We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place”
Front of cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cabin
Road to the cabin Back of cabin with ocean view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Front of cabin
Road to the cabin
Back of cabin with ocean view
View from the cabin outside
View of the Puffin colony.
View of cabin from the ocean
Beautiful view!
View of an Iceberg from inside the cabin.
You can sit and enjoy the view!
Bedroom one.
Kitchen.
Living area.
Living area.
Bedroom two.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Elliston, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jager41
100 Mile House, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights in early June while exploring the Bonavista peninsula. A great home base and very close to the Puffin colony. Unfortunately too early for the whales. The cabin was the best stocked rental cabin we have ever stayed at. Everything you could ever need is there. Highly recommend this cabin.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerLan040...
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
1 review
“Cosy, clean and quiet cabin combining world class views and small town charm”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are a family of four that stayed here for two nights at the end of May 2015. The property was easy to locate (well signed) and the owners made sure we settled in right away. We used this location to tour Elliston, Bonavista and Trinity.
The cabin is modern, clean and well equipped and felt very much like a home away from home. Although you are right in Elliston, the location on the edge of town provides great privacy and a connection to the natural surroundings. While the cabin provided all that we needed, the views are what this location is all about for us. We had looked at the pictures posted here beforehand and read the reviews, but seeing it in person still blew our minds. Great sea views with icebergs floating in the distance. On our last evening we were able to sit outside for the evening as the cabin is generally sheltered from the wind. Within 100 yards of the front door you are standing atop a sea cliff with views rivalling most of the scenery we had seen on our travels in Newfoundland. Nice to have that close, but still far enough that parents with young children can make sure they don't wander down too far.
As others had mentioned the location provides a 5 minute drive to the puffin viewing area (maybe 30 minute walk if you wanted some exercise).
We love to travel as a family and are always looking to experience new locations, but this is one of the only places that I would strongly consider returning to spend a week....maybe in July during whale season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
activemom...
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Cabin had everything we needed to enjoy our two days in Elliston... and the beds were very comfortable. View was amazing... bergy bits floating by... puffins in residence... peaceful and quiet... the rain didn't dampen our spirits at all! Could quite happily have stayed a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort, view, quiet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy15500...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Loved this beautiful cabin. Immaculately clean and tidy. Full kitchen facilities, two comfortable beds. Very private and quiet . Fabulous view! It even has binoculars by the door so you can check out the icebergs! Wish we were staying longer.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey O
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, definitely one of the best.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and my sister in law visited in July. We stayed here for five nights and all three of us were extremely pleased with the cottage. It was very clean and comfortable and had all the amenities you could possibly need and more. We enjoyed sitting on the porch with our morning coffee and watching whales feeding on capelin just below us. We came to Elliston for the puffins and root cellars and were not disappointed. There was an abundance of both and I got many good photographs. Definitely one of the best places we visited in Newfoundland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Water pressure was low in the shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janajosep...
Miniota, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Loved This Cabin & The Location!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
7
people found this review helpful

So glad we were lucky enough to find this place on Trip Advisor. If you're planning on touring the Bonavista/Trinity area of Newfoundland, you definitely should consider staying here. We stayed at the Island View Cabin for 2 nights on July 14th & 15th. We went to the Puffin Site just on the edge of town and got some amazing pictures of the Puffins. If you are there at the right time of year, you can sit right up beside the Puffins and they don't seem to be scared of people at all! The cabin itself is in a beautiful spot with a gorgeous view of the ocean. On our first night there we saw a couple of humpback whales. The cabin is very private, has everything you need (including binoculars), and the owner lives just down the road. There is a nice little deck out front with a table for 2 & BBQ. The cabin is a small 2 bedroom, 1 bath, with a fully equipped kitchen and was extremely well looked after. Only complaint we had was the beds. They were small (doubles I think in each bedroom) and squeaky, but because there was only the 2 of us, we just slept in separate rooms and it wasn't a problem. Elliston itself is a beautiful little town in a very central location. We stopped at Port Rexton on our way there & hiked the highly rated "Skerwink Trail", and we also spent a day at Bonavista, starting with a picnic lunch at the Dungeon Provincial Park and ending off with a walk around the Bonavista Lighthouse (very beautiful views). We had one supper out at the "Bonavista Social Club" which is known for it's homegrown menu. Fabulous bread pudding! Stay in Elliston at the Island View Cabin if you get the chance, you'll be so glad you did!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2014
I am glad that you enjoyed the cabin but sorry that you had a problem with the beds I have new beds there now still double beds but not squeaky.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jomarie90
Traytown, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stay at this cottage for two nights it was very clean and comfortable. The cottage was stocked with all the basics. Everything in the kitchen that one might need. The view is awesome. Will stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing