo for the ride back. It's not far.

Despite thisn- sitting on the balcony watching the sunset with a cold bin tang beer (just ask the staff) this is one of the amazing views in the earth - get here before it is spoiled by development

Stayed: April 2012
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Bayview Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 505 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

We chose this hotel as our base while we were going to do day trips diving in Komodo National Park. Adrian - the owner - was very helpful even before we arrived, answering all my questions quickly by email, making suggestions and giving us some tips. His staff were waiting for us at the airport, and they were very accommodating. When we arrived at the hotel they quickly led us up to our room and let us settle in. Afternoon tea was delivered to our deck, which had an awesome view over Labuan Bajo and the islands. The room was great - two secure bedrooms, a nice bathroom, and a central deck that is open at the front, with a lockable door to the outside.
Our first day diving was a disaster - nothing to do with this hotel, the dive operator was our choice - but it led to us being offered a very cheap price on a liveaboard boat departing the next day. Adrian was kind enough to refund the money we had paid him for our week long stay, enabling us to go on the boat. While we were at sea he also organised a driver/vehicle to take us to Maumere when we returned.
Upon our return from the boat we were to stay one night at this hotel, before departing overland. There was a bit of a mix up - someone with the same names as my girlfriend and I arrived and were checked into our room - but by the time we arrived Adrian had already made arrangements for us to stay at another property, less than 50m away. No problems with that at all! It made no difference to us - the other property was beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

It is a very laid back place to stay. You can decide when you want to have your breakfast service and there is someone on call for information or assistance at any time. We rented the family suite which overlooks the bay. Absolutely stunning view! Excellent choice of accommodation and I recommend to all!

Room Tip: Family suite on the top floor is the best choice. Fits 5 people. The view....... excellent!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The rooms are clean and have an own terrace with an awesome view on the bay. The sunset can there be wonderful. Every morning, a tasteful breakfast is served at the terrace. The owners and their staff are very helpfull. They help to arrange daytrips and trips across the island.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GvBNijmegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Bayview gardens for 5 nights. The dutch owner Adrien is very friendly and helpfull. He gaves us tips about the two day boat tour to Rinca en Komodo. Looking back on the trip, it was one of the nicest things we've done during our 4 months trip around Asia. Adrien was kind enough to let us leave our bags at his hotel during the boat trip and we weren't charged for it. Over all we enjoyed our stay very much.

The view from the rooms is magnificant. Looking over all the little islands. Beautiful skylines.

The only thing we liked less, was that public transport is not well regulated. You're pretty tied to certain routes and after two days you have seen them enough. You may contact the Perama office to rent a scooter for a little further drive, but after four days you've seen that as well. that. Although it remains cool to see the sunset.

Though, props for Adrien, he's a really nice guy and we liked talking to him to learn more about Flores.

Rienk en Lieneke from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAAB12222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We flew Denpasar to Flores (Labuan Bajo) 1.5 hrs flying by ATR75 with Lion Air – a budget airline for sure – not even a cup of water supplied but ran to time and flight was good, so we were pleasantly surprised. LB is the stepping off point for Komodo Dragon National Park and we had picked the Bayview Gardens hotel off the web and the Dutch owner had been very helpful with our itinerary planning. The hotel is set on the cliff so a steep path to the rooms and its a fair bit above backpacker standards and we had a good room with open deck/dining area, separate a/c bedroom, a small bathroom, and above all some of the world's greatest views over the LB harbour and the ocean. 2 nights with Breakkie and a decent dinner and a few Bintangs cost only $A120.
Staff were diecreet but always bang on time with food and drink service. The sunset from Bayview was sensational both nights and 2nd night after many beaut photos a huge black rain cloud rolled in from inland and in no time at all everything was black and its was throwing it down – such an amazing change in such quick time.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view so I think whatever you get you'll be happy
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bayview, we even came back after visiting the islands.
Great service, attentive staf and family run. This is where east meets west and the best comes out.
Spacious rooms, great hot showers and advise on the things to do in the surroundings. Honest and detailed advise, wich is necesarry in the jungle of touroperators that whould like to take you to the islands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Labuan Bajo hotels
0.2 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
74 reviews
2.1 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
468 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#13 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Gardens Hotel

Address: Jl Puncak Waringin, Labuan Bajo, Flores 86554, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Labuan Bajo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Price Range: $30 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique boutique hotel in a lush tropical garden setting in a prime position above the town.Every room has a panoramic views of the harbour and Komodo archipelego. All suites accommodation with air conditioned bedrooms and fan cooled terraces, mini bar & safe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayview Gardens Hotel Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing