We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot and Genuinely Pet Friendly!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights at South Cathedral Farm between Christmas and New Year 2012 - and we think it is one of the top places we've stayed anywhere in Australia. The location and views are fantastic, the accommodation is top quality and as a bonus, they welcome pets! On arrival there is a little bag of doggie treats and at the back of the cottages is a small fenced enclosure so your dogs can have outside access without needing to worry about them setting off on their own adventures! Megan leaves everything you need for your breakfast in the cottage itself, so you can prep your own breakfast when you want it, and they can also prepare an evening meal as well for you, although we didn't try this (but I am sure it would be excellent). There is even a selection of local wines for you to try ready chilled in a cooler in the cottage itself.

There's lots to see and do in the area - you're just a couple of Kms from Cathedral Range State Park with fantastic walks and bird watching, plus wineries, Lake Eildon and great food all within easy reach.

The farm is in the area badly affected by the 2009 Black Saturday fires and the two cottages were completely rebuilt by Marty after the fires (Marty and Megan only saved their own place by deciding to stay and fight the fires).

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Owner at Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Just learnt how to reply to your review :)
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - we really appreciate your feedback!
Look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Cheers
MnM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

My fiance, puppy and I recently spent the weekend at South Cathedral Farm. As life got in the way we were 4 hours later in arriving than previously advised. Worried about being so late we arrived at 7pm and received a warm welcome from Megan who shoed us to our home for the weekend. We were greeted by a warm fire place, relaxing music and treats for us our 'furkid'. The cottage had everything you would need for a weekend away a full kitchen inc dishwasher (if you feel like cooking), a HUGE spa bath, fresh flowers and the country charm. Breakfast was included in the cost and was very generous and yummy inc fresh eggs, bacon, juice, cereals and home made bread. The espresso machine was a fantastic touch for 2 extremely coffee dependant guests. Delicious homemade pizza prepared by Marty was for dinner on the first night infront of the fireplace with a glass of red and really hit the spot after a stressful day/week.The beautiful home made dinner prepared by Megan on the second night was also delightful. The service was impecable the table was set and our meal was served to us in our accomodation. Our puppy beagle was made super welcome and had his own fenced out area out the back of our cottage to run around in. Sth Cathedral Farm would be just as relaxing for those guests who dont have a pet with them as the pets are kept outside and the cottages are extremely luxurious. This is not your 'typical' dog friendly accomodation. Will DEFINATELY be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Owner at Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Just learnt how to reply to your review :)
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - we really appreciate your feedback!
Look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Cheers
MnM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent the Queen's Birthday 2012 long weekend at South Cathedral Farm - with our 4 golden retrievers. Our cottage, "Rose Cottage" was beautiful. Re built after the 2009 fires, the cottages are of an extremely high standard and exude quality. A wonderful ambiance is set by the fire (gas so practical, safe and no one has to chop wood) and the spa, with shutters that open onto the living area. Having 4 golden retrievers take over the cottage did not phase owners Megan and Marty at all and we were certainly made to feel at home. Our dogs were welcomed as warmly as we were. There is a small fenced area at the back of the cottages where dogs can be outside, without running off. A wonderful breakfast selection is included daily, consisting of bacon, eggs from the farm chooks and freshly baked bread. Along with cereals, juice and milk. A little gift of doggie treats is also provided. The kitchen is completely equipped with everything you would need. The cottages are set perfectly on the property, looking out over open, flat paddocks where the kangaroos graze in the early morning. The dam nearby provided a great playground for the dogs with ample space for walking, running and exploring. South Cathedral Farm provides hospitality at it's finest and we highly recommend this property for anyone who wants a break from the city with their dogs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Owner at Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Just learnt how to reply to your review :)
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - we really appreciate your feedback!
Look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Cheers
MnM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

What a breathtaking setting!! Truly luxurious cottage fully fitted out in the federation era, but providing all of the modern amenities to cater for comfort, including open fire in the corner, which although run on gas, certainly had us fooled until Megan showed us how to operate it! Dogs genuinely welcome, (with treats waiting for them) Fresh country air, serenity and the best of mother nature in whichever direction you look, friendly welcoming hosts, results in genuine relaxation for the soul. We had one of our best weekends away for my 40th birthday. The breakfast provisions were very generous both in size and variety. We had a local produce platter on our arrival which had nice sized serves of many things and again so generous we were unable to finish it that night. Some brilliant local walking tracks to cater for all levels of fitness. The Rottweilers had a wonderful time swimming in the dam 15 metres from our cottage . We all had a great time on a difficult level walking track and didn't encounter any other humans, which suited us perfectly! There was Stevensons falls and Marysville that was more touristy. It was just magic to come "home" to our cottage and relax in the spa to soothe the sore limbs from the hike. Megan & Marty really couldn't be more welcoming yet discreet and non intrusive. It was such a nice surprise to have a birthday card waiting for me on arrival, to add to the personal touch. A place to return to one day!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Owner at Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Just learnt how to reply to your review :)
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - we really appreciate your feedback!
Look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Cheers
MnM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a 2 night stay in one of the new, well appointed cottages that have been rebuilt on the South Cathedral farm after the original cottages were burnt down in the 2009 bush fires. The cottages are on a large cleared area with beautiful views down a valley. Each of the two cottages has one double bedroom with a very large comfortable bed and a huge bathroom with a large spa. Excellent breakfasts were included and provided by the friendly host Megan. These comprised cereals, eggs, bacon, home made bread, fruit juices and freshly ground coffee.
The location is convenient for visiting Marysville, Lake Eildon and Healesville.
An added attraction for us was that the cottages are cat and dog friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilglenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan B, Owner at Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Just learnt how to reply to your review :)
Thanks so much for your lovely comments - we really appreciate your feedback!
Look forward to seeing you again :)
Cheers
MnM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Cottages at South Cathedral Farm

Address: 53 South Cathedral Lane, Buxton, Victoria 3711, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the foot of Cathedral Peak with majestic views, elegant decor, gourmet food and regional wines, and all the tranquility, relaxation or country adventure you could wish for, South Cathedral Farm has loads of country charm and comfort, and is the perfect place to do nothing, explore nature, or see the many local attractions. South Cathedral Farm boasts luxurious cottages set in an idyllic location with Cathedral Peak as its back drop. This award-winning country escape with its spectacular mountain surrounds, and immersed in nature, is the perfect luxury adult retreat - for couples or twin share. South Cathedral Farm is ideal for an indulgent romantic get-away, or for a wonderful adventure exploring nature. And South Cathedral Farm welcomes pets, so you don't have to compromise on luxury and service, just because you love to travel with your pets.Timeless elegance, gourmet food and fine regional wines all feature at South Cathedral Farm and pets are welcome too. So for tranquillity, luxury and more, contact us today to book your special get-away! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing