We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BYO entertainment and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Selangor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“BYO entertainment and food”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Room is reasonably clean, with functioning equipments. Single bed is really narrow. They provide single-use shampoo and hand soap. No bath gel.

Buffet serve largely spicy Malay food. Coffee tastes like tea! Breakfast highlight: Beerenberg jam with toast. Lunch comes with Malay desserts, salad and my favourite: prawn crackers.

Its branded as a Muslim hotel so put on "decent" swim wear - forget about bikinis. The pool looks like fun for kids. However in the rainy season, the whole compound gets flooded. So bring your slippers and umbrellas.

I jogged to Melawati Hills from the hotel which is about 1.5km away. It has a lighthouse and a museum on top. I later learned that you can pay RM3 to take a train ride from the hotel to Melawai Hills and another place of interest. However, it only departures ONCE daily on weekends and public holidays.

Since we had meetings throughout our stay, and had dinner outside, the stay is acceptable. Conference room was fine except their strict policy to serve 1 bottle of water per day!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
22
21
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We found the Dara Suite chalet very clean and reasonably well-appointed, though a very cosy size which some may consider too small. The front desk staff were very friendly, but I think they could have volunteered information about the fireflies boat ride when enquiries are made, like offering the map without being asked, time to be at jetty etc. We had an issue with the shower hose, which was resolved, but we did have to ask a couple times - it wasn't that they were unwilling to resolve it but I think the communication between shifts and follow-up with maintenance needs improving. But the area is quiet, there are monkeys in the trees and we spotted a brahminy kite flying low, russet feathers gleaming, and an ashy tailor bird in the shrubs, if you like that sort of thing.

They sell tickets to the Kampung Kuantan fireflies boat ride so you can buy them ahead to avoid any queue at the jetty ticket counter, though if there are no other guests going you need to buy the whole boat (4 seats, 10 ringgit each), which we did. You might want to do this anyway, to enhance the boat ride experience if you're going as a couple. They also offer transport to go to the jetty if you want it. It's also near the mangrove forest reserve ("Taman Alam"), where you can go for a nature walk and look for mangrove birds, water birds, and other mangrove creatures like the landwalking, tree-climbing mudskipper fish and brightly coloured fiddler crabs.

The restaurant at the hotel was pretty empty when we were there. The wait staff we found to be rather indifferent. The food is probably better in town anyway, which is not far. But it would be a good place for meals if you're looking for western fare that isn't fast food, though. You just have to make the effort to to locate the waiter, perhaps get the front desk to help (it's just next to the restaurant) but once you manage to order it's ok.

I think if you think about it as a hotel you might feel disappointed. But if you think about it as a homestay, or a village B&B style, then it is ok.

Room Tip: We took the Dara Suite chalet. The price difference with a normal junior suite chalet may not be wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daengkirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Booked in for 2 nights via the only way, the hotel's agent (journey malaysia). Arrived to find hotel a few kms out of town and the pool closed for renovation. The pool was the ony reason we chose this hotel, as we were three families travelling with children. We had confirmed with the agent that the hotel had a pool before we booked but were not told it was closed for 6 months. We accepted this as bad luck but advised we would only stay 1 night instead of 2 due to the pool being closed. At $AUD 80 per night per family we wanted our money back for the cancelled night. Nobody else appeared to be staying in the hotel. We spent 3 hours of negotiating to get our money back for the second night - the first 2 and half hours very politely and nicely (my brother speaks fluent Malaysian and is a very peaceful person). This wasn't working, although in typical Asian way we were not told yes or no, just given no answer in the hope we would go away. Finally, we resorted to verbal aggression and literally dragged the manager out of his office where he was hiding behind the corner the whole time to address the issue. We were then promptly given our money back. Apparently it is new management. Very poor.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carperdiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Selangor hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Our family booked this hotel because it has a swimming pool compared to the other hotels in kuala selangor. Hotel is located near the town and within few minutes of the tourist areas. Rooms are newly refurbished and clean. Hot water in the toilet as well as air conditioning in the room. The rooms are in chalets surrounding a nice garden/field where you can have picnics or just sitting on the bench and watch the monkeys climbing up and down the trees. Overall, the hotel has a nice cozy feeling and would not hesitate to stay there again for our next trip to Kuala Selangor for the fireflies.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Returning from 6 weeks in Europe we had 2 full days (1 night) stop over in Malaysia and didn't want to go all the way into KL for the night but just stay close to the airport. We arranged our booking over the phone at the airport after checking around on the internet. We were extremely disappointed when we arrive at th De Palma it was so rundown and neglected I would not reccommend to anybody, nothing like the internet photo's. After seeing our room we immediately went back to reception got our money back and move on with life

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dooveelaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We traveled to Kuala Selangor during a trip round Malaysia so that we could see the fireflies and also to go to nearby Taman Alam (both of which are well worth a visit). There's very little accommodation in this area and De Palma Inn seemed like a good option. We only had one night there, but suspect we were the only people staying - the place was pretty dead. On arrival we were shown to our chalet, which was fine, if a little cramped. We spent very little time in our room, and just returned there to sleep. Unfortunately this wasn't very easy due to a very loud air-conditioning unit, and not the most comfortable bed/pillow.
Breakfast in the morning was unusual - we didn't get any choice and it wasn't great - very odd frankfurters and scrambled egg with pretty monosyllabic service.
The hotel however redeemed itself when we went to leave and realised that our hire car had a puncture. The receptionist was then very helpful in contacting the car hire company for us, and then while she was doing that 2 of the waiters and a delivery man came and changed the tyre (we hadn't been able to do this due to the bolts being too tight). We left feeling very grateful for the help we'd been given, despite the night's stay not being the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Lark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neede
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We booked 2 Junior Suite chalets, but were very disappointed when we opened the door and saw our room! It smelt terrible and the airco didn't work. The lamps were broken and there were ants and other insects all over the place. The rooms were extremely run down!! My parents, who stayed in the other room, had the same problems.
After complaining to the reception lady, we upgraded (and paid almost double!) to their hotel room. We thought there might be less insects, but soon found out that this wasn't the case at all.
The restaurant is terrible as well. The waiting time is enormous and the choice and quality of the food is disappointing. Not to mention the breakfast!
Our booking came with a visit to the fireflies, but that was also disappointing. It takes about 15 minutes to get their by minivan and the guy from the hotel stayed there waiting for us. The fireflies tour didn't take more that 10 minutes. You go by boat and the guy peddles you a little downstream and after 5 minutes he turns around and goes back! Yes the fireflies itself were fascinating, but if you really want to see the fireflies I would definetly recommend you to visit Kuantan! They take much more time for you over there and there are more fireflies to see. It's much less touristic and a lot cheaper.
The Silverleaf monkeys at Monkey Mountain are fantastic!!! We really enjoyed feeding them. The monkeys will climb up your sleeve and shoulder when you feed them. It's nearby the Palma Hotel and a must see for everybody!!!
As far for the Palma Hotel, don't stay there if you have the time to drive back to KL.
Luckily we only stayed there for 2 nights, but it were the 2 worst nights in Malaysia.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samjonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuala Selangor
1.9 mi away
Sun Inns Kuala Selangor
Sun Inns Kuala Selangor
#2 of 3 in Kuala Selangor
38 reviews
15.2 mi away
A+ Boutique Hotel
A+ Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sekinchan
55 reviews
14.9 mi away
East Sun Hotel
East Sun Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sekinchan
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Sekinchan Stylish Villa
Sekinchan Stylish Villa
#4 of 4 in Sekinchan
2 reviews
15.2 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sekinchan
25 reviews
6.2 mi away
Firefly Villa
Firefly Villa
#1 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor

Property: De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor
Address: De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor Jalan Tanjung Keramat, Kuala Selangor 45000, Malaysia (Formerly De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor)
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Kuala Selangor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kuala Selangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Palma Hotel Kuala Selangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Palma Inn Kuala Selangor Hotel Selangor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing