We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bird Island Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Elliston B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks Charlotte for the great stay... it was wonderful, the sheets were so comfortable and soft! And the breakfast was fantastic, especially the fruit salad - just lovely! Would definitely recommend to anyone! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottepuffin, Owner at Bird Island Inn B&B, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our great spot! Our fruit salad is a great way to start the day and I know how hard it is to eat fruit while on the road. I hope to meet you again in the future and again, thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay at this B&B as we toured Nffld was probably the most comfortable and laughter filled time of our trip. I had booked two nights in mid June with the hopes of seeing Whales and Icebergs, but we were too early for that. But we did see the puffins and the delightful Mr Griffin. Rob and Charlotte kept us well fed with incredible breakfasts and recommendations for lunch and dinners.I even had a Jiggs Dinner at Nanny's Root Cellar restaurant. And we had fire-baked pizzas at the Bonavista Social Club, both recommended by Charlotte. But it was the warmth of the kitchen as we sat sharing stories and laughter with Rob and Charlotte that made our stay so heart warming. Plus the bed was super comfy. This will always be our "Home away" when we visit NFLD again. Thanks Charlotte, Rob ,Raven and Mr. Griffin. And Gordy of course.

Room Tip: We had the Bird Island room, which had an ocean view with sounds of the waves, and a second window t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripcuba9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottepuffin, Owner at Bird Island Inn B&B, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. I'm beaming from ear to ear! I hope the rest of your summer is as fun as your visit with us and we look forward to keeping in touch with you both. Thanks again, Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hi Charlotte and Robin. We made it back home yesterday. We had such a great time in NFLD, but we really really loved your house and loved staying there - the breeze coming through the windows overlooking the water was so peaceful. The satellite radio made it even better. We enjoyed that house the most of all the 7 places we stayed. We really enjoyed visiting with the two of you and the other guests. Thanks for everything and for making our time so much fun. Oh - And thanks for the great breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerkinsLandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottepuffin, Owner at Bird Island Inn B&B, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed your visit and hope that we will have the chance to meet again one day soon. This week the whales are back home in the bay and the puffins are up to all those puffin shinanigans. Thanks again, Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Bird island 2 nights Oct. 2012. Although Charlotte and Robin aren't native Newfoundlanders, they've captured the essence of great Newfoundland hospitality. They made us feel welcome (we had "the run of the house"), comfortable, fed us well and entertained us with interesting anecdotes. The house is right across the street from the ocean and the sight and sound of the waves was wonderful. One of the hikes they recommended, Spillar's Cove, has spectacular coastal views and sounds that are too expansive to be captured on camera - we tried!

Room Tip: Larger bedroom windows would enhance the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottepuffin, Owner at Bird Island Inn B&B, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello and thanks for sending the review. You made our day! I was happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the Spillars Cove hike. We knew you would love it! Robin and I are winding down after a busy season and reno projects are always in flux. Your recommendation to increase the size of the bedroom windows is noted and we will definitely add it to our wish list. We hope your both well and thank you again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Be safe, Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Charlotte & Robin; Thanks for the great hospitality. And Thanks for dropping by in the evening to inform us of all the hikes and restaurants in the area on the map. Your full breakfast of multiple fresh fruit salad, hash browns, sausages, multi grain bread and the best strong coffee was a great start to our day. Then we were able to sit on the seaside deck with an unobstructed view of the ocean. This was perfect for sipping on wine while watching the whales and relaxing. Access to wireless internet was a bonus which helped with keeping in touch with everybody at home and trip planning. I was able to do some laundry which was great after a week on the road. And the beds were very comfortable. We can't wait to return again someday. I have been telling all my friends about Bird Island B&B in Elliston Newfoundland.
Debbie from Ontario

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottepuffin, Owner at Bird Island Inn B&B, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks so much taking the time to review our B&B. We are now closed for the season but already look forward to hosting guests staying with us next year. We are delighted that you enjoyed both the house and local surroundings. We appreciate your telling folks about us...keep it up! All the best, Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I have had the magical, and rewarding experience of sharing our last 3 summers in the scenic confines of Elliston, N.L. How exactly did this came to pass?We live in the Metro Boston area, and when we first considered Newfoundland, we were ever so fortunate to have stumbled blindly upon one of the ~best~ travel secrets on the Rock. If asked to provide only one reason to highly, eagerly, and repeatedly recommend the Bird Island B&B to other travelers, I would tell you the the Ritmans are the most natural hosts I have ever met in my many years of wandering the Globe. They are comfortable with new friends, able to support any and all holiday agendas, kind and patient experts on the Bonavista peninsula, and better still have proven to be the best reason to return again and again to their thriving business perched within a magnificently gorgeous natural haven, and treasure all of the adventures which have sprung from thier imaginations! They are flexible, capable, and ready to go far beyond the 'extra' mile in making each vacation a memorable, special, and unforgettable journey to a rare and special environment. I literally cannot say enough to encourage any person considering a vacation to Canada in general, or better Newfoundland specifically to take a moment, take a divergence form the well beaten path and find Elliston on their maps. Take a second to ring the Ritmans and settle back to be exhilarated, excited, and intrigued by all the area, the B&B, and best, the wonderful people will bring to your life. Bon Voyage!

Room Tip: We loved the privacy and extras, (local produce and fish) provided in the Efficiency Unit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottepuffin, Owner at Bird Island Inn B&B, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Wow!...Thanks Kevin. We really appreciate your review and hope that your tradition of visiting us means we will be seeing you again soon. We never had a chance to eat at the Bonavista Social Club this year but hopefully next time we can have some laughs over pizza and homemade pasta. Keep safe and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

There are 2 B&Bs in Elliston and this is the one I would return to. The owners, Robin and Charlotte, don't live on site, but come morning and evening, and we're very friendly and helpful , they were available by phone anytime needed also. They directed us to some fantastic places to eat. I wish we had been there earlier in the season, to see the puffins and go sea kyaking with Robin, hope to go back some day. We were the only people there late in Sept,and felt like we were at home. Robin suggested a hike to a nearby cove, which was wonderful, bonus find of wild blueberries. Clean and comfortable, good food, what more can you ask....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottepuffin, Owner at Bird Island Inn B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you Barbara for taking the time to leave a review. The weather is now getting colder and we are officially now closed for the 2012 season. We look forward to when your able to join us again. Hope all is well on your end. All the best, Charlotte & Robin Ritman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elliston
3.1 mi away
Russelltown Inn
Russelltown Inn
#3 of 9 in Bonavista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Meems' Elliston B&B
The Meems' Elliston B&B
#2 of 2 in Elliston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oceanside Cabins and Oceanview Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Butler's By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Abbott's Cape Shore Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Lancaster Inn
Lancaster Inn
#6 of 9 in Bonavista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Island Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Island Inn B&B

Property: Bird Island Inn B&B
Address: 27 Main Rd, Elliston, Newfoundland and Labrador AoC 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Elliston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elliston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Island B&B is the perfect homebase for all your Bonavista Peninsula exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bird Island Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Island Inn B&B Elliston, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing