We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very average”
Review of Parkside Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parkside Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

re booked into an unsuitable room, that had just been repainted, massive migraine the result the next morning. Had to book and pay for another room for work colleague it was that or the couch (not for 3 nights!). No tea, coffee, soap, toilet paper or anything replenished after first day. The unit was freezing cold... all a real shame as the furnishings were excellent had all the potential to be very good, just the extra's that make it what you expect for rating were missing - unsuitable for business trip no where to work in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are sorry that Cheryl did not enjoy her stay with us as the majority of our feedback is highly commended. We recall Cheryl staying for three days and showing her the room when she arrived to check in. We explained that the bathroom had recently been painted as part of our maintenance schedule and Cheryl was given a choice of an alternative room. We have painted almost all of the unit bathrooms this year with low vapour paints and have received no adverse comment about paint smells from any other guests following painting. Had Cheryl mentioned at any time during her stay that this was causing her discomfort we would have tried to find an immediate resolution. Our policy on servicing rooms is that we will service all rooms each day unless the guests specifically requests otherwise. This policy and the extent of a service is outlined in our compendium which is available on our website. While it is possible that part of the service may have missed i.e. the refilling of complimentary items, our records indicate that there was a daily service when we would have removed the tray of room service cooked breakfast items. Again, should your concerns about room service requirements been brought to our attention at the time these would have been rectified immediately. All rooms are provided with tables adjacent to power points and data points should guests require a work station. This room has both a wall heater and a heat pump and if required the compendium advises that additional heaters are available. We are pleased that despite Cheryl’s disappointment she has acknowledged that the standard of the room fitting are of a high standard. We do appreciate feedback as it is helpful in our continuing commitment to providing a quality experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
19
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Really nice people and a nice place to stay.

Convenient for where I needed to be in the Richmond, Takaka and the Mapua areas.

Clean and tidy with everything I needed supplied.

Easily recommend for other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit near the front of complex. Can't really fault the room as it was spacious, clean and modern. Motel has what looks like a nice pool and a nice outlook to an adjacent park.

While it didn't really affect our stay too much, you can clearly hear traffic noise. If your sleep is noise sensitive I would recommend a room in the rear block is requested.

Overall a nice motel. Located on the main road from the south and about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main part of Richmond shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We made use of the standard 1 bedroom unit, without the breakfast in room service. The unit was spacious and clean. The bedroom had a queen bed, two pillows each, electric blanket, extra blanket in the cupboard, ironing facilities and a hairdryer, a chest of drawers and one beside table (another smaller bedside table could have fitted into the room and made guests a little more comfortable.) There was a mirror attached behind the bedroom door.
The living room/kitchenette - consisted of a sofa which could convert into a bed, a coffee table, television, diningtable and chairs. The kitchenette was well appointed. There was plunger coffee available for one use - a replenishment of plunger coffee would have been a nice touch. Plenty of tea and instant coffee sachets were available and little cookies were included. The bathroom was cavernous - loo, basin and shower - sufficient towels, tissues, shampoo and moisturiser were provided. The bathroom and living room were heated. There is a pool- but since it was in winter- we did not use it. No free internet access available. The unit opens out to a little verandah with a table and chairs - useful for warmer weather.
Location was good- within easy walking distance of town centre -10 minutes. parking available on site.There was no road noise to speak of and the overall stay was a pleasant one.

Room Tip: I don't think it makes a difference, in this case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were here for 3 nights and couldn't have enjoyed it more.
Was easy to find with ample parking and nearby shops. Some brochures show it as Nelson but it's in the suburb of Richmond really and that's no bad thing as it's away from the worst of the traffic (Nelson was one of a very few places where we queued in NZ).
The owner was friendly and really helpful and informed about things to do in the local area. We took his advice about kayaking in the Abel Tasman nation park and were very glad we did.
The place also has a reasonable sized outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and backs onto a cricket pitch so is nice & quiet away from the road.
The apartment itself was roomy with really nice facilities and a great bathroom. If you want to be picky the fridge was a bit small but otherwise all was spot on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came with a baby in tow and found the one bed room (with a double in the lounge/kitchen area) perfect for us. Added to that was the balcony and pool and we spent a comfortable couple of nights here recuperating(!) before heading onwards. Angela was very kind and helpful and Jon flexible when we changing our booking at short notice. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are pleased David and family enjoyed their stay. We strive to ensure guests can relax in comfort during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Park is a very modern and very clean and nicely appointed motel. We stayed one night yesterday in a room that fronted the road. While most small twins in NZ close down early in NZ, the hotel sits on the main highway that leads out of town and it can be occasionally noisy. If you are a heavy sleeper it shouldn't be a problem. While they advertise Internet, like most hotels in NZ it is NOT free. For what they charge, it should be. But over all the Park is a very nice motel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parksidemotel, Manager at Parkside Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Our units closest to the road are undoubtedly the ones where guests unaccoustomed to night noise may hear the traffic noise during the night however all of these have been treated to minimise the impact of traffic noise. The treatment includes hush glass which provides an acoustic barrier proven to exceed that provided by double glazing, acoustic linings to the curtains and heat pumps in some to alklow teh windows to be closed. We are not sure exactly when this guest stayed but from the beginning of this year we have provided complimentary WiFi access on request. This is not unlimited and if additional WiFi access is required this can be purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
5.0 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 mi away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#2 of 4 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Motel

Property: Parkside Motel
Address: 42 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkside Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkside Motel is ideally located in the heart of the Tasman Region and only 15 minutes from the centre of Nelson City. Sandy beaches, Waimea Estate, Fossil Ridge and Seifried vineyards, Hoglunds Glass, Saxton Field and the aquatic centre are within 5 minutes drive. The Richmond Mall, with free all day parking, is within walking distance as are a number of restaurants.Parkside Motel has a Qualmark 4-star plus rating and offers units with sun-drenched private balconies or patios opening onto a meticulously landscaped courtyard. Most have pleasing rural views over the adjacent park and to the distant ranges and Mount Arthur. All units have cooking facilities and some, spa baths. Sky TV and wireless high-speed internet access are available. The Motel provides a swimming pool which is heated during the swimming season. A guest laundry is available as is a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Parkside Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Motel Nelson-Tasman/Richmond, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing