We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget hotel with convenient location”
Review of Melawati Ria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melawati Ria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Kuala Selangor B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Melawati Ria after a night of watching fireflies at Kampung Kuantan. The location is excellent, not too far from the firefly viewing point, and within walking distance to Bukit Malawati. Finding the hotel is easy. There is a Maybank conveniently situated next to the the hotel too.
We arrived quite late, around 11pm but the surrounding area, despite being quiet and peaceful with almost all other shops closed, seemed relatively safe.

Our room was located on the topmost floor, so we had to go up a few flights of stairs as there were no lifts. Corridor was relatively clean. We booked a family room which had two queen beds and one single bed. Window had a view of the back alley of shops so the blinds were kept closed. Room was relatively clean, with basic toilet amenities. I had a bit of an issue with a slight opening in the bathroom ceiling though (apparently it opened to the attic), but tried not to let my paranoia get to me. Beds were firm and adequate bedding was provided. Only two towels were given, and as it was quite late we didn't bother requesting for more. AIr-conditioning was working well, as was the hot water shower.

No breakfast was provided but there are a number of eateries nearby at your convenience.
Overall I would say that Melawati Ria covers the basic amenities that you would expect from a budget hotel, and given the location, all was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IzzyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We splashed out on the previous three hotels on our road trip and for the price this was a steal. Compared with our first place in the Cameron Highlands (see tripadvisor for my review of Balas) this was great. The room was very basic but very clean and spacious. The beds are newer and very comfortable and big. The "queen" at the holiday inn Melaka was really a double, this place had two actual queen beds and a twin for the family room. We stayed in 309 which was one of the few rooms with a window. Our window faced the alley, not the busy front street, so it was quiet as well as comfortable. The wonderful women manning the front desk/restaurant were attentive even helping us wash stuff that our 4 yr old daughter was sick on (car sick). They occupied the boys in the morning, getting them breakfast while we slept in with our sick daughter. Sometimes you can't put a price on good service. So, for the price, it was very good.
Our dinner there the previous night was simple but good and cheap. They directed us to the fireflies and all was good.

Room Tip: Check for rooms with a window on the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grdwdgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed one night in this place and they gave us room 101.
When we got to the room, we found ants crawling all over the bed. This prompted a closer inspection of the mattress to confirm our suspicions; the bed was infested with bed bugs (pictures attached)
We refused to stay in that room and the manager gave us the room 202 (same location one floor up). This room was perfectly clean and bug free!
The person on reception was not at all surprised about the bugs which leads me to believe that they are aware of the issue but continue to fill these rooms first (an english couple in room 102 also moved upstairs)

Wifi worked fine in the room and it was free of charge.

We slept very well believe it or not and enjoyed the night visiting the fireflies and the next morning visiting the monkeys in the park across the road.

The food downstairs was poor but cheap.

Room Tip: Don´t stay in room 101. Bed was infested with bed bugs in June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

-good location, near to Taman Alam, Bukit Melawati, and main road of Kuala Selangor.
-price is good and reasonable, and the staffs are so friendly and try to help us in every way.
-some room's aircon are broken, they try to called technician to repair it.

tel: 0332891268, 0163887183.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wlysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just so you know, I am not very fussy when it comes to hotels – i usually think most negative reviews on hotel sites are over the top rants over minute details. That said, Melawati Ria Hotel is most probably the WORST hotel I've ever been to. INCREDIBLY NOISY, dirty, uncomfortable bed (broken, actually), stained towels, people shouting in the hallways, no remote for the air con (so you either freeze or you melt down), uncomfortable bathroom, people knocking on your door in the middle of the night (never figured out what that was about, but it's no fun), one of the windows was broken so it could not be shut (hello, mosquitos). Notice i've only mentioned very basic things about the room, I'm not being picky about luxuries (slowest wifi ever, no tv remote, etc).
Other than being cheap and its good location (but then again, Kuala Selangor is basically 4 streets, so anything there is conveniently located!!!), there's NO GOOD thing about it. A friend of mine says cheap things tend to be expensive in the end. I don't think this motto applies in Asia, where you can often find very decent budget accommodation, but boy was he right this time! STAY CLEAR OF THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room that does not face the main road, because it's pretty busy in the ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Locatec at the foothill of Bukit Melawati, this hotel Is a good place for an overnight stay after watching the fireflies. There are plenty of amenities around, from clinic to banks and decent eateries. Get the ground floor room if you can, it can fit 7 comfortably. Parking is scarce though.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank peyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The rooms here are little white boxes with a bed, a small desk and chair, air-con and a television on the wall. There are no deluxe rooms, only rooms with a double bed for RM60 or a double and a single for RM70. A refundable RM10 deposit is required on the key. There is no lift and breakfast is not included. The rooms at the front on each floor have windows overlooking the street while others have no windows. I chose a room overlooking the street as I thought the windowless room smelled musty. The small bathrooms are wet floor style and toilet paper is not supplied.

Our room was sufficiently clean and we had an excellent sleep the first night. Unfortunately the next night was Saturday. Even if they were renting by the hour I cannot conceive of what all those people were doing making so much noise in the corridors. There seemed to be more noisy people than could possibly have filled all the rooms.

Melawati Ria is centrally and conveniently located. Across the street and to the right is the road to Kuala Selangor Nature Park which is well worth visiting. Also the tourist tractor train up the hill. There are only a few blocks in this part of the town and these contain small restaurants, ice cream cafes, a convenience store and a supermarket that sells beer and ice. There is also a very nice frock shop in the same street as the hotel. The old bus station is opposite the supermarket but you may need to go to the new bus station which is not walking distance. A long distance taxi is sometimes found near the bus station.

The hotel was able to arrange a car to take us to the fire flies for RM40. Kuala Selangor made a pleasant two night stop between Melaka and Pulau Pangkor. It is a pleasant little town that is a bit off the foreign tourist trail so tell the bus driver where you are going or he may not stop there. We enjoyed seeing the fire flies, the nature park and the Melawati Hill with the Silverleaf Monkeys and their golden babies.

Room Tip: Visit some rooms before you accept one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Selangor hotels
1.7 mi away
Sun Inns Kuala Selangor
Sun Inns Kuala Selangor
#2 of 4 in Kuala Selangor
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun Inns Hotel Pasir Penambang (KS Botanic)
Sun Inns Hotel Pasir Penambang (...
#6 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Kapar Hotel Kuala Selangor
Grand Kapar Hotel Kuala Selangor
#4 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apps Hotel
Apps Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
46 reviews
6.2 mi away
Firefly Villa
Firefly Villa
#1 of 13 in Kuala Selangor
44 reviews
1 mi away
VI Boutique Hotel
VI Boutique Hotel
#3 of 7 in Kuala Selangor
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melawati Ria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melawati Ria Hotel

Address: No. 15 Jalan Raja Jalil, Kuala Selangor 45000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Selangor > Kuala Selangor
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Selangor
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Melawati Ria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Melawati Ria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing